All Guides: Performing arts archival collections: Home

Subject Guides

Collections

Collections from performing arts organizations or individuals

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. The collections listed in this section are from individuals involved in performing arts or performing arts organizations. The Archives also has collections of programs from many performing arts organizations which are listed in the box below.

For collections related to performing arts, held by archives, libraries, and museums in Alaska, please see the guide to performing arts in Alaska primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED).

Alaska Humanities Forum grant products; 1973-2006, 2015.
HMC-1236. The collection includes materials related to performances supported by the Alaska Humanities Forum.
Alaska Pacific University recordings; 1962-1986.
APU-0009. The collection contains recordings of some choir and orchestra performances held at Alaska Pacific University/Alaska Methodist University.
Alaska Repertory Theatre, Inc. records; 1969-1989.
HMC-0028. This collection contains records documenting the history and operation of the Alaska Repertory Theatre, Inc.. Types of records include administrative records, production books, artistic director’s files, photographs, and more.
Anchorage Arts newsletters; 1978-1980.
EPH-0142.
Anchorage Community Theatre records; 1953-2016.
HMC-1367. Contains administrative records, programs, posters, photographs, and sound recordings related to the Anchorage Community Theatre.
Anchorage Concert Association records; 1947-2008.
HMC-0881. The records are primarily comprised of artist’s files relating to specific performances, artist photographs, newsletters, scrapbooks, and files representing the history of the Association.
Anchorage Concert Chorus records; 1947-1997
HMC-0050. The collection consists of the records of the Anchorage Concert Chorus. Included are subject files (1947, 1954-1970), scrapbooks (1947-1972), recordings (1955-1962), music, and posters.
Anchorage Festival of Music records; 1955-2007, 2019.
HMC-1010. Alaska Festival of Music that promoted music in Alaska and invited well known musicians to participate in the festival.
Anchorage Opera Company records; 1962-2009.
HMC-0049 The collection contains administrative files, financial records, productions files, publicity, and records relating to the Anchorage Lyric Opera Theater.
Anchorage Opera Guild records; 1975-2015
HMC-1490. Records of an organization that supported opera and opera appreciation through fundraising, volunteering, education, and social gatherings.
Anchorage Symphony League records; 1946-1992.
HMC-0057. The collection consists of records of the Anchorage Symphony League as well as records of the Anchorage Symphony Orchestra, the Anchorage Chamber Symphony, and the Anchorage Symphony String Quartet.
Anchorage Symphony Orchestra records; 1953-1995.
HMC-0056. This collection contains the records of the Anchorage Symphony Orchestra. Included are minutes of the Board of Directors, correspondence, newsletters, subject files, financial records, clippings, and programs.
Anchorage Youth Symphony records; 1966-2008.
HMC-1094. Records of youth symphony composed of high school students in Anchorage.
Black Arts Association records; 1972-1980.
HMC-0070. This collection contains records documenting the operations and activities of the Black Arts Association. Activities include: producing plays, musicals, and other cultural events; and training black people and others in theater arts and other artistic fields.
Frank A. Bebey theater production papers; 1972-2009.
HMC-1090. Papers of UAA professor of theater, set designer, and director.
Barbara Brown papers; 1994-2012.
HMC-1269. The collection includes scripts for plays authored by Barbara Brown.
Cyrano's Theatre Company records; 1987-2019.
HMC-1150. Records of a community theater in Anchorage.
Ruth Hart papers; 1964-2003.
HMC-1279. Scrapbook and costume renderings created by a costume designer in Anchorage.
Michael Hood papers; 1979-1996.
HMC-0383. This collection includes papers relating to his theater activities at the University of Alaska Anchorage, such as production books from various UAA theater productions containing production scripts, rehearsal schedules, lists of props and costumes, audition sheets, and other similar types of records.
Mel Kalkowski papers; 1976-1990.
HMC-0147. Contains posters for plays presented by the Guild of Anchorage Community College, the UAA/ACC Theater Guild, and the UAA Theater Guild; musicals presented by UAA and Anchorage Community Theater-Alaska Methodist University; Alaska Festival of Music performances and other concerts by P.D.Q. Bach, John Prine, the Preservation Jazz Band, the McClain Family Band, and others.
Kuumba Black Artists Network, Inc. records; 1981-1983.
HMC-0157. Records of a non-profit organization that supported African American cultural education and African American art.
Lynn McConnell photographs and papers; 1977-1978.
HMC-1049. Photographs and a few documents from an Anchorage showgirl.
John and Linda Nelson papers; 1969-1987.
HMC-0387. The collection consists of records relating to John and Linda Nelson’s work in theater and to the operation of Alaska Stagecraft, Inc., a sound, lighting, and stage equipment sales and rental company.
Out North Contemporary Art House records; 1985-2011.
HMC-1089. Records of Anchorage theater and art house that showcases performance art related to underrepresented groups and social justice.
Brigitte Ressel arts events reviews; 1980-2009.
EPH-0143. This collection consists of reviews of performances of a number of Anchorage arts groups.
Catherine Stadem papers; 1927-2019.
HMC-0879. Anchorage author and local theatre critic.
University of Alaska Anchorage. Theatre and Dance Dept. photographs; 1980-2011.
UAA-0101. This collection contains photographs created by or for the Theatre and Dance Department’s productions.
Elvera Voth papers; 1961-1978.
HMC-0340. Records of a supporter and director of musical organizations in Alaska.

Programs

Collections of programs

Some of the organizations listed below may also be reflected in the list above. The collections in the section above represent broader documentation relating to performing arts organizations. The collections in this section are solely programs and flyers from Alaskan performing arts organizations, primarily in Anchorage. These programs collections can also be found on the Archives' ephemera collections listing.

Alaska Center for the Performing Arts programs; 1989-1994. EPH-0163
Alaska Chamber Singers programs; 1987-2009. EPH-0118
Alaska Childrens Choir programs; 1997-2000. EPH-0134
Alaska Contemporary Dance Company programs; undated. EPH-0157
Alaska Dance Theatre programs; 1992-2006. EPH-0114
Alaska Festival Theatre programs; undated. EPH-0132
Alaska Fine Arts Camp recital program; 1981. EPH-0164
Alaska Junior Theater programs; 1983-2002. EPH-0158
Alaska Light Opera programs; 1987-1988. EPH-0131
Alaska Stage Company programs; 1992. EPH-0159
Alaskan Concert Tour Boston University Glee Club program; 1958. EPH-0404
Anchorage arts programs; 1982-1995. EPH-0043
Anchorage Ballet programs; 2004, 2006. EPH-0115
Anchorage Civic Ballet Nutcracker programs; 1976-1981. EPH-0135
Anchorage Civic Orchestra programs; 2004. EPH-0138
Anchorage Classical Ballet Academy programs; 2004. EPH-0136
Anchorage Community Chorus sound recording; 1956. EPH-0095
Anchorage Concert Chorus programs; 1993-2006. EPH-0119
Anchorage Drama Lab programs; 1955-1960. EPH-0455
Anchorage Flute Choir programs; 1998. EPH-0128
Anchorage High School. Thespian Troupe 700 “The Little Dog Laughed” program; 1958 February 14-15. EPH-0408
Anchorage Opera programs; 1978-2009. EPH-0120
Anchorage Symphony Orchestra progams; 1959-2009. EPH-0121
Anchorage Women’s Community Chorus papers; undated, 1991-1992. eph-0263
Asian Alaskan Cultural Center programs; 1997. EPH-0141
Augustine’s Artists programs; 1990-1995. EPH-0146
Ballet Alaska programs; 1984-1990. EPH-0147
Basically Bach Festival programs; 1982-1986. EPH-0149
buzzOplex programs; 2006. EPH-0140
Carnival Civic Theatre "The Roar of the Greasepaint the Smell of the Crowd" program; 1973. EPH-0456
Cyrano’s Off Center Playhouse/Eccentric Theatre Company programs; 1973-2009. EPH-0133
Dance Spectrum Alaska programs; 2003. EPH-0137
Elmendorf Theatre Guild programs; 1955-1963. EPH-0454.
Grand Opera program for “The Bohemian Girl”; undated. EPH-0369
Haynes and Reddig Once a Year Theatre Company program; 1996. EPH-0151
Kodiak Baranof Productions, INC programs; 1983. EPH-0180
Kokopelli Theatre programs; 1996-2001. EPH-0113
Men’s and Women’s Glee Clubs of Anchorage program; 1937. EPH-0169
Music Machine programs; 1984-2000. EPH-0123
Music with Mary Martin program; undated. EPH-400.
North Pole Dramatic Club of Teller program; 1901 January. EPH-0370
Orpheum Theatre programs; 1998. EPH-0124
Otstar programs; undated. EPH-0127
Perseverance Theatre programs; 2001. EPH-0130
Russian Alaskan Academy event programs; 1995, 2000, 2008. EPH-0126
Russian American Colony Singers programs; undated. EPH-0116
Sitka Summer Music Festival programs; 1982-2008. EPH-0122
Theatre Guild programs; 1980-1989. EPH-0129
Toast Theatre programs; 1995. EPH-0155
The Wave event flyers; undated, 1995. EPH-0254 [use restrictions apply]
University of Alaska Anchorage. Theatre and Dance Dept programs; 1982-1992. UAA-0106.
Women’s Music Festival flyers; 1990, 1999. EPH-0259 [use restrictions apply]

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History

Consortium Library	–
Open Hours -- No ID Required	8am – 8pm
After Hours Study -- UA or APU ID Required	8pm – 12am