Skip to Main Content

Gardening and botany collections archival collections

Collections in Archives & Special Collections related to gardening and botany in Alaska. The collections are in alphabetical order by creator. Click on a collection name more more detailed information about the collection.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Gardening and botany collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories for collections relating to gardening and botany in Alaska. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available at the top of each page.

Alaska Botanical Garden records; 1991-2014. HMC-1195. Records of a botanical garden in Anchorage, Alaska, including newsletters, scrapbooks, event flyers, and photographs.

Alaska Master Gardener’s newsletters; 1998-2012. EPH-0186. Newsletters of an organization established to foster, promote, and disseminate gardening information in Alaska.

Alaska Native Plant Society newsletters; 1982-2016. EPH-0188. Newsletters of an organization dedicated to studying and conserving Alaska's native plants.

Alaska Pioneer Fruit Growers newsletters; 2000-2006. EPH-0194. Newsletters of an organization that identifies fruit varieties and growing techniques suitable to Alaska and provides instruction to people interested in growing fruit in Alaska.

Alaska Rock Garden Society records; 1997-2004. EPH-0190. Newsletters of an organization dedicated to promoting the art of rock gardening in Alaska.

Alaska Rose Society newsletters; 1995-2007. EPH-0189. Newsletters of an organization that promotes the exchange of ideas, information, and experiences of rose growers and enthusiasts in Alaska.

Alaska State Federation of Garden Clubs newsletters; 1999-2002. EPH-0191. Newsletters of a statewide organization comprised of members of garden clubs in Anchorage, Eagle River, Fairbanks, and Ketchikan.

“Alaska Wild Plants and Berries” botanical specimens; circa 1963. EPH-0340. Pages of dried specimens  and description of plants and berries, primarily from Savoonga and Shishmaref.

Anchorage Garden Club records; 1942-2003. HMC-0449. Records of an organization in Anchorage dedicated to the enjoyment, study, and advancement of gardening, horticulture, landscape design, and floral design, as well as the conservation of natural resources. The records include reports, minutes, correspondence, membership records, scrapbooks, flower show records, award applications, and subject files.

Christine A. Heller papers; 1895-1982. HMC-0367. Papers of an Alaskan botanist and nutritionist, including notes, lists of plants, drawings, and publications.

Anne Nevaldine papers; circa 1996-2006. HMC-1294. Primarily photographs taken by a macro-photographer.

Frank and Verna Pratt papers; 1967-2010. HMC-1276. Primarily slides with some papers of a couple who published guides to Alaska native plants. The collection includes slides depicting Alaskan plants and gardens, as well as plant lists and resources about growing and identifying Alaskan plants.

Wildflower Garden Club records; 1973-2010. HMC-1078. Scrapbooks and yearbooks of an organization dedicated to gardening, floriculture and horticulture, conservation, and civic beautification.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website