Skip to main content

Seward related collections

This topic guide contains archival collections relating to Seward at the UAA/APU Archives and Special Collections. Other institutions within Alaska, including institutions in Seward, also have relevant materials. This topic guide has been divided into fiv

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

General Seward

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of Seward, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below.  

ACF. Alaska Culinary Association records; 1965-2015. HMC-1222. Records of a non-profit professional organization of culinary professionals, restaurant managers and owners, culinary educators, and food purveyors. The collection includes photographs taken during a 1994 cooking class at the Alaska Vocational Institute in Seward.

Bill Bacon photograph files; 1945-2004. HMC-0991. Bacon was an Alaskan photographer and filmmaker. His collection includes a folder of images taken of Seward from 1981-1982.

Margaret Branson papers; 1967-2005. HMC-1131. Margaret Branson served in the Alaska State House of Representatives for district 5 from 1979-1980, and worked on the Seward Planning and Zoning Commission, and the Seward City Council. The collection contains materials that relate to her time on the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly and in the Alaska State House such as photographs of her while serving in the legislature and on the campaign trail, campaign mailers, correspondence, speeches, and article clippings.

Raymond Burgess survey records; 1976-1992. HMC-1197. Raymond Burgess moved to Seward in 1976, where he opened a surveying business called Alaska Land Surveys. This collection consists of 35 survey drawings on mylar depicting locations within and near Seward.

Bud Campbell papers; 1882-2009. HMC-1186. Campbell was a surveyor from the Matanuska Susitna area. His collection includes a file regarding an Alaska Railroad property survey in Seward.

Charles Cassata photographs; 1956-1966. HMC-1177-AHS. Charles Cassata was a resident of Alaska. The collection contains photographs taken of Seward.

William O.L. Chinn photographs; 1951-1973. HMC-0620. William Chinn was an architect with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers. The photographs in this collection depict many places in Alaska, including some taken of Seward.

Lawrence Eastman photographs; 1949-1951. HMC-1050. This collection contains photographs taken by Larry Eastman while aboard the Bittersweet, a Coast Guard buoy tender homeported at Kodiak, Alaska. Some of the images in the collection include Seward.

General Federation of Women’s Clubs of Alaska records; 1934-2001. HMC-0680. The General Federation of Women’s Clubs of Alaska (GFWC of AK) is a state club affiliated with the General Federation of Women’s Clubs (GFWC), a national volunteer service organization. The collection includes files relating to the Seward club.

Marion and Thomas Gregory photographs and sound recording; 1932-2002. HMC-0809. The collection includes photographs of Seward depicting the Seward Municipal Boat Harbor, as well as a trip to and in Seward.

Benjamin A. Grier papers; 1911-1952. HMC-1036-AHS. Benjamin Grier moved to Seward in 1911, where he worked as a storekeeper before moving to Talkeetna in 1920. This collection contains photographs taken and purchased by Grier which depict Seward.

Hans and Margaret Hafemeister papers; 1943-1995. HMC-0126. In 1948, the Hafemeisters moved to Seward, where they lived until 1983. Their collection includes diaries, which pertain to various aspects of their lives, and photographs.

Walter J. Hickel papers; 1950-2010. HMC-0660. Papers of a former U.S. Secretary of the Interior, two-time Alaska Governor, and businessman who was very involved in northern regions public policy development. The collection includes speeches Hickel made while in Seward, campaign records, and a folder relating to when Hickel went to Seward for the All American City Awards.

Grace and John Vincent Hoeman papers; 1952-1971. HMC-0887. The Hoemans were mountaineers. Their collection includes annotated maps of Seward, mountains near Seward, and Vin Hoeman’s documentation of his Harding Icefield traverse.

Harry and Norma Hoyt family papers; 1908-1989. HMC-0988. This collection contains the papers and photographs of a family who owned the Gulkana Road House and the Hoyt Motor Company in Anchorage. The collection includes photographs of Seward.

Robert and Wilma Knox papers; 1949-2001. HMC-0461. Robert and Wilma Knox were journalists who lived in Alaska. Their collection includes photographs taken by the Knoxes both personally and professionally, which include Seward.

Christine M. McClain papers; 1907-1992. HMC-0370. Christine McClain was an Alaska Communication System employee and freelance writer in Anchorage. Her collection contains photographs taken in Seward, including the Mt. Marathon race.

Sam McClain papers; 1940-1994. HMC-0429. McClain was an architect and artist who lived in Anchorage. His collection includes photographs of Seward.

Donald Arthur Post slides; 1953-1959. HMC-0917. Donald Arthur Post was a CAA and FAA employee in Alaska. His collection consists of 35mm slides taken by Post as he traveled to and around Alaska, which also includes Seward.

RurAL CAP records; 1965-1985. HMC-0213. RurAL CAP works to enhance the local assessment of needs, government responsiveness, and to promote local initiative throughout Alaska. The collection includes files regarding the Seward Youth Center and the Surplus Acquisition Program.

Seward (Alaska) residents lists; circa 1940-1949. HMC-1145. This collection consists of financial ledger sheets containing hand-drawn rough maps of sections of the town of Seward and names of inhabitants according to address as well as forms collecting information similar to census records of residents in Seward.

Seward Church of Christ member family photograph album; 1945-1947. Family photographs of the Seward vicinity.

Seward Undertaking Company funeral registers; 1936-1945. HMC-1121. Though not a comprehensive listing of all deaths in Seward, the volumes document the deaths of more than just Seward residents: the individuals listed in the registers came from a variety of locations as Seward was home to the Jesse Lee Home, the Seward Sanatorium (tuberculosis sanatorium), a prison, Ft. Raymond during the war years, and also a docking place for many steamships traveling to and from Alaska.

Ruth A.M. Schmidt papers; 1912-2014. HMC-0792. Ruth Schmidt was an Alaskan geologist who also traveled extensively around the state. Her collection includes photographs of buildings, scenery, aerial views, harbors, and glaciers in Seward.

Stewart’s Photo Shop slides; 1964-1992. HMC-1181. Stewart’s Photo Shop opened in Anchorage in 1943. The collection consists of 35mm color slides depicting Alaska buildings, scenery, people, and wildlife. Images in the collection include Seward.

Madge Stone letter; 1928.  HMC-0672. Madge Stone prospected a gold mine near Seward with her husband during the summer of 1928. The collection contains a letter written by Stone to friends in California.

University Relations photographs; 1967-2000. UAA-0043. Photographs created or collected by the University Relations officer at the University of Alaska Anchorage. The collection includes a folder of photographs taken of a marina in Seward, 1974.

Michel Villon papers; 1972-2017. HMC-1255. Villon is a chef in Anchorage. His papers mostly relate to his Anchorage career, Villon was the Alaska Jaycees project chairman for the Mt. Marathon race in 1973.

Frank H. Whitney scrapbook; undated, 1925. HMC-0894. Frank H. Whitney was a miner who lived in Girdwood and operated the Jewel Mine in the Crow Creek Pass area in the mid-1920s. The collection includes photographs of the International Order of Odd Fellows building in Seward, as well as the Seward City Hall.

Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1898-1999. HMC-0353. Papers of two Alaskan journalists and free-lance writers. The collection contains photographs taken in Seward, including the Seward All-American City awards and MV Tustumena at Seward.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website