Skip to Main Content

Geology related archival collections

Collections relating to geology and geologists in Alaska. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fairbanks, Alaska

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Homer, Alaska

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

 

Limestone 'gneiss,' Don Grybeck sitting at the edge of water. Don Grybeck slides, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

 

Art Kennedy and three Alaska Methodist University geology students on Portage Lake. Ruth A.M. Schmidt papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

View of four men lifting a large concretion, thought to contain a fossilized hadrosaur pelvis, onto a wooden frame. Anne D. Pasch papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

 

A. G. Maddren photograph albums, Alaska Pacific University collections, Archives & Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.Slumped polygonal frost cracks in the frozen silt.

Geology related collections

Archives and Special Collections holds a number of collections relating to the field of geology. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

 

Alaska-Pacific Consolidated Mining Company records; 1885-1989. HMC-0023. While this collection largely consists of the Alaska-Pacific Consolidated Mining Company (APCMCo.) administrative and operational records dating from 1936-1951, the collection also includes geological notes, maps, and sketches of the land APCMCo. owned and operated. 

Anchorage Engineering Geology Evaluation Group preliminary report draft; 1964. EPH-0451. The Anchorage Engineering Geology Evaluation Group was formed two days after the 1964 Earthquake and consisted of  forty geologists, soil scientists, and engineers from various federal and state agencies, and private companies. The group mapped and outlined slide areas, and areas of damage and potential danger. The collection consists of the group's preliminary report on earthquake damage in the Anchorage area.

Bill Bacon photograph files; 1945-2004. HMC-0991. Bill Bacon worked as a photographer and filmmaker, produced, directed, and filmed documentaries and photographed diverse subjects such as wildlife, environment, oil industry, and travel. The collection contains negatives, photographs, notes, correspondence, and research files created for varying projects and assignments, however there are some files and photographs of geological formations.

John James Brennan papers; 1919-1987. HMC-0596. John James Brennan was an Alaskan geologist. The collection contains mining claim records concerning the Opal and Markup Creek area, photographs, six maps and plans of the Opal and Markup prospects near Chitina, Alaska, and two maps of the generalized geology of a portion of the North Foothills Section of the North Slope of Alaska.

Arthur F. Buddington photographs; 1921-1925. HMC-0779-APU. Arthur F. Buddington was a geologist in Southeast Alaska. The collection contains photographs which document mountains, glaciers, islands, valleys, rivers, creeks and other geological features in the Wrangell, Sitka, Juneau, Ketchikan, Petersburg and Hyder districts.

William C. Fackler photographs; 1959-1960. HMC-0745. William Fackler served as Assistant Commissioner of Minerals in the Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources. The collection consists of prints and negatives depicting an oil drilling operation near the village of Nulato, on the Yukon River, from 1959 and 1960. 

Don Grybeck slides; 1955-2006. HMC-1172. Don Grybeck  is a geological engineer who taught economic geology, structural geology, mineralogy, and the geology of Alaska at UAF and worked as a geologist with the United States Geological Survey(USGS) branch in Alaska. The collection contains photographs, which depict geological fieldwork in Alaska, prospectors, mining equipment, towns near fieldwork sites, and rock formations. 

Alfred Geddes Maddren photograph albums; 1906-1914. HMC-0166-APU. A.G. Maddren was a geologist and photographer  who served on expeditions in Alaska with the United States Geological Survey. The collection contains photographs taken by A.G. Maddren on his expeditions with the USGS in Alaska from 1909-1914.

George C. Martin diaries; 1904-1933. HMC-1110. George C. Martin was a petroleum geologist who worked for the United States Geological Survey. The collection contains his travel diaries. 

Anne D. Pasch papers; 1952-2014. HMC-1342. Primarily slides of an Alaskan geologist and paleontologist.

Ruth Schmidt papers; circa 1920-2011. HMC-0792. Dr. Ruth Ann Marie Schmidt was an Alaska geologist who worked for the United States Geological Survey and taught geology at Anchorage Community College. She later founded and chaired the Geology Department of the University of Alaska Anchorage. The collection contains records related to her career as a geologist. 

Fred and Lidia Selkregg papers; circa 1950-2000. HMC-0631. The Selkregg's were Anchorage residents who were largely involved in civic affairs. The collection contains research files that relate to topics such as Lidia Selkregg's civic involvement, geological matters, the 1964 Alaska earthquake, and land use.

Harold Strandberg papers; 1923-1985. HMC-0237. Harold Strandberg was the Vice President of the mining corporation Strandberg and Sons, Inc. His collection contains some records relating to his work as a  mining engineer, including geological maps, reports, and correspondence. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website