Skip to Main Content

Creative writing archival collections

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections relating to creative writing. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Creative writing collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Ann Chandonnet papers; 1942-2007.  HMC-0085.  Ann Chandonnet was an educator, poet, and author who has published a number of poetry collections and cookbooks. She also established the Literary Artists Guild of Alaska in 1981. The majority of this collection contains Chandonett’s personal papers, most significantly her personal and professional correspondence. There are also drafts and published copies of her writings, including manuscript drafts and book proposals for some of her books, poetry, food, writing, and fiction.

Richard Dauenhauer papers; 1961-1985.  HMC-0099.  Richard Dauenhauer was a poet, educator, and translator. He has published several volumes of poetry from languages including German, Russian, Finnish, and classical Greek. He was names to a four-year term as Power Laureate of Alaska. Included in this collection are drafts of published and unpublished poetry.

Harpoon records; 1978-1982.  HMC-0130.  The Harpoon was a private literary journal published regularly in Anchorage from 1979-1981. The journal primarily published poetry, but it also included short stories, experimental poetry, and translations. It was also listed as an Outstanding Small Press in America. The collection contains correspondence and papers concerning the operation of the Harpoon, as well as copies of the journal and letters from authors.

Literary Artists Guild of Alaska records; 1981-1982.  HMC-0164.  The Literary Artists Guild of Alaska was established in 1981 by Anchorage Poet, Ann Chandonnet. Its activities included organizing workshops and conferences for Alaskan writers, as well as promoting and publicizing the works and products of Alaska writers. The collection consists of correspondence, newsclippings, photographs, and organization news.

Ruben Gaines papers; 1952-1983.  HMC-0110.  Ruben Gaines is a noted Alaskan poet and storyteller. He is best known for his five-minute radio program, Conversations Unlimited in which he presented readings of his stories about life in Alaska. He also published several books of poetry and served as Alaska State Poet Laureate from 1973-1978. The collection consists of his papers and published works, slides of story illustrations, reel-to-reel audiotapes of his stories, and phonograph albums.

Margaret G. Mielke papers; 1942-1980.  HMC-0176.  Margaret Mielke was the first Alaskan Poet Laureate. She was active in the formation of the Poetry Society of Alaska and the League of Alaska Writers. The collection includes papers relating to her work as an author and a poet.

Joanne Townsend papers; 1962-2015.  HMC-0246.  Joanne Townsend taught English at the University of Alaska Anchorage. She has had her poetry published in books and various magazine and journals. She was named Poet Laureate for Alaska by the state legislature in 1988. The collection consists of Townsend’s work as a poet and her relations with other Alaska authors.

Thomas William papers; 1972-1994.  HMC-0129.  Thomas William Halligan has written numerous books, including children stories, poetry, and novels under the pen name Thomas William. The collection consists of published and unpublished materials, as well copies of five of his published works, and drafts for at least twelve different works, some of which were eventually published.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website