African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.
For collections held by other archives, libraries, and museums in Alaska related to the military in Alaska, please visit the guide to military in Alaska primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED).
Albert S. and Patricia Aiken papers; 1940-1945, 1991. hmc-0700. Scrapbook, letters and other papers of a U.S. Army Air Corps fighter pilot and his wife.
Alaska At War symposium records; 1992-1996. hmc-0451. Materials about World War II in Alaska.
C. Earl Albrecht papers; 1905-1996. hmc-0375. During World War II, C. Earl Albrecht was called into active duty and served at Fort Richardson’s 183rd Station Hospital.
John W. Albright World War II photograph album; circa 1942-1944. hmc-0542. Photograph album of soldier in the Eleventh Air Force U.S. Army Air Force during World War II.
Lelon E. Alexander papers; 1940-1997, bulk 1942-1957. hmc-1231. Papers of a soldier who served with the 714th Railway Operating Battalion in Alaska during World War II.
Anchorage Pioneers Oral History Project oral history transcripts; 1992-1995. hmc-0466. Individuals interviewed for this project were people who either lived in the city before 1940 or came to Alaska during or directly after World War II.
Maurice D. Anderson letters; 1943-1945. 0.01 cubic feet. hmc-0821. Letters written by a soldier station at Fort Richardson during World War II.
Kenneth D. Andress reminiscences; 1937-1943. hmc-0058. During his interview, Kenneth D. Andress describes his experiences while stationed at Cold Bay during World War II.
Russell Annabel papers. hmc-0516. United Press war correspondent in Alaska during World War II.
Walter N. Argabright World War II photograph album; 1944-1954. hmc-0599. Employee with Alaska Air Depot at Fort Richardson in 1944-1945.
James H. Arvanites papers; 1943-1945. HMC-1357-AHS. Photographs from a member of the 18th Fighter Squadron stationed in the Aleutians.
Charles W. Arvidson photographs; 1943-1947. hmc-0567. Carpentry foreman on the construction project.
Harry Bailey papers; 1943-1983. hmc-1205. Photographs and papers of a soldier who served with the Army Transport Service in the Aleutians during World War II.
Chester E. Barr scrapbook; 1942-1944. hmc-0495. Soldier in the 131st Signal Radio Intelligence Company who served at Fort Richardson.
Hal Beery photographs; undated, 1942. hmc-1207. Photographs of a pilot with 404th Bombardment Squadron who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
John Carroll Benton papers; 1930-1949. hmc-0645. U.S. Army Coast Artillery officer who served in the Sitka area.
Lester H. Best photographs; undated, 1944. hmc-1206. Photographs of a member of the 77th and 404th Bombardment Squadrons who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Herman Binschus application and permit; 1943. hmc-0612. Application to the Western Defense Command Alaska Travel Control.
B. Black photograph album; 1944-1945. hmc-0582. Photograph album of a woman who worked for the Civil Aeronautics Authority in Anchorage during World War II.
William K. Boardman papers; 1940-1985. hmc-0072. Personal and business papers of a former speaker of the house in the Alaska Legislature. During World War II, he joined the U.S. Coast guard.
Eldon B. Bonnet papers; 1942-1989. hmc-1208. Papers and photographs of a member of the 400th Base Headquaters and Air Base Squadron, who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Walter D. Bradshaw scrapbook; 1942-1943. hmc-0974. Scrap book of Army soldier stationed at Umnak and Attu.
Robert E. Brennan letters; 1942. hmc-0962. Letters of a U.S. Army Corps of Engineer soldier who worked on the Alaska Highway.
George K. "Steve" Brodie papers; 1934-1941. hmc-0378. Papers and photographs of an officer in the U. S. Navy in Kodiak in 1938 and was in Samoa in 1941.
David K. Brown. Photographs and Papers; 1942-1981, 2002. hmc-0658. Army and career federal government engineer who worked on the Whittier Tunnel.
Robert H. Brown photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-1239. Panorama and other photographs of Dutch Harbor, Unalaska, and Attu taken during WWII.
William Burnett letter; 1941. hmc-0811. 73rd Bombardment Squadron soldier stationed at Elmendorf Field.
Joseph J. Burgess photographs; circa 1943-1945. hmc-1230. Photographs of a lieutenant in the 714th Railway Operating Battalion who served in Alaska during World War II.
Benedict Burvainis papers; 1939-1945, 1958. hmc-0624. Photographs and papers of a Transportation Corps soldier who served at Adak Army Air Field during World War II.
Ted Buszek photographs; undated, 1943-1986. hmc-1209. Photographs of a member of the 404th Bombardment Squadron, who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Louis A. Campi scrapbook; 1941-1952. hmc-0545. Papers, service patches, and photographs of soldier who served in the Service Co., 53rd Infantry Reg., at Adak.
John J. Cape World War II papers; 1941-1942, 1944. hmc-0812. 11th Fighter Squadron pilot killed in action near Dutch Harbor.
Cesare Carlucci. World War II Papers; ca. 1943-1945. hmc-0083. Primarily photographs of soldier in the 18th Engineers, U. S. Army.
Dolores Christophel scrapbook; 1941-1944. 0.5 cubic feet. hmc-1129. Scrapbook documenting a soldier’s service with the 138th Infantry in the Aleutians during World War II.
Clement H. Clower papers; 1939-1993, bulk 1939-1946. hmc-0566. Primarily photograph albums of a man who served with the 264th Separate Coast Artillery Battalion at Dutch Harbor during World War II.
Coast Artillery soldier. photographs; undated, 1941. hmc-0578. Photos of a cook with the 75th Coast Artillery, stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II.
Kenneth T. Combs letters; 1943. hmc-0815. Letters of a U. S. Army soldier stationed at Shemya Island.
Levi Whitner Cook papers; 1938-1961. hmc-0767. Papers of a soldier in the 102nd Signal Radio Intelligence Co. stationed at Fort Richardson.
Louise Copeland letters; 1943-1944. hmc-0765. Letters of a woman who worked for a U. S. Army engineering unit stationed at Ladd Field in Fairbanks.
Leon Crane photographs; 1943. hmc-0093. Photographs of an Army Air Corps serviceman.
Lucy Hon Cuddy papers; 1925-1946, 1979. hmc-0095. Alaskan school teacher and wife of a prominent banker who relates in her diary the experience of losing her son, David, in World War II.
Donald F. Culver papers; 1942-2008. hmc-1211. Papers and photographs of a man who worked on the construction of the ALCAN Highway for the U.S. Army.
Walter W. Cummings papers; 1939-1945. hmc-0951. Army Air Forces soldier who served at Fort Mears in Dutch Harbor.
James W. Cunningham scrapbook; 1942-1945. hmc-0911. 78th Coast Artillery (Anti-aircraft) soldier who served on Attu Island.
Duane George Darling papers; circa 1942-1946. hmc-1101. Documents related to a serviceman at the U.S. Naval Operating Base at Dutch Harbor.
Lawrence M. Demers photograph album; 1929-1944. hmc-0748. Civil Aeronautics Authority construction worker at Galena from 1939 to 1944.
James R. Denison scrapbook; 1942-1944. hmc-0827. Scrapbook of a man who served on Kodiak Island during World War II.
Barth Dolezal photograph album; 1943-1944. hmc-0940. Employee of the engineering section of the Northwest Division of the U.S.E.D. in Edmonton, Alberta, during World War II.
Bruce R. Douglas photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0756. 11th Air Force airplane mechanic stationed at Fort Richardson.
Russ Dow papers; 1917-1992. hmc-0396. Papers and photographs of an Alaskan heavy equipment operator and photographer. He was also a ski instructor for the U.S. Army at Fort Richardson from 1940-1945.
Rusty Dow papers; 1886-1989. hmc-0397. Papers and photographs of an Alaskan artist and drayage operator. During World War II, Rusty Dow was a driver for the Quartermaster Corps, Colonel Benjamin Talley of the Army Engineers Area Office, and General Simon Buckner, all at Fort Richardson.
Keith Egan photograph album; 1941-1962. hmc-0605. Soldier in the 75th Coast Artillery, stationed at Fort Richardson.
Otto W. Eggerman scrapbook; circa 1943. hmc-0523. Soldier of Company F, 2nd Battalion, 58th Infantry Regiment, stationed in Alaska.
Eleventh Air Force Association newsletter files; 1989-2001. hmc-0558. The Eleventh Air Force Association was created to perpetuate the history of the 11th Air Force in World War II. This collection contains newsletters and newsletter preparation files from a military veterans association.
Eleventh Air Force Reunion. World War II history project records; 1940-1990. hmc-0365. The collection contains oral history interviews, materials given to the project by veterans, and the project’s records.
Raymond F. Farwell, Jr. papers; 1941-1959. 0.45 cubic feet. hmc-0906. Papers of U.S. Navy officer who served in Alaska during World War II.
Thelma Fetters scrapbook; 1942-1943. hmc-0485. War related clippings and Anchorage photographs.
Howard L. and Willoughby Filer papers; 1937-1985. hmc-0476. Construction worker for the U.S. Army in Alaska during World War II.
Gerald T. Flynn photographs; 1942-1945. hmc-0594. Soldier who served with the 54th Fighter Squadron, 11th Air Force, at Attu Island.
Harold G. Forster photograph album; 1942-1945. hmc-0864. Eleventh Air Force soldier who served in the Ordinance Department at Elmendorf Field.
Andy Fossum papers; 1941-1945. hmc-0521. Letters and photos of U. S. Army Corps of Engineers soldier stationed at Fort Raymond in Seward.
William H. Francis photograph album; undated, 1941-1942. hmc-0943. Photograph album of a U. S. Army Air Corps officer who served in the Aleutians with 343rd Fighter Group.
Henry K. "Hank" Frese papers ; 1942-2003. hmc-0862. Photographic technician and aerial photographer who served at Shemya Air Base.
George Gelbish photographs; circa 1943. hmc-0715. Navy athletic competition at Kodiak and fire damage to Holy Resurrection Church.
Ralph H. Gilmore photograph album; undated, 1941-1961. hmc-0739. Soldier in the 1st Battalion, 4th Infantry Regiment, who served in Alaska.
Going to Adak by Transport account; undated. hmc-1157. WWII soldier’s account of life on a transport ship.
Burton J. Good photographs; 1943-1993. hmc-1210. Photographs of a pilot with the 344th and 11th Fighter Squadrons who served in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Charles A. Goodspeed scrapbook; 1922-1945. hmc-0817. U.S. Navy intelligence officer in the 7th Fleet who was stationed in Juneau and Sitka.
Arnold E. Grahl letter; 1945 February 9. hmc-0755. Letter written by a serviceman at Ft. Richardson to his wife in New Jersey.
Otto K. Gralert papers; 1942-1945. hmc-0550. Papers, artifacts, and photographs of a clerk with the 179th Station Hospital on Adak.
Deloise W. Graves papers; 1942-1945, 1963. hmc-0543. U.S. Army soldier in a quartermaster unit stationed at Adak.
Hans And Margaret Hafemeister papers; 1943-1995. hmc-0126. Hans Hafemeister's diaries chronicle his experiences on the Aleutian Island of Kiska during World War II, his life in Seward, and his travels.
Vincent E. Hagen photograph album. hmc-1067-AHS. Photographs taken by a U.S. Army Signal Corps corporal who served in Alaska during World War II.
J. D. Hanson photographs; 1941-1943. hmc-0866. Photographs of a seaman on the U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Aurora in Alaska waters during the war.
J. B. Harper photograph album; circa 1944-1945. hmc-0592. The collection consists of J. B. "Georgia" Harper's photograph album and related papers concerning the construction of an aircraft runway at Galena Army Airbase during World War II.
Richard Holmes Hazard papers; 1943-1944. hmc-0544. Papers and photos relating to his service in the United State Navy during the war.
John Andrew Higgins papers; 1914-1950, bulk 1942-1946. hmc-0538. Scrapbook with photos of a U.S. Navy Seabee who worked in Whitehorse in 1945.
Herb Hilscher papers; 1905-1996. hmc-1001. During World War II, he served in the Office of Strategic Services in the Aleutians.
Elmer H. Hoode scrapbook; 1943. hmc-0568. U.S. Marine stationed at Dutch Harbor.
Arthur W. Hope papers; 1944. hmc-0790. Allison Engines employee who visited Alaska concerning Lend-Lease aircraft for Russia.
Lois A. Hornberger. World War II Photograph Album; 1943. hmc-0730. Album of apparent nurse who worked in Nome.
Wesley Housman photographs; 1937-1945. hmc-0533. Personal photograph albums of soldier who served on Adak Island during World War II.
William R. Howerton World War II photographs. hmc-1097. Photographs taken by a soldier during his time in Seward.
James B. Hoxie scrapbook; 1944-1945. hmc-0713. Scrapbook of a U.S. Army Signal Corps soldier who served in Seward and Fairbanks.
George E. Jackson photographs; 1943-1945. hmc-0949. Photographs of a 205th Engineers soldier who served on Attu Island.
Harold H. Jackson scrapbook; 1940-1945. hmc-0652. Scrapbook of a Navy Seabee who served in the 85th U.S. Navy Construction Battalion.
Japanese Sailor. World War II photograph album; 1942-1945. hmc-0832. Photographs that were possessed by a Japanese sailor who was stationed on the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Herbert T. Johnson photographs and menus; 1942-1944. hmc-1445-ahs. Photographs of a captain in the 138th Infantry, who was stationed in Cordova and Nome during World War II.
John F. Johnson papers; 1942-1945. hmc-1105. Papers relating to a U.S. Army serviceman’s time at Dutch Harbor.
Lawrence J. Juipe letters; 1942. hmc-0889. Letters from U.S. Army soldier in transport to Alaska by steamship.
Dick H. Kastrup photograph album; 1941-1945. hmc-0585. Attu, Kiska, and Kwajalein photos of U.S. Army infantry sergeant, 17th Infantry Regiment, 7th Infantry Division.
Lawrence Knight. World War II photograph album; 1943-1945. hmc-0674. Photographs and postcards collected by a soldier in a weather forecasting unit at Fort Glenn and Yakutat.
Rosalind Endter Koesting papers; 1943-1946. hmc-0630. Letters and teaching contracts of a schoolteacher who taught in the Anchorage Public Schools in the 1944-1945 school year who participated in various USO dances in Anchorages.
Olavi V. Kukkola papers; 1941-1964. hmc-1084. Papers and photographs of a Finnish-American engineer who worked on the Whittier tunnel during World War II.
Charles David Lee papers; 1940-1945. hmc-0577. Papers of a soldier with the Eleventh Air Force who served at Adak.
Robert C. Lewis papers; circa 1941-1943, 1951. hmc-1026-AHS. Papers and photographs of a soldier who served at Fort Raymond in Seward during World War II.
John F. Lhotka, Jr. papers; 1942-1946. hmc-0928. Papers and photographs of a Chemical Warfare Service officer who served at Fort Richardson and Adak Army Air Field.
Earl J. Lucier photographs; undated, 1944. hmc-0621. World War II photographs taken by a soldier who served in Alaska.
William E. Maas photograph album; 1943. hmc-0966. Photograph album from a seaman in the 51st U. S. Naval Construction Battalion stationed at Dutch Harbor
John Macomber photographs; circa 1943-1996. hmc-0602. Photographs and papers of an Eleventh Air Force serviceman in Alaska during World War II.
Nicandro Mancha photograph album; 1942-1943. hmc-0855. Photograph album of a Mexican-American serviceman who was stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II.
Lawrence E. Marx photographs; 1942-1943. hmc-0581. World War II-era photographs taken at the Nome Air Base.
Fred Matthieu letters; 1943-1944. hmc-0560. Letters written by a U. S. Army soldier to his mother while he was stationed in Alaska during World War II
James H. McCarmack letters; 1944-1945. hmc-0919. Letters written by a soldier stationed at Attu, Alaska.
Henry W. McQuie World War II photograph album; 1942-1944. hmc-0899. U.S. Army soldier who was stationed at Cordova.
Clyde Medlin World War II photograph albums; undated, 1945. hmc-0907. U. S. Coast Guard seaman who served in Southeast Alaska.
E. J. Megonigal World War II letter; 1943. hmc-0898. Letter to friends from Seabee serving in the Aleutians with the 32nd Naval Construction Battalion.
A. Robert Mensing, Jr. World War II letters; 1942-1943. hmc-0921. Headquarters Alaska Wing, Air Transport Command officer lost in airplane over the Yukon Territory in 1943.
Thomas J. Merrick World War II papers; 1944-1945. hmc-0902. U. S. Navy reservist and and flight crew member on PBYs flying in Alaska.
Sterling L. Merryman World War II papers; 1943-1944. hmc-0688. Photographs and unit publications of a Seabee with the Second Detachment, 85th Naval Construction Battalion.
Joseph Roger Mondor papers and photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0734. Personal papers and photographs of a soldier who served in the 324th Port Battalion in Seward during World War II.
Joseph G. Moretti World War II letters; 1943. hmc-0897. Letters to friends from Seabee serving in the Aleutians with the 32nd Naval Construction Battalion.
Navy Seabee photograph album; 1936-1944. hmc-0570. Sailor stationed on Kodiak Island in 1943.
John J. Overmeyer, Jr. letter; 1944. hmc-0961. Letter written by a 11th Airborne Air Control Squadron soldier stationed at Fort Glenn.
Beulah Marrs Parisi papers; 1938-1995. hmc-0445. Papers, scrapbooks, and photographs of a USO worker in Anchorage during World War II.
Miriam E. Patty World War II scrapbook; 1943-1944. HMC-0759. Scrapbook of a civilian war worker stationed with the Army Air Corps in Alaska.
Robert Peduzzi photographs; 1958-1960. 0.2 cubic feet. hmc-1130. Photographs from a U.S. Army serviceman stationed at Elmendorf Air Force base.
Leo Pegloski album; 1944-1945. hmc-0952. Photographs of an 1416th Army Air Force Base Unit soldier who served at Nome Air Base.
The Pink Elephant 21st, 36th, 404th Bomb Squadron Newsletter; 1991. EPH-0247
"Mill" Plum. World War II photograph album; 1942-1944. hmc-0629. Photograph album of a technical sergeant stationed in the Aleutians.
John Potter papers; 1942-1943. hmc-0203.Papers of an Air Force photographer, who served in Alaska in World War II.
Francis E. Queever photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0878. Photographs of a soldier in the Headquarters Company of the Alaska Defense Command at Fort Richardson.
Allen D. Raney. World War II Letters; 1944. hmc-0646. Letters written by a 364th Infantry Regiment lieutenant stationed at Adak Army Airfield in 1944.
Otto P. Rice letters; 1942. hmc-0942. Letters from a soldier of the 420th Coast Artillery who served at Fort Raymond and Fort Richardson.
Zenas Richards photograph album; 1941-1945. hmc-0548. Photograph album of a U.S. Army soldier stationed near Fairbanks.
George F. Rickey papers; 1943-1945. hmc-0505. Papers and photographs of a navigator with the 77th Bombardier Squadron of the 11th Air Force stationed at Adak.
Jack Rieur photographs; 1945-2006. hmc-1138. Photographs from a Army serviceman stationed in the Aleutians during World War II and his later worldwide travels.
Matthew M. Rigley, Jr. photograph Album; 1942-1969. hmc-0863. Photograph album of a U. S. Army Reserve Corps field artillery soldier stationed at Fort Greely on Kodiak Island.
Earnest Dwight Ringland papers; undated, 1943-1945. hmc-1219. Primarily photographs of a member of the Detachment Engineers who was stationed in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
Richard Rissman photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0534. Images from a Chemical Warfare Service soldier and amateur photographer stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II.
Richard C. Rivett papers; 1943-1945. hmc-0580. Papers of a communications officer with the U.S. Army Air Corps stationed in the Aleutians during Would War II.
Frederick K. Sakraska papers; undated, 1945. hmc-1259. Primarily photographs of a soldier who served in Alaska during World War II.
James H. Sample photographs; undated, 1945. hmc-1204. Photographs of a member of the 404th Bombardment Squadron who served at Shemya Air Base during World War II.
Thomas Sampson photograph album; 1942-1945. hmc-0509. Photograph Album of a U.S. Naval Reserve sailor in the 41st Construction Battalion who served in Alaska.
Harry C. Schiller papers; 1941-1948. hmc-0597. Papers of a member of 7th Infantry Division Band that played for soldiers in the Aleutians.
75th Coast Artillery soldier photograph album; 1942-1954. hmc-0654. Photograph album of a soldier who served with the 75th Coast Artillery Regiment during World War II.
Polly Petty Sharp memoir; circa 1956. hmc-0441. Memoir of a woman who lived and worked in Anchorage during World War II.
Shemya WWII Veterans Association The Shemya Mailbag newsletter; 1987-1994. EPH-0242.
Tony Simola photograph album; 1934-1949. hmc-0525. Photograph album of a soldier in the Army Engineers Area Office at Fort Richardson in Anchorage.
Edmund G. Smith diary; 1942-1943. 0.1 cubic feet. hmc-0573. Diary of a soldier stationed at Fort Greely in Kodiak.
Harold Stuart Smith papers; 1940-1966. hmc-1243. Scrapbooks and memorabilia of a man who was station at Fort Richardson during the war.
Hugh Enyeart Smith. World War II Letters; 1942-1943, 1946. hmc-0633. Letters of Seabee member to his girlfriend in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.
Gordon R. Sterud photograph album; 1941-1942. hmc-0656. Photograph album of a soldier in the 201st Infantry Regiment, who served at Fort Greely in Kodiak.
Allison E. Stoars papers; 1937-1963. hmc-0757. Papers of an 807th Engineer Aviation Battalion soldier who served at Yakutat Landing Field.
Sergeant Stokes. World War II Photograph Album; 1943-1945. hmc-0950. Soldier in the Post Signal Staff stationed at Fort Richardson.
Louis C. Stromp papers; 1942-1946. hmc-0941. Papers of a U.S. Army Transportation Corps officer on the USAT William L. Thompson during voyages to Alaskan ports.
Roy Suckling photographs; undated, 1944-1945. hmc-1220. Photographs of a member of the Signal Corps who served on Shemya in the Aleutian Islands during World War II.
George R. Szanik slides; 1941-1943. hmc-0722. Scenic slides of soldier who served at Fort Richardson.
Benjamin B. Talley papers; 1925-2002. hmc-0241. Papers of a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers officer who served in Alaska and elsewhere.
39th Air Depot Group soldier photograph album; 1938, 1942-1945. hmc-0905. Photographs and a program collected by a soldier stationed at the 39th Air Depot Group located at Elmendorf Army Air Field during World War II.
Arthur B. Thomason papers; 1935-1979. hmc-0707. Papers and photographs of a soldier who served on Amchitka.
351st Quartermaster Company soldier World War II photograph album; 1942-1944. hmc-0828. Photograph album of soldier stationed at Fort Richardson and Fort Ray in Sitka.
Arthur O. Trosvik papers; 1941-1945. hmc-0503. Papers and photographs of Army Signal Corps and ACS member in Alaska during World War II.
Bert E. Tylen World War II letters; 1943-1944. hmc-0816.Letters of a soldier who served at Shemya during World War II.
Unidentified Women's Reservist photographs; 1944-1945. hmc-0747. Photograph of a Women's Reservist who served at Ketchikan.
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Soldier’s Alaska Highway Construction photographs; 1942-1945. hmc-0501. Photographs taken during the construction of the ALCAN Highway.
United States. Army. Fort Richardson. History; 1944. eph-0206
U.S. Army. Fort Richardson telephone directories; undated, 1948-1949. EPH-0380
U.S. Army. 177th Engineer General Service Regiment. Second Battalion. Company B Roster; 1945. EPH-0012
U.S. Army. 183rd Station Hospital annual report; 1944. EPH-0366 [use restrictions apply]
United States. Eleventh Air Force. Eleventh Fighter Squadron. Photograph Album Contact Sheets; 1945. hmc-0793. Contact sheets of photo album pages of World War II fighter squadron.
U.S. Navy. Adak Naval Operating Base plan of the day; 1945. EPH-0026
United States Navy Seaman photograph album; 1942-1950. hmc-0647. Seaman who served at Dutch Harbor.
Charles F. Unrath World War II Diary; 1941-1944. hmc-0541.
A. J. Vance scrapbook; 1943-1944. hmc-0532. U. S. Naval Reserve officer who served on the USS Mississippi.
Al Verbauen photograph album; 1936-1944. hmc-0559. Photographs from a 138th Infantry soldier stationed at Adak Army Airfield.
Alfred Virag. World War II Papers; 1941-1943. hmc-0338. Commander of Battery D, 250th Coast Artillery Battalion, which served at Fort Greely on Kodiak Island.
Uvelta C. Weaver photographs; 1942-1943. hmc-0873. Photographs of a Company L, 153rd Infantry Regiment soldier stationed at Fort Raymond in Seward.
Eleanor Louise Wedge papers; 1940-1941. hmc-1233. Primarily photographs taken by the U.S. Army Air Corps.
Harris M. Whiting papers; 1936-1965. 1.2 cubic feet. hmc-0506. Papers and photographs of a managing engineer for construction of military facilities in Alaska.
Robert Wickman papers; circa 1944-1945. hmc-0498. Photographs and papers of a B-24 pilot in the 404th Bombardment Group, 11th Air Force, who served in the Aleutians.
John H. Wilkins letter; 1943 May. hmc-0931. Letter written by WWII soldier stationed in Nome, Alaska.
Williwaws: Kodiak Naval Air Station newsletters; 1940-1943. EPH-0218
The Williwaws: Kodiak Naval Operating Base newsletter; 1943 March-May. EPH-0219
George W. Wilson papers; 1944. hmc-0978. Photographs and a certificate from a WWII serviceman stationed in the Aleutians.
Alfred L. Winterton photographs; 1939, 1941. hmc-0716. Photos of Alaska mapping crew, 2nd Photographic Mapping Squadron, U. S. Army Air Corps.
World War II documents; 1942-1945. eph-0205
World War II letter from Bill; 1944 October 12. hmc-0814. U. S. Army soldier's letter to family with location codes for future letters from Alaska.
James A. Yost World War II photograph album; circa 1943-1944. hmc-0703. Album from a sailor who served at Attu Island.
Walter H. Ziegler papers; 1943-1946. hmc-0877. Papers of an ordnance officer with the 1788th Engineers Base Depot Company who served at Adak.
Joseph Zonich World War II letter; 1943. hmc-0868. Letter home by 12th Naval Construction Battalion seaman stationed on Kodiak Island.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
