Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anchorage charter commissions: Start

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

 

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Anchorage charter commissions

A charter commission for Anchorage was initially formed in 1958, preparatory to the Statehood Act. In 1969-1971 a charter commission was formed to unify the city and borough into a municipality but the charter was not passed by voters. In 1975 another charter commission was formed for unification of the city and borough and that was passed by voters. This is a listing of collections in the holdings of Archives and Special Collections at the UAA/APU Consortium Library. It may not be a complete list of all the materials related to Anchorage charters or amendments to them in the holdings of the Archives. Researchers may wish to search the Archives site for a more comprehensive look at our collection guides. Each page of the Archives website has a keyword search box. Suggested search terms include: charter commission, unification, and home rule.

1958 Charter

1971 Charter

1975 Charter

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website