Skip to Main Content

Skiing and mountaineering archival collections

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to skiing and mountaineering. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Use search terms like skis, skiing, mountain climbing, and mountaineering.

For collections related to mountaineering in Alaska, held by archives, libraries, and museums, across Alaska, please visit the guide to mountaineering in Alaska primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway

Anchorage Ski Club records; 1937-1966. HMC-0055. Records of a local Anchorage organization. The Ski Club operated the Arctic Valley ski area into the 1980s.

Russ Dow papers; 1917-1932. HMC-0396. Russ came to Alaska in the mid-1930s on some of Bradford Washburn's glacial and mountain climbing expeditions. A life long skier, Russ trained soldiers at Ft. Richardson during World War II and was involved in the Anchorage Ski Club.

Karl Eid papers; 1937-2003. HMC-0423. An Olympic class ski jumper in Germany before World War II, Eid was also active in teaching ski jumping and developing new ski jump facilities in Anchorage.

Grace and John Vincent Hoeman papers; 1952-1979. HMC-0887. Alaskan residents, worldwide mountaineers, both were involved in the Mountaineering Club of Alaska.

Martin Kilian photographs, circa 1921-1925. HMC-1393. Photographs from a mountaineering expedition.

William J. Mills; Jr. papers, circa 1941-2005. Papers of doctor who did research into cold injuries and physiological effects of low temperatures, including studies of mountain climbers. 

Mountaineering Club of Alaska records; 1960-1981. HMC-0690. Some records related to the mountaineering advocacy group.

National Ski Patrol. Alaska Division records; 1960-1997. HMC-0411. Includes administrative files, newsletters, and testing and training materials.

Sourdough Ski Patrol records; 1974-1997. HMC-1080. A subset of the Alaska Division of the National Ski Patrol covering Alyeska. The collection contains administrative records, newsletters, and testing and training materials.

Vern Tejas papers; 1971-2003. HMC-0657. Papers and photographs of an Alaskan mountain climber.

Juneau resident slides; undated, 1942-1986. HMC-0740. Includes many photographs of people mountain-climbing.

Also be sure to look at the lists of UAA Athletics department records for more materials related to skiing and mountaineering classes and teams at UAA.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website