Skip to Main Content

Fur trading, trapping, and farming archival collections

A guide featuring collections with materials related to fur trading, trapping, and farming in Alaska.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fairbanks, Alaska

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Homer, Alaska

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Fur trading, trapping, and farming collections

Below are examples of collections in the Consortium Library's Archives and Special Collections, with information related to fur trading, trapping, and farming in Alaska. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation records; 1935-1949. HMC-1174. Records of the Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation (Palmer Colony). Contains a subject file on trapping and fur farming.

Ted Bank papers; 1882-1980. HMC-0068. Papers and photographs of an explorer and anthropologist who worked in the Aleutian Islands and Japan. Contains reports on trapping.

Dorothy and Grenold Collins papers; undated, 1907-2002. HMC-0422. The papers of an Alaskan bush pilot, sportsman, and business owners. Contains photographs of fur trapping.

Oliver T. Edwards papers; 1934, 1939-1940. HMC-0105. Papers, photographs, and motion picture film of a wildlife management worker for the U.S. Forest Service. Contains reports on fur farming.

Mildred Fisher photograph album 1939. HMC-0661. Trip album of an Oklahoma schoolteacher who toured the Western U.S. and Alaska. Includes photographs of a fur farm in Alaska.

Greater Anchorage, Inc. Fur Rendezvous records; 1938-2005. HMC-0121. Records of the organization responsible for the annual Fur Rendezvous festival in Anchorage, including information about the festival's fur auction.

George Hardy photograph album; 1943. HMC-1081. Photographs of a worker on the construction of the Alaska Highway. Contains photographs of trappers and trapping.

Harry W. and Norma J. Hoyt family papers; 1908-1989. HMC-0988. Papers of the Hoyt family, who ran the Gulkana Road House on the Richardson Highway. The collection includes photographs of the fur farm at Gulkana, and of fur trapping activities.

Kantishna oral history project records; 1910-1984. HMC-0125. Historical materials and research files related to the Kantishna region. Contains compiled research materials on trappers and trapping in the region.

George B. Nelson papers; 1908-1980. HMC-0187. Papers of a game warden, hunter, and trapper who worked on the Kenai Peninsula. The collection contains information on fur farming, as well as a trapping license.

Christian Theodore Pedersen papers; 1920-1966. HMC-0197. Papers of a whaler, fur trader, and businessman, originally from Norway, who worked primarily in Alaska and Canada. The collection contains the records of Pedersen's various fur trading and farming businesses, including trading posts throughout Alaska, as well as fur farms on Attu Island in the Aleutians and Quebec, Canada.

Guide to the Julius Rahmstorf papers; 1904-1919. HMC-0835. Julius Rahmstorf was a fur trapper/trader in Rampart, Alaska. The collection contains letters to Rahmstorf concerning the sale of furs.

Oscar Samuelson papers; circa 1920-1940. HMC-1085. Financial papers of the owner of several trading posts in the Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta region, which traded furs, among other goods.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website