Skip to Main Content

Seward related collections

This topic guide contains archival collections relating to Seward at the UAA/APU Archives and Special Collections. Other institutions within Alaska, including institutions in Seward, also have relevant materials. This topic guide has been divided into fiv

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Alaskan leadership collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge collections

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Capital move collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Coast Guard related collections

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

1964 Earthquake in Seward

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of the 1964 Earthquake, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below. For additional collections relating to the 1964 Earthquake, please read our general 1964 Alaska Earthquake topic guide.

Doyle and Gloria Bushman family papers; 1952-2000. HMC-0663. Papers, audio and video recordings, and color slides of Anchorage residents documenting the Alaska earthquake of 1964. The collection includes photographs depicting the damage in Seward after the Earthquake.

Genie Chance papers; 1964-1977. HMC-0084. Genie Chance was a broadcast journalist and Alaska state legislator. The collection contains material relating to the 1964 Earthquake in Seward, including first person accounts and construction afterwards.

Frank C. Fox photographs; 1946-1993. HMC-0708.  Frank C. Fox was an officer and helicopter pilot in the U.S. Air Force who was serving at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage, Alaska at the time of the quake. The collection contains photographs taken in Seward after the Earthquake.

Hans and Margaret Hafemeister papers; 1943-1995. HMC-0126. In 1948, the Hafemeisters moved to Seward, where they lived until 1983. Their collection contains records concerning the 1964 Earthquake, including bulletins, correspondence, and photographs.

Kenneth J. Huseby photographs; 1964.  HMC-0427.  This collection consists of photographs of earthquake damage in Anchorage, Portage, and Seward, mostly taken by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and collected by Huseby.

Robert and Wilma Knox papers; 1949-2001. HMC-0461. Robert and Wilma Knox were journalists who lived in Alaska. Their collection includes records and photographs relating to the 1964 Earthquake, including their articles about the Earthquake and correspondence. The collection includes aerial photographs of damage in Seward caused the Earthquake, including the Alaska Railroad dock area and trees.

Ruth A.M. Schmidt papers; 1912-2014. HMC-0792. Ruth Schmidt was an Alaskan geologist. Her collection includes photographs taken of Seward after the earthquake.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website