Skip to Main Content

Hatcher Pass area collections

A guide to archival collections related to the Hatcher Pass region, including Independence Mine and the Willow Creek Mining District.

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

 

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge collections

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard related collections

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Independence Mine, Willow Creek Mining District, and Hatcher Pass collections

The first Independence Lode gold claims were discovered in in the Willow Creek Mining District at Hatcher Pass in 1906. The most productive of these mines were Independence Mine and the Alaska Free Gold Mine, which were operated by a variety of companies until 1935, when Alaska-Pacific Mines, Inc. leased both mines. Operations began there in 1936, with the Wasilla Mining Company running the operations at Independence Mine. In 1937, Alaska-Pacific Mines, Inc. purchased Independence Mine and continued to lease the Alaska Free Gold Mine from the Alaska Free Gold Mining Company. The following year, Alaska-Pacific Mines, Inc. merged with the Wasilla Mining Company to form the Alaska-Pacific Consolidated Mining Company (APCMCo.), eventually operating the Independence, Martin, Free Gold, and Ready Bullion mines. APCMCo. became the largest-producing hard rock gold mining operation in the Willow Creek Mining District, the second largest in Alaska, and the eleventh largest in the United States. The top production year for APCMCo.’s claims was 1941, but gold mining efforts ceased during World War II when the U.S. War Production Board designated gold-mining as a non-essential activity for the war effort. APCMCo. continued to mine for scheelite at Independence Mine until 1943 and mill and process ore until 1945. APCMCo. briefly re-opened full operations at Independence Mine in 1946 and 1949 but officially closed all operations in 1951. In 1980, the State of Alaska acquired the mine buildings and 271 surrounding acres, and the Independence Mine State Historic Park officially opened in 1982.

The titles of collections below are links to the full collection descriptions and inventories of those collections. Please click on the links to review more complete descriptions of the collections. This is not a comprehensive list of collections with materials related to the Hatcher Pass area. Please also keyword search mine names and place names on the main Archives page or using the Search our collections box on this page for a more complete look at our collections. 

For additional collections relating to mining across Alaska, see our guide to Mining Collections

The following collections have a smaller volume of materials on Independence Mine, Willow Creek Mining District, and Hatcher Pass than the APCMC records and the Stoll family papers. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website