Skip to Main Content

Seward related collections

This topic guide contains archival collections relating to Seward at the UAA/APU Archives and Special Collections. Other institutions within Alaska, including institutions in Seward, also have relevant materials. This topic guide has been divided into fiv

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Alaskan leadership collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge collections

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Capital move collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard related collections

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Jesse Lee Home

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of th Jesse Lee Home, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below.  

Billy Blackjack  Johnson papers; 1929-1997, bulk 1972-1997. HMC-0384. Billy Blackjack Johnson was born in 1924. He lived in the Jesse Lee Home from 1927 to 1937. His papers include materials regarding the Jesse Lee Foundation and proposals for renovation of the Jesse Lee Home.

Sam McClain papers; 1940-1994. HMC-0429. McClain was an architect and artist who lived in Anchorage. His collections includes photographs of the Jesse Lee Home.

William L. McNutt photographic slides; 1934-1973. HMC-0456. William McNutt moved to Alaska in 1948 and joined the Anchorage Fire Department. The photographs in his collection include the Jesse Lee Home.

Seward Undertaking Company funeral registers; 1936-1945. HMC-1121. The collection contains records of a funeral home in Seward, Alaska. Though not a comprehensive listing of all deaths in Seward, the volumes document the deaths of more than just Seward residents, which include deaths at the Jesse Lee Home.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website