All Guides: United States. Air Force in Alaska archival collections: Home

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation

Alaskan leadership

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline

Capital move

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992)

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area

Homer, Alaska

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting

Labor

Law

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying

Matanuska Colony

Medicine and health

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing

Oral histories

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska

Collections

This guide contains information about collections related to the United States Air Force in Alaska. During World War II, Alaska became the Air defense of Alaska protecting America on the Pacific coast. Post World War II in 1947, the United States Army Air Force was reduced and a new branch of the United States Military, the United States Air Force, was born. This guide lists collections related to both the U.S. Army Air Force during World War II, such as the and the later United States Air Force.

Please note that this guide may not be comprehensive, and there may be material related to the Air Force in Collections not listed here. We suggest using this guide as a starting point for your research and combine it with searching our website.

Alascom, Inc. White Alice Communications System Boswell Bay Station records. 1955-1985
This collection includes documentation—technical and otherwise—relating to the construction and operation of a White Alice site. WACS (White Alice Communications System) linked the AC&W (Aircraft Control and Warning System) and the Distant Early Warning System (DEW-line) with Elmendorf and Eielson Air Force Bases.
Alaska At War symposium records. 1992-1996
An international conference on World War II in Alaska, northwest Canada, and the North Pacific region was held in Anchorage by the Alaska at War organization in November 1993, as part of a commemoration of the war. Alaska at War was a nonprofit association which was formed in 1992; it grew out of the Alaskan Command’s World War II Commemoration Committee on Elmendorf Air Force Base. Included within this collection are materials about World War II in Alaska.
Albert and Patricia Aiken papers. 1940-1945, 1991
Albert Aiken was born in Baltimore, Maryland in 1917. He attended the University of Maryland at College Park, learning to fly at both the College Park and Schrom airports. In 1940, he enlisted as a flying cadet in the US Army Air Corps. Aiken was assigned to a pursuit squadron of P-40 fighters, serving in the Aleutians for two years. For his service in World War II, Aiken was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross and Air Medal. There is a scrapbook, photographs, and an account of life on the home front during World War II within this collection.
Atwood family papers. 1906-2003
The Atwood family owned and ran the largest newspaper in the state, the Anchorage Times, from 1935-1989. Included within the Collection is Bob’s Atwood’s press pass for President Richard Nixon’s visit to Elmendorf Air Force Base on February 28, 1972. There are also documents of professional papers including correspondence, papers relating to the 11th Air Force and his role as a military liaison and other professional activities, and a copy of an Alaska Methodist University speech he gave in 1996. Included within the documents is a U.S. Air Force award folder from the Air War College with a course completion certificate for Elaine Atwood, and photographs of her after a ride in an F-15 fighter plane.
John W. Albright World War II photograph album. circa 1942-1944
John William Albright was an enlisted soldier in the Eleventh Air Force of the United States Army Air Force during World War II. He was initially trained at Drew Field, Tampa, Florida. Albright was transferred to Camp Murray, Washington, in preparation for stationing in Alaska. He served at Elmendorf Field on Fort Richardson in Anchorage, and at Adak Army Airfield in the Aleutian Islands. The collection consists of an album of photographs relating to John W. Albright’s military service during World War II.
James H. Arvanites papers. 1943-1945
James H. Arvanites was born in Goshen, New York in 1921. He served in the Air Force in Alaska as an armorer in the 18th Fighter Squadron between March 1943 and August 1945. The collection consists of photographic prints taken and collected by James Arvanites. Most of the photographs are labeled as having been taken on Attu, some are from Amchitka and a few from Anchorage. The photographs depict other servicemen, living quarters, recreation, airplanes, and ships.
Eugene C. Baker photographs. undated, 1942-1943
Eugene C. Baker was born in Missouri Valley, Iowa in 1917 and raised in Omaha, Nebraska. In 1941, he was drafted into the Army and was part of the original landing operation on Adak by the U.S. Army and U.S. Army Air Force in 1942. He served as a radar operator on Adak until November 1944 when he went home to Omaha on furlough. The collection consists of photographic prints taken or collected by Eugene C. Baker while stationed in Alaska during World War II.
Hal Beery photographs. undated, 1942
Harold F. “Hal” Beery was born in Salem, Iowa in 1917. He enlisted in the U.S. Army Air Corps in 1940. Beery served with the 404th Bombardment Squadron as a B-24 aircraft commander, and in 1943 was awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross for flying 40 bombing missions in the Aleutian Islands. He continued his military career, serving as a B-29 aircraft commander during the Korean War, and retired from the Air Force in 1968. In his collection are Photographs of Beery with 404th Bombardment Squadron who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Ted Buszek photographs. undated, 1943-1986
Thaddeus C. Buszek was born in Michigan in 1922. He enlisted in the U.S. Army Air Corps in 1942. From 1944 to 1945 Buszek served as a pilot with the 404th Bombardment Squadron on Shemya in the Aleutian Islands. In August 1944, he was the co-pilot on a mission that was forced to land on the small island of Ilak because of inclement weather on Shemya. Within this collection are photographs of a member of the 404th Bombardment Squadron, who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Robert Brown Jr. papers. 1972-1975
Robert Brown Jr. was born April 8, 1949 in San Antonio, Texas. He achieved a “7” level Ground Radio skill and Staff Sergeant rank in the US Air Force before signing on to ITT-ASI (ITT Arctic Services Inc.). Following training in Port Heiden, he was assigned to the Northeast Cape Air Force Station. After 8 months, he qualified for an opening at a major 4A switching site, Kalakaket Creek, and later at Pedro Dome, another major 4A switching site. After WACS started a closure process, with sites going to RCA Alascom, Mr. Brown attended Fresno State College. The collection contains materials related to Mr. Brown’s work on the White Alice Communications System.
John J. Cape, Jr. papers. 1941-1942, 1944
John Jarvis Cape, Jr. was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, in 1918. He enlisted in the U. S. Army Air Corps as an aviation cadet at New York, New York, on February 7, 1941. Cape served in the 11th Fighter Squadron in the Aleutian Islands under Major John S. Chennault. On June 4, 1942, while flying in a routine patrol near Dutch Harbor which came under enemy attack, he was killed in action while coming to the aid of a fellow flier who survived a crash landing. John J. Cape, Jr. was awarded the Posthumous Distinguished Flying Cross on August 1, 1942. Within this collection are papers of an 11th Fighter Squadron pilot killed in action near Dutch Harbor.
William O.L. Chinn photographs. 1951-1973
William O.L. Chinn was an architect with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Alaska District, in Anchorage, from approximately 1951 to 1973. He died in Sonoma, California, in 1999. The photographs document travel for recreation and work in Alaska and Canada, including United States Air Force bases Elmendorf and Eielson. Within this collection are work and travel photographs of an architect with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Alaska District.
Walter W. Cummings papers. 1939-1945
Walter W. Cummings was from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He enlisted in the U. S. Army at Philadelphia on January 22, 1943, and trained at the radio school at Camp Croft, South Carolina, as a member of Company B, 26th Battalion, 8th Infantry Training Regiment. Cummings later served in the Army Air Forces at Fort Mears in Dutch Harbor, Alaska. Walter Cummings died in Wallingford, Pennsylvania, in 2000. Within this collection is a photograph album and papers of a U.S. Army Air Forces soldier stationed in Dutch Harbor during World War II.
Bruce R. Douglas photographs. 1942-1944
Bruce R. Douglas was from Attleboro, Massachusetts. During World War II, he served in the U. S. Army as an airplane mechanic for the 11th Air Force and was stationed at Fort Richardson in Anchorage, Alaska. After the war, Douglas was employed by the Foxboro Company in Massachusetts. This collection contains photographs from an 11th Air Force airplane mechanic stationed at Fort Richardson.
Donald V. Eckman photographs. 1941-1946
Donald V. Eckman served in the U. S. Army Air Corps at Ladd Air Force Base during World War II. The collection consists of photographs and postcards presumably taken by and collected by Don Eckman while stationed at Ladd and traveling around Alaska.
Eleventh Air Force Reunion. World War II History Project records, 1940-1990
This Collection contains documents such as administration files that contain lists of those who participated in group interviews, gave interviews, and what was on the pre-interview questionnaires. The documents pertain to the history of the 11th Air Force and the 51st through to the 58th fighter squadrons. Within the collection are some non-digitized photographs that were obtained during the World War II History project within the Collection.
Eleventh Air Force Association records. 1942-2001
This collection consists of records of the Eleventh Air Force Association, including newsletters, reunion records, correspondence, and photographs.
Gerald Flynn photographs. undated, 1942-1945
Gerald Flynn was a member of the United States Army, Eleventh Air Force, 54th Fighter Squadron, during World War II. He was stationed on Attu for over two years during the war. The collection consists of World War II era photographs collected by Eleventh Air Force veteran Gerald Flynn. There are 17 black and white photographic prints of aerial combat, aircraft, airfield facilities, and aerial views.
Henry K. “Hank” Frese papers. 1942-2003
Henry K. “Hank” Frese was born in New Jersey in 1922. He worked as a draftsman for the Manhattan Project at Princeton University before enlisting in the U. S. Army in February 1943. He served at Shemya Air Base from December 1944 to March 1946, where he worked as a photographic laboratory technician and aerial photographer. Included within the collection are Photographs taken by Frese of Air Force events.
Harold G. Forster photograph album. 1942-1945
Harold G. Forster was born in Ohio in 1911. He enlisted in the U.S. Army at Cincinnati, Ohio on September 26, 1942. Forster served in the Ordnance Department, Eleventh Air Force at Elmendorf Field on Fort Richardson in Anchorage from 1943 to 1944. His unit worked at various airfields, including those at Naknek, Yakutat, Kodiak and Cordova. In this collection is a photograph album of an Eleventh Air Force soldier who served in the Ordinance Department at Elmendorf Field.
Frank C. Fox photographs. 1946-1993
Frank C. Fox was an officer and helicopter pilot in the United States Air Force. Fox retired from the U. S. Air Force with the rank of major in 1968. The collection consists of the aviation photographs of U. S. Air Force officer and helicopter pilot, Frank C. Fox throughout his career. Also included are aerial photographs of damage from the Alaska earthquake of 1964, as well as photographs of various military helicopters and airplanes.
Marie and Ralph George papers. 1916-2004
Ralph Clinton George was born in Greensburg, Pennsylvania, in 1916. During World War II, he served in the U. S. Army Signal Corps. In 1954, he moved to Anchorage, Alaska, to develop a radar maintenance shop for General Electric Co. on Elmendorf Air Force Base. In 1960, he moved to Nenana to supervise the installation of the Ballistic Missile Early Warning System (BMEWS) radar and scanner at Clear Air Force Base, and was a maintenance analyst for RCA. In their collection are papers of long-time Anchorage residents.
George L. Glotzbach papers. 1952, 1956-1957
George Glotzbach was stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base from 1956-1957. He was the Officer-in-Charge of the Alaskan Air Command’s Anchorage Courier Transfer Station. Glotzbach was a first lieutenant during his time in Alaska, and traveled to Nome, Fairbanks, St. Lawrence Island, and Unalakleet. This collection is mostly photographic images of various locations in Alaska.
Earl George Goodwin papers. 1951-1973
Earl George Goodwin was an officer in the United States Air Force (USAF). He served in the armed forces during World War II. Goodwin was stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base (AFB) from 1951 to 1954. He was a captain and then major with the 5039th Air Transport Group. While at Elmendorf, Goodwin was officer-in-charge of the 5039th’s Instrument and Transition School (1951-1952), and then operations staff officer in the J-3 Division, Headquarters, Alaska Air Command. He later attained the rank of colonel. Edwin G. Goodwin died in Hardlingen, Texas, in 1973. The collection consists of photocopied papers and original photographs of USAF officer Earl George Goodwin.
Herbert G. Jill letter. 1950 October 30
Herbert Jill was a captain in the U.S. Army. He was stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base in 1950. He had previously been stationed at Camp Kilmer, a staging area for east coast ports near New Brunswick, New Jersey. Rose Jill, his wife, had been a Lieutenant in the Air Force until 1949 and joined Herbert in Anchorage in March of 1950. This collection is a letter written by a U.S. Army captain stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base.
Charles David Lee papers. 1940-1945
Charles David Lee was from Montgomery, Alabama. He was a soldier with the Eleventh Air Force during World War II, and was stationed for a time at Adak Army Airfield. Lee was possibly a civil engineer involved in designing and building aircraft facilities such as landing strips. Within this collection are papers of a soldier with the Eleventh Air Force who served at Adak.
John F. Lhotka, Jr. papers. 1942-1946
John F. Lhotka was born in Butte, Montana, in 1921. After working as a chemist, he joined the U.S. Army Chemical Warfare Service as an officer on June 17, 1942. Lhotka served in Alaska in the 11th Air Force, 39th Air Defense Group, Headquarters and Headquarters Squadron at Fort Richardson and Adak Army Air Field. He also took part in the Northern Kuril Air Offensive, and received American Campaign and World War II Victory medals. In this collection are papers and photographs of a Chemical Warfare Service officer who served at Fort Richardson and Adak Army Air Field.
Howard and Mabel Jonish papers. 1910-1989
Howard and Mabel Jonish first came to Alaska in the early 1940s. Howard Jonish was a construction engineer with the U.S. Army Engineer District, Alaska, from 1944 to 1965. He was project engineer at Nome (1944-1950), Cape Lisburne (1951-1953), Sparrevohn Air Force Base (1957-1958), and Driftwood Bay DEW Line Extension (1958-1959). He was also resident engineer at Ladd-Eielson Air Force Base (1953-1957), Clear BMEWS (1959), Fort Greely (1960, 1962), and Fort Wainright (1963-1965). Within this collection are papers, photographs, and writings of an Alaskan couple.
John Macomber photographs. circa 1943-1996
John Macomber of Kitty Hawk, North Carolina served in the Eleventh Air Force in Alaska during World War II. He and his wife, Doris, were married in 1946.This collection contains 12 photographs originally belonging to James M. Graham, also a member of the Eleventh Air Force, and depict Macomber while he was stationed in Anchorage in 1943, the co-op building at Palmer, and other servicemen and women.
Lawrence E. Marx photographs. 1942-1943
Lawrence Marx is a World War II veteran from Flint, Michigan. He is a former president of the Eleventh Air Force Association. Marx served at Nome Air Base, also called Marks Field, during the war. The collection consists of photographs of Nome Air Base during World War II. The collection contains 19 black and white prints, 17 of which are official U. S. Army Air Force photographs.
Christine M. McClain papers. 1907-1992
Christine McClain was a journalist for the Army Signal Corps (ACS), during World War II, before she transferred to Alaska and she became a freelance writer for Newsweek magazine during the oil boom in Alaska. McClain wrote several articles on what the Air Force did in Alaska. This collection includes papers, writings, and photographs of an Anchorage-area freelance journalist.
William F. McDowell papers. 1961-1972
William F. McDowell was a civil service engineer at Elmendorf Air Force Base from the late 1950s into the 1970s. The collection consists primarily of photographs of White Alice Communications System (WACS) sites across Alaska. Most of the photographs are official U.S. Air Force photographs.
Thomas J. Merrick World War II papers. 1944-1945
Thomas J. Merrick was from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. During World War II, he enlisted in the U.S. Naval Reserve and served as a crew member on naval aircraft of Patrol Bombing Squadron Forty Three, Air Force, U.S. Pacific fleet. He served in Alaska and the Aleutian Islands from October 1944 to May 1945. This collection has records relating to an airman’s service in the military.
Frederick A. Milan papers. circa 1870-1995
Frederick A. Milan was born in 1924 and grew up in Waltham, Massachusetts. In 1948, he enrolled at the University of Alaska, where he received a B.A. in anthropology and linguistics in 1952. In 1959, he received an M.S. in anthropology from the University of Wisconsin Madison. Milan studied the effects of cold exposure, first at the U.S. Air Force Arctic Aeromedical Laboratory (where he also participated in the Mount Wrangell Research Project in 1954) and at the International Geophysical Year Little America Base in Antarctica in 1956-1957. Within this collection are films of Milan’s research and experiments for pilots in cold weather environments.
Leland A. Olson papers. 1955-1961
Leland A. Olson was born in March 1908 in Boyceville, Wisconsin. He majored in engineering at the University of Minnesota. In 1955, he applied for and received secret clearance for the Defense Projects Division of the U.S. Air Force. He worked as a surveyor for the White Alice project, primarily on-site selection and surveying. This collection is mostly 35 mm slides related to Mr. Olson’s work as a surveyor for the White Alice sites.
John Potter papers. 1942-1945
John Potter joined the U.S. Air Force in Iowa in 1942. He was assigned to the 337th Service Group at Elmendorf Air Force Base in August, 1942, and transferred to Ft. Glenn, Alaska, in September, 1942. He participated in various raids and attacks on Japanese installations in the Aleutians, and in April, 1943, he was awarded the Air Force Air Medal for his actions. John Potter remained in the Air Force until his retirement in 1970. The collection consists of a log of flying times in the Aleutians, as well as official orders, which concern the awarding of the Air Medal to John Potter and others.
Leo Pegloski album. 1944-1945
Leo Pegloski was a U. S. Army soldier who served at Nome Air Base during World War II. He was a member of the 1416th Army Air Force Base Unit, Air Transport Command. The collection consists of the contents of a World War II era photograph album.
Norma M. Purdy papers. 1951-1962
Norma Purdy is from Pittsfield, Massachusetts. From 1952 to 1954, she was a U. S. Air Force nurse stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage. In her collection are papers of a nurse stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base.
George F. Rickey papers. 1943-1945
George F. Rickey was born in Geneva, New York, in 1922. He served in the United States Army Air Force from 1943 to 1946. In 1945, Rickey was a bombadier navigator for the 77th Bombardier Squadron of the Eleventh Air Force, stationed at Adak Army Air Field in the Aleutian. The collection consists of World War II era papers and photographs of bomber navigator George F. Rickey, the papers include xerographic copies of wartime letters and diary entries, and photographs from Rickey’s service on Adak.
Richard C. Rivett papers. 1943-1945
Richard Cameron Rivett was from Sacramento, California. He enlisted in the armed services in 1942, becoming a communications officer with the United States Army Air Corps. Rivett’s main duty stations in Alaska were at Adak Army Airfield and Shemya Island. The collection consists of the World War II service papers of Richard C. Rivett.
James H. Sample photographs. undated, 1945
James H. Sample was born March 7, 1926 in Brawley, California. He entered the United States Air Force in 1943 and served as a pilot in the 404th Bombardment Squadron at Shemya Air Base in the Aleutian Islands from January to October 1945. The collection contains 44 prints depicting airplanes, aerial views of locations in the Aleutians, and scenes of military life on Shemya.
Thomas Shemwell slides. 1953
Images of Elmendorf Air Force Base, Anchorage, and Shemya from 1953. This collection consists of 56 color 35 mm photographic slides. Images include buildings on Elmendorf Air Force Base, Anchorage’s Fur Rendezvous celebration, Anchorage buildings, and a few images from the military base at Shemya.
Manila D. Talley papers. 1919-1990
Manila Carolyn Davis took an interest in aviation while in University and took a Curtis-Wright mechanics course and attended the M.I.T. Guggenheim School of Aeronautics. She joined the Civil Air Patrol in 1941, eventually attaining the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. She also completed the Air Force Officer Candidate Correspondence Course in and the Air War College Correspondence Course. This collection consists of materials pertaining to Manila Talley’s career as a pilot, as well as her personal life.
Benjamin B. Talley papers. 1925-2002
Benjamin Branche Talley was an Engineer who was commissioned into the U. S. Army Corps of Engineers in 1926. He supervised the Army and Air Corps construction in Alaska from 1940-1943. Talley worked with both the United States Army and Army Air Service, which would later become the United States Air Force. He helped in the planning for the landing at Omaha Beach in Normandy, which he also participated in. within the collection is an Air Force interview about Talley’s service in Alaska during World War II. Talley took part in the 11th Air Force Reunion, found within the collection are his documents and correspondence and speeches from different years when the reunion took place.
United States. Air Force. White Alice Communications System. Cathedral and Rabbit Creek site plans. 1956-1961
Site plans for the BMEWS-Route B Cathedral site and the Rabbit Creek Microwave Station are contained within this collection. Included are the architectural, electrical, mechanical, and structural drawings for both sites. The Cathedral BMEWS plans were drawn by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers for the U.S. Air Force.
United States. Air Force. 11th Fighter Squadron photographs. 1945
The Eleventh Fighter Squadron, a unit in the Eleventh Air Force, was assigned to the XIth Fighter Command in June 1942. From September 1942 to August 1946, the squadron was assigned to the 343rd Fighter Group. The collection consists of contact print sheets of pages from a unit photograph album of the Eleventh Fighter Squadron. The collection contains five photographic contact print sheets taken of five different album pages comprised of 92 different photographs.
United States airman slides. 1966-1974
Photos from an Air Force serviceman who served in Vietnam and Alaska. The serviceman who took these slides was a non-commissioned officer, probably by the last name of Farmer. He served with the 460th Tactical Reconnaissance Wing in Vietnam in 1966 to 1967. In 1974 he was a member of the 714th Aircraft Control and Warning Squadron at Cold Bay and Elmendorf Air Force Base in Alaska. The collection contains photos from an Air Force serviceman who served in Vietnam and Alaska.
James F. Vachon papers. 1955-1958
James F. Vachon, born in 1937, was from Fort Wayne, Indiana. He enlisted in the U. S. Army in 1955, and in 1956 Vachon was stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base in Anchorage as a member of Company C, 813th Engineer Battalion (Heavy Construction). He left Alaska in June 1957 and his term of service ended in January 1958. The collection consists of various papers related to James F. Vachon’s service in the U. S. Army from 1955 to 1958.
375th Weather Squadron airman photograph album. 1946, 1948
The U.S. Air Force airman who created this photograph album was an aircraft mechanic with the 375th Weather Squadron who served at Ladd Field, Fairbanks, Alaska, in 1948. He was an aircraft mechanic. The squadron, also known as the 375th Reconnaissance Squadron V.L.R. (Very Long Range) Weather, flew WB-29 aircraft over the North Pole and down to Japan. Within this collection is a photograph album of an airman with the 375th Weather Squadron, who was stationed at Ladd Field in Fairbanks, Alaska.
Wanda A. Wheeler slides. 1964
Wanda Wheeler (née Anderson) was born in 1914 in Idaho. Wheeler moved to Alaska and worked for the Soil Conservation Service in Palmer. The collection contains 35mm slides, most of which were taken by Wanda Wheeler in the aftermath of the 1964 earthquake. The images depict damages to buildings and neighborhoods in Anchorage, including Government Hill and Turnagain, downtown Anchorage and 4th Avenue, Ship Creek and the Alaska Railroad yard, Elmendorf Air Force Base, and houses along 8th Avenue.
Crystal and Ray Williams photograph album. 1947
Ray and Crystal Williams lived in Fairbanks in 1947. They were involved in the construction of runways and other facilities at the 26-Mile airbase near Fairbanks, which was renamed Eielson Air Force Base in 1948. This collection contains a photograph album of a Fairbanks couple involved in construction of 26-Mile airbase (Eielson Air Force Base).
Robert Wickman papers. circa 1944-1945
Captain Robert Wickman served with the 11th Air Force in the Aleutians during World War II. Wickman’s service in the Air force earned him the Air Medal with one Oak Cluster, and the Distinguished Flying Cross. Captain Wickman served in Alaska and the Aleutians from 1944-1945. Photographs and papers of a B-24 pilot in the 404th Bombardment Group, 11th Air Force, who served in the Aleutians. In this collection there are photographs and papers of a B-24 pilot in the 404th Bombardment Group, 11th Air Force, who served in the Aleutians.
Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers. 1898-1999
The collection contains the personal papers, writing files, and photographs of Alaskan journalists and free-lance writers, Betzi and Lyman Woodman. Lyman was an editor for the Air Force Reserved Forces Review. Within this collection are his writings and photographs for the various military branches located within Alaska.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History