Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S. Coast Guard collections: Start

A guide to Archives collections with content relating to the US Coast Guard

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Labor collections

Thin Point buoy, Cold Bay entrance.

Lawrence Eastman photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Coast Guard collections

Archives and Special Collections holds a number of collections relating to the U.S. Coast Guard in Alaska.  Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. This is not a complete list. You can keyword search all of our finding aids: collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the linked pages below.

In 1915, the Coast Guard was created by an act of Congress, combining the U. S. Revenue Cutter Service with the U. S. Life Saving Service. This guide also includes materials related to the Revenue Cutter Service. 

U.S. Coast Guard public notices; 1974-1977. EPH-0273. No finding aid available. Consult the Archives for more information. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website