All Guides: Capital move archival collections: Home

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation

Alaskan leadership

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline

Capital move

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992)

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area

Homer, Alaska

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting

Labor

Law

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying

Matanuska Colony

Medicine and health

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing

Oral histories

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska

Featured collections

The following is a list of collections from Archives and Special Collections containing material about movements to relocate the capital of Alaska from Juneau to elsewhere in the state. The list is not comprehensive: please keyword search the rest of our collection descriptions to locate additional sources. You can keyword search by using the search box on the left of this page or on each of the pages linked below.

Atwood family papers; 1906-2003
HMC-0989. The Atwood family ran the Anchorages Times newspaper from 1935-1989. Family member Bob Atwood wrote various editorials on state issues. One series in the collection is dedicated to his advocacy for moving the capital (1946-1983).
Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1974-2014
HMC-0467. Arliss Sturgulewski was an Alaskan state senator. She was involved with the Capital Site Planning Commission (1977-1982) and Capital Site Selection Committee (1974-1976). In her collection, there are also maps of potential sites (1977) and a film about the site selection process (circa 1970's).
Benjamin B. Talley papers; 1925-2002
HMC-0241. Papers from a U. S. Army Corps of Engineers officer in Alaska and elsewhere who was a principal advocate for the 1974-1983 capital relocation movement. This collection includes capital relocation legislation and legislative related documents (1962-1985).
Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1898-1999
HMC-0353. The Woodmans were a pair of married journalists and free-lance writers. In this collection are papers relating to their work on the capital move (1970-1979), including information on social, governmental, and other impacts of the move.
Harold and Roxolana Pomeroy papers; 1893-2008
HMC-0564. The Pomeroys were a couple who homesteaded in Alaska and both held positions relating to the Alaskan government during their lives. Within their collection are screening reports from the Capitol Site Selection Committee from 1975 to 1977.
Jay S. Hammond papers; 1956-2005
HMC-0442. Jay S. Hammond was state legislator and governor of Alaska. A file in his collection about the capital move includes correspondence, statements, initiative, and clippings (circa 1974).
John S. Hellenthal papers; 1917-1989
HMC-0447. John S. Hellenthal was an Alaskan legislator. A file in his collection has reports and correspondence relating to moving the capital during 1962.
Lisa Rudd papers; 1933-1985
HMC-0212. Lisa Rudd was an educator, human rights advocate, and politician. Included in this collection are documents about the public's opinion polls on the capital move during 1980 and Rudd's stance on this issue during her campaign in the 1980 State Senate race.
Lowell Thomas Jr. papers; 1953-1990
HMC-1258. Lowell Thomas Jr. was an Alaska State Senator and Lieutenant Governor. In this collection is a legislative file on moving the capital (circa 1953-1977).

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History