All Guides: Arctic National Wildlife Refuge archival collections: Start

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation

Alaskan leadership

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline

Capital move

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992)

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting

Labor

Law

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying

Matanuska Colony

Medicine and health

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

The National Arctic Wildlife Range, 8.9 million acres, was established by Public Land Order 2214 in December 1960. In 1980, with the passage of the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act (ANILCA), the size was brought to over 19 million acres and it was renamed the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR). This is a listing of archival collections with materials related to ANWR and the land encompassed within its boundaries in the holdings of Archives and Special Collections at the UAA/APU Consortium Library. It may not be a complete list of all the related materials in the holdings of the Archives. Researchers may wish to search the Archives site for a more comprehensive look at our collection guides. Each page of the Archives website has a keyword search box.

Archival collections related to ANWR

The collections listed below have content related to ANWR. Some of the inventories are lengthy. As many of the folder or box descriptions were transcribed directly off of the original labels, you may find it easiest to keyword search within the document by ANWR or individual words within Arctic National Wildlife Refuge or Range to find the relevant content.

Alaska Center for the Environment records; 1909-2013.
HMC-0005. 83.0 cubic feet. The collection includes several subject files related to ANWR.
Anchorage Chamber of Commerce records; 1946-2013.
HMC-0048. 46.95 cubic feet. The Anchorage Chamber of Commerce is a non- profit business organization whose purpose is to promote and enhance business and community services in the Anchorage community. The collection contains a few subject files related to ANWR.
Arctic Power records; circa 1978-2003.
HMC-0667. 35.0 cubic feet. Arctic Power was founded in April 1992 to advocate for congressional and presidential approval of oil and gas exploration within the boundaries of the Coastal Plain of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge. More recently, the organization has broadened its mission to include all federal areas on the North Slope of Alaska that have been designated as potential oil and gas exploration lands. Arctic Power is based in Anchorage, with an office in Washington, D.C. The collection consists of records of Arctic Power, including membership records, meeting minutes, financial information, information about tours of Prudhoe Bay, publications, VHS tapes, audiocassettes, and clippings. The collection also includes minutes, correspondence, files on legislation, publications, and grassroots campaign materials from the Alaska Coalition for American Energy Security (ACAES), as earlier organization with a mission similar to that of Arctic Power.
H.A. “Red” Boucher papers; 1942-1995, bulk 1978-1990.
HMC-0420. 23.0 cubic feet. The vast majority of this collection contains papers and files relating to the public career of H.A. “Red” Boucher who served as an Alaskan legislator. The collection contains subject files on ANWR.
Kay Brown papers; 1983-1996.
HMC-0457. 64.0 cubic feet. Kay Brown served in the Alaska House of Representatives. Her papers include subject files on ANWR related leasing and land exchange.
Commonwealth North records; 1979-2007.
HMC-0992. 64.8 cubic feet. Commonwealth North acts as a non-partisan group funded by individual memberships and private sector funds. Their purpose is “to educate its members and others on significant public policy issues affecting Alaska and its future, and to assist in their resolution. The collection contains of a box of materials related to the Alaskan View of Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR) committee information files and records.
David M. Hickok papers; 1923-1992.
HMC-0408. 17.0 cubic feet.
more...less...
Hickok spent much of his career as a natural resources officer working on issues pertaining to Alaska. The collection contains reports, assessments, and other papers relating to David M. Hickok’s involvement over his career in the establishment of and land use planning for the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.
Alfred Geddes Maddren photograph albums; 1904-1914.
HMC-0166-APU. 1.2 cubic feet. The materials from this collection pre-date the 1960 Public Lands order. A. G. Maddren was a geologist and photographer with the U.S. Geological Survey. He served on the 1911-1912 Alaska-Canada boundary survey that traveled through this area. His collection contains photographs from this area.
Charlotte E. Mauk slides; 1944-1972.
HMC-0752. 0.2 cubic feet. Charlette E. Mauk was the Secretary of the Sierra Club from 1959 to 1963. In 1961, she traveled to Alaska with naturalists Olaus J. Murie and Margaret E. "Mardy" Murie, and as part of that trip they camped along the Sheenjek River. Her collection includes photographic slides from this trip.
Frank Reed papers; 1905-2009.
HMC-0206. 4.15 cubic feet. Frank Reed served on the Commonwealth North committee noted above. His papers include his records from that committee membership.
Ruth A. M. Schmidt papers, 1912-2015.
HMC-0792. 17.0 cubic feet. Ruth Schmidt was a geologist. She took a trip along the Sheenjek River in 1996 and her papers include photographic slides from that trip.
John Strohmeyer papers; 1946-2010.
HMC-1073. 5.6 cubic feet. John Strohmeyer was a journalist who worked in Anchorage. His collection contains some research files related to ANWR.
Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1954-2014.
HMC-0467. 55.0 cubic feet. Arliss Sturgulewski served in the Alaska Senate in the 1980s. Her papers include several legislative subject files related to ANWR.
Thomas Wilson papers; 1940-1994.
HMC-1226. 4.0 cubic feet. Tom Wilson was a petroleum geologist. Throughout his career, Wilson assisted with oil exploration and geological surveys in many areas of Alaska, including the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR).
Susan Winton photographs; 1989-2000.
HMC-1176. 3.75 cubic feet. Susan Winton was a professional photographer. Her collection includes images taken in ANWR.

Other related subject guides

The following are additional subject guides to Archives collections that may include collections with content relevant to ANWR.

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D2 collections
Archives collections with content relative to the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act, and the d(2) (also known as D-2) clause of ANCSA.
Geography and environmental studies collections
Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History