Skip to main content

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

A guide featuring archives collections with materials related to fishing, fisheries, and canneries.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women in Alaska collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Collections

Below are examples of collections in the Consortium Library's Archives and Special Collections, with information related to fishing, fisheries, and canneries in Alaska. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Center for the Environment records; 1909-1992. hmc-0005. Records of a non-profit environmental organization based in Anchorage. The collection contains a fisheries subject file.

Alaska online: conversations with Red Boucher videocassettes; 1994-2003. hmc-0510. Episodes of weekly statewide public affairs program featuring interviews with prominent Alaskans. Guests of the show include: Pat Simpson, President of Alaska Scientific Fisheries; Tom Morphet, Executive Director of the United Fishermen of Alaska, who talked about fisheries in Alaska; and Laine Welch and Vince Curry who talked about Alaska’s pollock fishery.

Alaska Historical Society records; 1967-2012.  hmc-0014. Records of historical society that promote research and sharing of the history of Alaska. Contain presentation and fishing photographs.

Alaska's Japanese Pioneers Research Project records; 1990-1991, 1994. hmc-0374. Project records and interviews documenting Japanese pioneers in Alaska. Japanese pioneers’ experience working in the canneries.

Alaska Public Interest Research Group (AKPIRG) records; 1962-2008. hmc-0027. Contains research files related to canneries in Kodiak and cannery workers in general.

American Can Company. “Alaska’s Silver Millions.” Motion Picture Film; 1936. hmc-0726. Film about Alaska and the salmon fishing industry. Narrated by Father Bernard Hubbard.

Anchorage Waterways Council records; 1979-1991. hmc-0393. Records of a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting and restoring Anchorage’s waterways and wetlands. Contains information related to fisheries in Anchorage.

Anonymous Emards Cannery Employee photograph album; 1945. hmc-0916. The young woman who created this album (her first name was Ann) worked at Emards Cannery in Anchorage in 1945.

Anonymous English Sportsman photographs; 1912. hmc-0698. Photographs of a sport fishing party in Southeast Alaska.

Anonymous Kenai peninsula tourist and sportsman photograph album; 1948. hmc-0908. Photographs of fishing in Alaska.

Winton C. Arnold papers; 1949-1983. hmc-0376. Papers of a leading spokesperson for the Alaska Salmon Industry.

Robert M. August Rampart Canyon Dam Project Papers; 1963-1973. hmc-0804. Papers and reports related to an evaluation of the Rampart Canyon Dam Project. Contains draft report of “Fisheries on the Yukon” by Justin W. Leonard.

Bill Bacon photograph files; 1940-1990. hmc-0991. Photographs, color slides, and subject files of Alaskan photographer and filmmaker. Contains photographic materials and subject files related to fishing in Alaska.

Neil R. Bassett papers; 1940-1991. hmc-0377. Bureau of Land Management official involved with Alaska land issues. Fisheries related pubs and files.

Dorothy and Grenold Collins papers; 1900-2002. hmc-0422. Alaskan bush pilot, sportsman, and his wife. The collection contains publications related to sports fishing and fisheries.

Community Enterprise Development Corporation of Alaska records; 1968-1980. hmc-0091. In its first year of operation, 1969, it became an independent, nonprofit organization. CEDC provided assistance to many community-owned businesses and industries in rural Alaska like fishing. Includes files related to Alaska Fisheries Development Federation and Karluk Fish Co-Operative.

Tom Faraday scrapbook; 1939-1940. hmc-0611. Photographs, clippings, and memorabilia of junior ambassador to Alaska. Includes photographs of canneries at Bella Bella and Butedale.

Donald T. Griffith family films; 1948-1969. hmc-1058. Home movies and documentary created by Bureau of Land Management land planner. The collection contains film footage of fishing and canning fish.

Walter Eugene Guess papers; 1960-1975. hmc-0366. Guess was an Alaskan legislator. Included in his papers are records related to fisheries legislation.

Indivisible:  Stories of American Community  Alaskan fishing communities records; 1999-2001. hmc-0507. The collection contains interviews with members of the Alaska fishing community. A majority of the interviewees are commercial fishermen from various areas in Alaska.  

Otte Conrad Johnson photographs; 1915, 1930. hmc-0791. Alaska Packers Association employee who worked at the fishing station at Kvichak.

Washington D. Lacabanne letters; 1931. hmc-0670. Nushagak cannery employee.

Loman and Hanford photographs; 1910-1920. EPH-0144. Photograph album produced by a noted Alaskan photography firm. Contains photographs of various canneries and one photograph of ladies at a swimming contest at Hoonah Cannery.

Alan G. May papers; 1902-1990. hmc-0690. Papers, photographs, and journals of an amateur archeologist who participated in expeditions to the Aleutian Islands from 1936-1940. Contains photographs of canneries in Kodiak.

Thomas A. Morehouse papers; 1967-1994. Hmc-0410. Papers of University of Alaska Anchorage Professor Emeritus in political science and former deputy director of Alaska’s Division of Policy Development and Planning. Contains research data and interviews related to fisheries in Alaska and Canada. Topics include fisheries management and limited entry fisheries research files and interviews with fishermen.

Fred Odlin letters; 1934-1937. hmc-0644. Crew member of the Alaska Steamship Company's S.S. Curacao which delivered cannery workers to Alaska.

Thomas Sexton photographs and negatives; ca. 1900-1929. hmc-0219. The collection contains photos of Alaska Natives fishing and processing fish.

Helen Stevens papers and photographs; 1897-1951. hmc-0761. Papers, publications and photographs of woman who worked as a reporter for the Alaska Railroad. The collection contains photographs of the Metlakatla cannery and purse-seiner fishing boats.

John Strohmeyer papers; 1946-2007. hmc-1073. Papers of John Strohmeyer documenting his work as a journalist and author. Contains drafts and research related to Strohmeyer’s manuscript, Empty Nests: Fish, Avarice, and Politics, that investigated the state of fisheries in waters around the United States.

Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1954-1997. hmc-0467. The papers of an Alaskan senator, gubernatorial candidate, and individual involved in many civic activities. The collection contains records related to fisheries legislation.

Elaine and Hobert Sullivan slides; circa 1941-1975. hmc-0858. Photographic slides primarily documenting Southeast and Southcentral Alaska. Contains slides of commercial fishing for cod, a fish hatchery building, and of the New England Cannery.

Thirteenth Regional Corporation records; 1971-1992. hmc-0390. Regional corporation for Alaska Natives living outside of Alaska. Includes records related to Transalaska Fisheries Corp. and Fishing Ventures.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page