All Guides: Atomic testing and nuclear energy archival collections: Home

Subject Guides

Collections

This guide was created to help identify archival sources relating to atomic testing and nuclear energy. This is not a complete listing of all of the Archives collections that may relate to atomic and nuclear energy. Be sure to search the Archives website or contact us if you do not see the topic you are looking for in the following list.

Some of these collections are quite large, but the actual portion that relates to this topic is small. You'll want to take a look at the collection descriptions the Archives provides before coming in for your research visit. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can also keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Important keywords:

- Operation Long Shot

- Project Plowshare

- U.S. Atomic Energy Commission

- Project Chariot

- Project Milrow

- Project Cannikin

Alaska Center for the Environment records; 1909-2013.
The Alaska Center for the Environment (ACE) is a non-profit organization that lobbies for environmental issues such as public lands conservation, clean air and water, subsistence, and land use. Box 6 of this collection contains newspaper clippings and reports on the Amchitka atomic tests and fallout. Box 20 has research materials on nuclear plants, pollution, and disposal.
Alaska Public Interest Research Group records; 1962-2008.
The Alaska Public Interest Research Group is a non-profit citizens group formed by Alaskans in order to meet the need for consumer representation. Boxes 11, 12, 26, and 44 contain research files on nuclear energy.
Atwood family papers; 1906-2003.
The Atwood family papers includes many administrative and research files maintained by the Anchorage Times, which the Atwood family ran. Box 52 contains research files on the Atomic Energy Commission on Amchitka.
Genie Chance papers; 1964-1977.
Genie Chance was a broadcast journalist and Alaska state legislator (1969-1979). Her legislative subject files include folders on the Atomic Energy Commission and the Amchitka tests in boxes 3 and 10.
Walter Eugene Guess papers; 1960-1975.
Walter Eugene Guess was an Alaska state legislator from 1964 to 1972. His legislative subject files include folders on the Atomic Energy Commission and the Amchitka nuclear tests in boxes 5 and 6.
Walter J. Hickel papers; 1950-2010.
Walter J. Hickel was a former U.S. Secretary of the Interior, two-time Alaska Governor, and businessman who was very involved in northern regions public policy development. His general correspondence files include folders on the Amchitka tests in box 4.
Robert and Wilma Knox papers; 1925-2018.
Robert and Wilma Knox were professional journalists. Their collection includes photographs of the Amchitka nuclear tests in box 3.
Milton Lipton oil reports; August 1956-November 1986
Mr. Milton Lipton was the president and director of the W.J. Levy Consultants Corp who advised the Alaska State Legislature on world energy from the mid 1950s to the mid 1980s. His collection contains several reports on the viability of nuclear power both in the U.S. and globally.
Frederick P. McGinnis speeches; undated, 1967-1981.
Frederick P. McGinnis was the President of Alaska Methodist University and a deputy commissioner in the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services. Box 2, folder 7 of his collection contains a draft of his 1971 speech before the Atomic Energy Commission on Project Cannikin.
Fred and Lidia Selkregg papers; 1914-2000, bulk 1963-1989.
Lidia Selkregg was a land use planner, professor of planning at the University of Alaska Anchorage, and a member of the Anchorage Assembly. Her papers include speeches given by General Giller, James W. Hadley, Dr. James E. Carothers, Frederick McGinnis, Melvin W. Carter, and M.L. Merritt as well as her on testimony on Cannikin and Amchitka tests.
Jerome Sheldon papers; 1922-1995.
Jerome Sheldon was a freelance writer and journalist. Box 1 contains correspondence, interviews, photographs, and articles on the Amchitka tests. It also has some materials on Project Chariot. Box 2, folder 12 contains correspondence and articles on a nuclear reactor plant at Fort Greely.
Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1898-1999.
Betzi and Lyman Woodman were freelance writers and journalists. Box 2 of their collection contains their research files on the Amchitka tests and boxes 8, 10, and 11 have photographs of Amchitka before and after the tests. Box 7, folder 6 has a subject file on the Fort Greely nuclear plant. Box 14 has a film reel of a briefing before the Cannikin test.

Other resources

The Alaska and Polar Regions Archives and Collections at the University of Fairbanks also has relevant collections, like the Project Chariot papers, the Alaskan Nuclear Disarmament Organizational records, the Alaska Conservation Society records, and the Daniel T O'Neill papers. Please contact the APRCA directly for access to these collections and more: UAF-APR-reference-service@alaska.edu.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History