All Guides: Kodiak-related archival collections: Home

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation

Alaskan leadership

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage Community Councils

Anchorage history

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline

Capital move

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992)

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area

Homer, Alaska

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting

Kodiak

Labor

Law

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying

Matanuska Colony

Medicine and health

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing

Oral histories

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska

Featured collections

This is not a complete list of all Archives collections related to Kodiak. Some collections with only a small amount of Kodiak material are not included here. Be sure to search the Archives website or contact us if you don’t find the topic you're looking for in the list.

Since some collections are quite large, we recommend reviewing the collection descriptions on the Archives website before your research visit to help you decide where to start. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories, and you can also keyword search all descriptions and inventories using the search box on each page.

Ann Chandonnet papers 1942-2017.
HMC-0085. This collection highlights Ann Fox Chandonnet’s time teaching at Kodiak High School from 1965–1966, reflecting her early connection to Alaska before her career as a poet, author, and journalist.
Civilian construction worker photograph album 1948-1950.
HMC-0678. This collection documents a civilian construction worker’s time on Kodiak from 1948–1949, featuring photographs of military site development, heavy equipment, and fellow workers.
Audrie and Steve Clark photographs Undated An Alaska Historical Society Collection
HMC-1020-AHS.
This collection includes photographs and postcards, featuring aerial views of Kodiak, as well as images of nearby landscapes like Homer Spit, Kachemak Bay, and the Kenai Peninsula.
James R. Denison scrapbook 1942-1944.
HMC-0827. This collection documents James R. Denison’s World War II service in Kodiak through photographs, service records, and memorabilia, highlighting military life, local landscapes, and community events.
Lawrence Eastman photographs circa 1949-1951.
HMC-1050. This collection includes three photograph albums by Larry Eastman, documenting his time aboard the Coast Guard buoy tender Bittersweet in Kodiak, featuring servicemen, ships, ports, and local scenery.
Raymond F. Farwell, Jr. papers 1941-1959.
HMC-0906. This collection includes military papers from U.S. Naval Reserve officer Raymond F. Farwell, Jr., featuring operation orders from Kodiak’s Naval Air Station and other related documents.
George Gelbish photographs circa 1943.
HMC-0715. This collection documents World War II-era naval athletic competitions and recreation in Kodiak, along with images of the Holy Resurrection Russian Orthodox Church after the 1943 fire and repair efforts.
Robert F. Heizer papers 1949-1956.
MC-0136. The collection consists of correspondence, notes, photographs, drafts of manuscripts, and a published article from Dr. Heizer’s study of Koniag Eskimo artifacts of Kodiak Island.
Craig Mishler papers 1933-2021.
HMC-1300. Craig Mishler’s collection, which includes ethnographic research, teaching materials, and multimedia documentation, providing insight into Kodiak’s cultural and ecological history.
Arnold “Ole” Olsen papers 1968-1982
HMC-0399. The materials in this collection are related to a series of lawsuits related to several village corporations in the Kodiak region.
Claude Reagan Jr. papers circa 1942-1945.
HMC-1238. The collection contains a Yellow Cab Company card and photographs of Kodiak, the Aleutians, and the USS Teal.
Matthew M. Rigley, Jr. photograph album 1942-1969.
HMC-0863. This collection provides a personal and military perspective on World War II-era Kodiak through Matthew M. Rigley Jr.’s photographs, correspondence, and memorabilia. Featuring images of Fort Greely, the town of Kodiak, and Kodiak Island’s landscapes, along with personal letters and military documents, it provides a perspective into daily life, military operations, and cultural interactions during the war.
Gordon R. Sterud photograph album 1941-1942.
HMC-0656. This collection offers a visual and historical record of Gordon R. Sterud’s World War II experiences, particularly his time in Kodiak. Featuring photographs, military documents, and memorabilia, it provides insight into military life, training exercises at Buskin Lake, and the role of Fort Greely in the Alaska Defense Command during the war.
Thomas Sampson photograph album 1942-1945.
HMC-0509. This collection documents Thomas Sampson’s World War II service in Kodiak through photographs, maps, and notes, featuring military life, local landmarks, and surrounding landscapes.
Unidentified family photograph album circa 1947-1959.
HMC-0845. The collection consists of a photograph album with black and white photographs depicting family life. A small section of the album can be dated to Kodiak in 1959 as it includes photographs of an Alaska statehood parade in downtown Kodiak.
Unidentified photographer photographs circa 1920-1930.
HMC-1283.
This collection includes nitrate photograph negatives and proof sheets, featuring images of Kodiak, Sitka, and the US Navy Wireless Station on Woody Island, including local buildings, people, and steamships.
Joseph Zonich World War II letter 1943.
HMC-0868. This collection includes a 1943 letter from Seabee Joseph Zonich in Kodiak to his mother, providing a personal account of life on the island during his service.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History

Consortium Library	–
Open Hours -- No ID Required	8am – 6pm
After Hours Study -- UA or APU ID Required	Closed