Skip to Main Content

Seward related collections

This topic guide contains archival collections relating to Seward at the UAA/APU Archives and Special Collections. Other institutions within Alaska, including institutions in Seward, also have relevant materials. This topic guide has been divided into fiv

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Alaskan leadership collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge collections

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Capital move collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard related collections

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Military presence

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of Seward, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below.  

Lelon E. Alexander papers; 1940-1997. HMC-1231. Papers of a soldier who served with the 714th Railway Operating Battalion in Alaska during World War II. The collection includes photographs that depict Seward.

Karl C. Bowersox papers; 1924-1944. Papers and photographs of a purser and radio operator aboard the USMS Boxer and USMS North Star. Some photographs in the collection depict Seward.

Coast Artillery soldier photographs; undated, 1941. HMC-0578. Photographs of a cook who was a member of the 75th Coast Artillery, stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II. The collection include images of Seward.

Andy Fossum papers; 1941-1945. HMC-0521. This collection includes letters and photos of U.S. Army Corps of Engineers soldier, Andy Fossum, who was stationed at Fort Raymond in Seward.

Robert C. Lewis papers; circa 1941-1943, 1951. HMC-1026-AHS. Robert Lewis was a soldier who served at Fort Raymond during World War II. His collection includes two issues of the Fort Raymond post newspaper, and photographs of Seward.

Joseph Roger Mondor papers and photographs; 1942-1944. HMC-0734. Joseph Roger Mondor served in the 324th Port Battalion in Seward during World War II. The collection includes correspondence, news clippings, and photographs.

Otto P. Rice letters; 1942. HMC-0942. During World War II, Rice was stationed at Fort Raymond in Seward, Alaska with Battery E of the 420th Coast Artillery. His collection contains one letter documenting his time at Fort Raymond.

 Seward Undertaking Company funeral registers; 1936-1945. HMC-1121. The collection contains records of a funeral home in Seward, Alaska. Though not a comprehensive listing of all deaths in Seward, the volumes document the deaths of more than just Seward residents, which include deaths at Ft. Raymond during the war years.

Louis C. Stromp papers; 1942-1946. HMC-0941. Papers of a soldier who served as a transportation officer on the USAT William L. Thompson during World War II. Seward was a destination of the USAT William L. Thompson.

Benjamin B. Talley papers; 1925-2002. HMC-0241. Talley was a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers officer in Alaska. His collection includes accounts of the construction of garrisons at Seward and photographs of harbors and railroad tracks.

Uvelta C. Weaver photographs; 1942-1943. HMC-0873. Uvelta “Bill” Clinton Weaver was stationed at Fort Raymond from 1942-1943. The collection contains photographs taken or collected by Weaver during his time in Seward.

Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1898-1999. HMC-0353. Papers of two Alaskan journalists and free-lance writers. The collection includes photographs taken of Fort Raymond, as well as a subject file relating to the military in Seward.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website