All Guides: Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related archival collections: Home

Subject Guides

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska

Pioneer Cafe, Hope, circa 1960. Charles Cassata photographs, Alaska Historical Society collections, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections at Archives & Special Collections

This research guide includes collections that contain materials related to Hope and Sunrise, Alaska. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains many photographs of Hope and Sunrise, Alaska, some of which are also in the collections below. You can find related materials by searching "Hope" or "Sunrise" in the search box on top of the main page of Alaska's Digital Archives.

Note: While Hope and Sunrise, Alaska are two separate locations, some of the files noted as relating to Hope, may also have material related to Sunrise.

Alaska Center for the Environment records; 1909-2013.
HMC-0005. The Alaska Center for the Environment (ACE) is a non-profit organization that lobbies for environmental issues such as public lands conservation, clean air and water, subsistence, and land use. The collection includes a 1972 subject file on Hope.
Alice and Bob Arwezon photographs; 1949-1973.
HMC-1140. Photographs of long-time Anchorage residents involved in dogsled racing. The collection also includes photographs taken in and around Hope, from 1956 and 1966, including Resurrection Creek.
Bill Bacon photograph files; 1941-2004.
HMC-0991. Bacon was an Alaskan photographer and filmmaker. His collection includes a folder of images taken of Hope.
Robert Bush letter; 1898.
HMC-0819. Letter written by Robert Bush who was mining in Sunrise, 1898.
Charles Cassata photographs; 1956-1966.
HMC-1177-AHS. The collection contains photographs and slides taken by Charles Cassata, including buildings in Hope.
Genie Chance papers; 1964-1977.
HMC-0084. Genie Chance was a broadcast journalist and Alaska state legislator. The collection includes a folder and first person accounts of the 1964 Earthquake in Hope and Sunrise.
William O.L. Chinn photographs; 1951-1973.
HMC-0620. The collection includes work and travel photographs of an architect with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Alaska District. The collection includes photographs of scenery, gold panning, gold mines, and salmon in Hope, 1952.
Ercelle Davidson film and photographs; 1952-1962.
HMC-1035-AHS. Photographs and home movies taken by Ercelle Davidson in Alaska. The collection includes photographs of a road in Hope, 1954.
Robert Fortuine papers; 1934-2008.
HMC-0455. Fortuine was an Alaskan public health physician. While many of his papers relate to his career, the collection includes photographs taken of Hope in 1972.
Edwin F. Glenn papers; 1889-1917.
HMC-0116. Journal, photographs, and personal papers of U.S. Army officer in charge of explorations in southcentral Alaska in 1898 and 1899. During the 1898 Cook’s Inlet Exploring Expedition, the U.S. Army were in Hope and Sunrise, which are documented in the photographs and journal.
Josephine M. Gordon journals; 1964-1985.
HMC-0407. The collection contains journals of a family’s annual trips through Alaska, Yukon Territory, and British Columbia. Hope is mentioned in the journals.
Marion and Thomas Gregory photographs and sound recording; 1932-2002.
HMC-0809. The collection includes photographs of gold panning in Hope.
Don Grybeck slides; 1955-2006.
HMC-1172. This collection contains slides of geological fieldwork, equipment, people, and locations. Included in the collection are churches, cabins, stores, and scenery in Hope, Alaska.
Richard Tighe Harris family papers; 1853-1969.
HMC-0131. The collection consists of the family papers of a prospector and co-founder of Juneau, Alaska. Included in the collection is a letter written by M. Cline of Sunrise.
Walter J. Hickel papers; 1950-2010.
HMC-0660. Papers of a former U.S. Secretary of the Interior, two-time Alaska Governor, and businessman who was very involved in northern regions public policy development. Included in the collection is a folder relating to Hickel’s 1966 gubernatorial campaign in Hope.
Robert C. Lewis papers; circa 1941-1943, 1951.
HMC-1026-AHS. Lewis was a soldier who served at Fort Raymond in Seward during World War II. His collection includes photographs taken of the Hope Social Hall.
Delores Mann slides; 1976-1984.
HMC-0571. Color slides taken by an Oregon woman during road-trips through Alaska and western Canada. The collection includes photographs taken of Hope in 1982.
Christine McClain papers; 1907-1992.
HMC-0370. McClain was an Anchorage-area freelance journalist. Her collection includes photographs of Ivar Nearhouse General Merchandise (currently the Seaview Bar and Café) in Hope.
Sam McClain papers; 1940-1994.
HMC-0429. McClain was an architect and artist who lived in Anchorage. His collection includes a photograph of the Ivar Nearhouse General Merchandise (currently the Seaview Bar and Café) in Hope.
Judith and Malcolm McDonald papers; 1960-1997.
HMC-0619. The McDonalds taught in Anchorage schools during the 1960s. Included in the collection is a folder of photographs of Hope taken in 1962.
George B. Nelson papers; 1908-1980.
Nelson was a game warden, hunter, and trapper who worked on the Kenai Peninsula. The collection includes photographs of Hope.
Ruth A.M. Schmidt papers; 1912-2015.
HMC-0792. Ruth Schmidt was an Alaskan geologist who also traveled extensively around the state. Her collection includes photographs of buildings in and around Hope.
Sharing Community Images project photographs, 1991-2016.
HMC-1227. The Sharing Community Images project was begun by the Archives in 2016. The intent of the project was to allow the Archives to engage community members in ensuring that their personal photos could be preserved and made accessible through archives. The collection contains two photographs taken of the Seaview Bar and Café in Hope, in 2014 and 2015.
Loren Taft papers; circa 1950-2004.
HMC-1117. Taft was an Alaskan wildlife photographer. His collection includes images of Hope.
Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1898-1999.
HMC-0353. Papers of two Alaskan journalists and free-lance writers. The collection contains notes pertaining to a story regarding Hope, as well as photographs of the Hope area, including Resurrection Creek, Palmer Creek Valley, and Bear Creek Valley.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History

Consortium Library	–
Open Hours -- No ID Required	10am – 8pm
After Hours Study -- UA or APU ID Required	8pm – 12am