Skip to Main Content

LGBT related archival collections

A guide featuring collections with materials relating to the LGBT community in Alaska. This guide is not comprehensive. Please contact Archives for further information.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

LGBT related collections

Below are examples of collections in the Consortium Library's Archives and Special Collections which relate to the LGBT community, as well as LGBT advocacy, in Alaska. This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. 

The 15%, INC. event flyers; undated, 1989-1992. eph-0256. Event flyers for a non-profit feminist and lesbian arts organization. 

Alaska Pride Conference materials; 1995-2001. eph-0255. Flyers, pamphlets, and program for a conference presented by the Alaskan Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Community. 

Alaska Pride Speaker Series flyers and newsletters; undated, 1997. eph-0257. Flyers and newsletters for events, such as lectures, films, workshops, and social gatherings.

Alaska Women's Bookstore Board of Directors work session notes and event flyers; 1986-1995. eph-0261. Flyers and information regarding a feminist bookstore which provided books by, for, and about women. 

Alaskan AIDS Assistance Association flyers; 1992-1995. eph-0260. 

Anchorage Women's Community Chorus papers; undated, 1991-1992. eph-0264. Membership information, music, and event flyers for an inclusive, all-women choir in Anchorage. 

Jay K. Brause and Gene Dugan papers, 1975-2006. hmc-1216. Papers of Alaskan civil rights activists. The collection includes materials related to Out North Playhouse, Identity Inc., gay rights, same sex marriage, and Alaska theatre and arts groups.

Celebration of Change programs; 1986-2000. eph-0170. Programs for Celebration of Change, an Alaska women's show that brought women together to share music, poetry, drama, art, dance, humor, and spirituality in live productions. 

Cheryl Curtis and Morgan Grey papers; 1954-2018. hmc-1286. Papers of a couple who were advocates for feminist and lesbian issues, and women in the trades.

Equal newsletters and flyers; 1993. eph-0258. Flyers and newsletters for an Alaskan gay and lesbian taskforce. 

Gay Alaska newsletters; 1978, 1980. eph-0110. Newsletters published by the Gay Alaska Task Force in Anchorage. 

Gay and Lesbian Association newsletter; 1991. eph-0264.

George T. Harper papers; 1803-2004. hmc-0686. George Harper served in the U.S. Navy and the U.S. Air Force Reserve, and later worked as a computer specialist with the Bureau of Land Management in Anchorage. While the collection largely contains his personal papers, the collection also includes research and other papers relating to his play, the Two Headed Turtle, about his life as a gay man. 

Identity, Inc. records; 1977-2009. hmc-1143. Records of a non-profit organization that provides programs supporting equality for the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender community, as well as its allies.

Klondyke Kontact records; 1977-2002. hmc-1322. Klondyke Kontact was a newsletter for lesbians, published in Anchorage, Alaska beginning in 1976 or 1977. The records include copies of the newsletter, staff meeting minutes, and other materials related to the production and content of the newsletter.

LGBTQ Community related event flyers and pamphlets; 1986-1999. eph-0266. Flyers and pamphlets for various events in Anchorage. 

Lamb of God Metropolitan Community Church event flyers and newsletters; 1995-1998. eph-0253. 

OPAL newsletters and event flyers; 1989-2001. eph-0262. OPAL was a social organization for lesbians to interact in a confidential and safe place. 

Out North Contemporary Art House records; 1985-2011. hmc-1089. Records of an Anchorage theater and art house that showcases performance art related to underrepresented groups and social justice.

Norman Rokeberg papers; 1995-2006. hmc-0945. The collection contains the legislative papers of legislator Norman Rokeberg of the Alaska State House of Representatives from Anchorage. The collection includes a file containing Senate Concurrent Resolution 401 and House Bills 4001 and 4002 regarding same-sex partner employment benefits.

Dave Rose papers; 1960-2006. hmc-0977. Rose was an Anchorage assemblyman and the first director of the Alaska Permanent Fund. While the collection mostly relates to Rose's work for the Alaska Permanent Fund Corp., the Alaska Industrial Development Authority, and the Alaska Permanent Capital Management Co., the collection also includes papers relating to Rose's advocacy for the equal rights bill against discrimination based on sexual preference.

The Wave event flyers; undated, 1995. eph-0254. Flyers for events at The Wave, a dance bar and coffee shop, which was located in Spenard. 

Women's Coffeehouse event flyers; undated, 1996-1999. eph-0265. 

Women's Music Festival flyers; 1990, 1999. eph-0259. 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website