This is the "Home" page of the "Geography and Environmental Studies collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geography and Environmental Studies collections   Tags: conservation, environment, geography, natural_resources  

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Geography and Environmental Studies. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Last Updated: Nov 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCgescollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Georgraphy and Environmental Studies Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Center for the Environment, Inc. records; 1971-1992.  HMC-0005.  Records of a conservation lobbying organization involved in monitoring environmental and conservation issues in Alaska including air pollution, toxic waste, mining, the Trans-Alaska Pipeline System, oil and gas development, and land use planning.

Alaska Pacific Consolidated Mining Co. Independence Mine records; circa 1930-1987. HMC-0023.  Records of the company that operated Independence Mine at Hatcher Pass, Alaska from 1937 until the mine buildings and lands were turned over to the state in 1980.

Alaska Public Interest Research Group records; 1962-2008.  HMC-0027.  AKPIRG is a non-profit citizens group formed in 1974 by Alaskans in order to meet the need for consumer representation.  Includes legal papers concerning the organization's participation in a lawsuit relating to the Alaska Gas natural gas pipeline.

American Society for Public Administration, Southcentral Alaska Chapter symposium records; 1974.  HMC-0044.  Video recordings and other material from a 1974 symposium entitled “After the Land Use Commission, What?”, which discussed the need to establish a coordinated management system for watersheds, fish and game, recreation, and natural resources in Alaska between federal, state, and local government, and private landowners.

Anchorage Waterways Council records; 1979-1991.  HMC-0393.  Records of a nonprofit organization created to clean up polluted surface water including lakes and creeks within the Municipality of Anchorage.

Arctic Institute of North America, Alaska Chapter records; 1973-1979.  HMC-0061.  Records of the Alaska branch of a joint American-Canadian organization dedicated to developing northern lands with concern for the environment and the quality of life of northern people.

Robert M. August Rampart Canyon Dam project papers; 1964-1973.  HMC-0804.  Papers of a natural resources administrator who participated in an evaluation of the proposed Rampart Canyon Dam Project in Alaska.  The collection includes August’s  political and governmental history of the dam proposal and related reports, studies, correspondence, and news articles, as well as the four volume report on the project entitled, "Rampart Dam and the Economic Development of Alaska,” among other materials.

Neil Risser Bassett papers; 1940-1991.  HMC-0377.  Bassett worked for the Alaska Office of the U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management (BLM), first as Chief of the Lands Branch (1967-1970) and later as Chief of the Branch of Lands and Minerals (1972-1985) in the Resources Division.  Contains material relating to Bassett’s work with the BLM and his role in mediating the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act.

Brooks Range Trust records; 1972-1982.  HMC-0076.  Records of an organization created in 1971 to commemorate the life of mountaineer Hans van der Laan and to promote understanding and support for protecting the Brooks Range in Alaska. The trust worked toward the establishment of a national park in the Brooks Range and also gave money to other conservation organizations working on behalf of wild Alaska and Brooks Range protection.

Oliver T. Edwards papers; 1934-1940.  HMC-0105.  Papers of Alaska wildlife manager Oliver T. Edwards, who worked for the U.S. Forest Service in Alaska in 1939 and 1940 charting bear migrations, taking a census of elk populations, and photographing mountain sheep and goats.. The collection includes reports on wildlife, fur farms, and fish, as well as photographs and 16mm motion picture film of Alaskan animals, plant life, marine mammals, and fish.

Greenpeace Alaska. Alaska Field Office newsletters and reports; 1980.  EPH-0009.  Includes copies of the newsletter "Sourceline" for October/November 1980; a report prepared by Greenpeace concerning oil drilling in the Beaufort Sea; a report on regulations to protect humpback whales in Glacier Bay National Monument; instructions for whale watching; and an information sheet on aerial wolf hunting.

David M. Hickok papers; 1923-1992.  HMC-0408.  Papers of an Alaska natural resources officer who served as natural resources planning officer for the Federal Field Committee for Development Planning in Alaska (1966-1970) and director of the Arctic Environmental Information and Data Center at University of Alaska (1972-1988), among many other positions.  The collection contains material on the d(2) clause (also known as “D-2”) in the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, which required the federal government to identify national interests lands in Alaska.

“Indivisible: stories of American communities” Alaskan fishing communities records; 1999-2001.  HMC-0507.  Interviews and photographs collected for a documentary by the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University in conjunction with the University of Arizona's Center for Creative Photography (CCP).  Includes interviews with fishers and those involved in related work in Kodiak, Spruce Bay Old Harbor, Yakutat, Fairbanks, Sitka, Unalaska, Homer, Anchorage, and Cordova.

KTOO-FM Radio Exxon Valdez oil spill public radio news coverage audiocassettes; 1989.  HMC-0369.  164 audiocassette recordings of news coverage of the 1989 oil spill by KSKA Anchorage, KCHU Valdez, KTOO Juneau, the Alaska Public Radio Network, and National Public Radio.

National Audubon Society, Alaska chapter regional office subject files; 1970-1981.  HMC-0185. Correspondence, speeches, press releases, legislation, reports, newspaper clippings, and other materials relating to clause d(2) (also known as “D-2”) in the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, which required the federal government to identify national interests lands in Alaska.

North Slope Borough “Alaska Today” recordings; undatedHMC-0189.  Two audiocassette recordings of a radio program entitled "Alaska Today," produced by the North Slope Borough and the first in a series of environmental education programs which discussed issues and problems affecting Alaskan natives.

John R. “Jack” Roderick papers; 1900-2002HMC-0547.  Roderick was a writer, businessman, and lawyer who was involved with oil explorations in Alaska and served as Deputy Commissioner of the Alaska State Department of Natural Resources (1976-1978), Alaska State Energy Director, and member of the Royalty Oil and Gas Development Advisory Board (1984-1985).  The collection contains personal and professional papers concerning his research and writings on the history of oil resource development in Alaska.

Strandberg Mines, Inc. records; 1937-1967.  HMC-0359.  Records of the business operations of Strandberg and Sons Inc. and Strandberg Mines, Inc., who operated mining operations at Eureka, Folger, Prospect Creek, Bishop Creek, Candle, Bonanza Creek, Ruby, and various other places throughout Alaska until the early 1960s.

UAA. Arctic Environmental Information and Data Center subject photographs; undated.  UAA-0085.  Photographs collected by the Center that document Alaska history, geography, climate, and fauna. Most of the photos are duplicates obtained from other organizations and repositories. 

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip