Skip to main content

Seward related collections

This topic guide contains archival collections relating to Seward at the UAA/APU Archives and Special Collections. Other institutions within Alaska, including institutions in Seward, also have relevant materials. This topic guide has been divided into fiv

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Seward Sanatorium

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of Seward, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below.  

When searching through our collections please also use “Sanitorium” and “Sanitarium” as the spelling varies depending on how the creator of the collection spelled the word. The official spelling is “Seward Sanatorium.”

C. Earl Albrecht papers; 1906-1997. HMC-0375. Albrecht was a Matanuska Colony doctor, health commissioner, and circumpolar health advocate. His collection includes one folder of Alaska Department of Health Seward Sanatorium photographs.

Lawrence Eastman photographs; circa 1949-1951. HMC-1050. While the collection mostly contains photographs taken by Larry Eastman while aboard the Bittersweet, a Coast Guard buoy tender homeported at Kodiak, Alaska, the collection does include images of the Seward Sanatorium.

Henry S. Kaiser Jr. papers; circa 1919-1994. HMC-1148. Kaiser Jr. was a patient at the Seward Sanatorium from 1950-1953. While there, he took many photographs of other patients, buildings, nurses, doctors, and events.

 Seward Undertaking Company funeral registers; 1936-1945. HMC-1121. The collection contains records of a funeral home in Seward, Alaska. Though not a comprehensive listing of all deaths in Seward, the volumes document the deaths of more than just Seward residents including the Seward Sanatorium.

Virginia Terrill papers; undated, 1941-1991. HMC-0432. Terrill was a public health worker. Her collection includes one folder containing photographs of the Seward Sanatorium.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website