Skip to main content

Tourism in Alaska

Collections that document people's visit to Alaska.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Collections

The list below contains the collections of tourists who came to Alaska. It does not include people who lived in Alaska who also toured and vacationed around the state. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

 

Ada and Olia tourist scrapbook; 1947. HMC-0880. Women from Houston, Texas, who took an automobile trip to Southeast Alaska and return.

Alaska Steamship Company publicity materials; undated. EPH-0037

Baptist tour group member photograph album; 1952. HMC-0539. Photograph album of a woman who traveled around the western United States and Canada as part of a Baptist tour group.

Edna and Norman Bassett photographs; undated, 1927-1932. HMC-1027-AHS. Trip photographs on the S.S. Dorothy Alexander and the White Pass & Yukon Railroad in 1932.

William E. Beaty photograph album; 1935. HMC-1056-AHS. A tourist visiting Alaska in 1935.

Al E. Beyer tourist photograph album and papers; 1994. HMC-0958. Pleasanton, California motorcycle tourist who traveled over 7,000 road miles on a trip to Alaska.

Edward M. Biddle tourist photograph album; 1913. HMC-0901. Wealthy tourist from Pennsylvania who visited Glacier National Park and Southeast Alaska.

Nancy E. Carlock tourist scrapbook; 1967. HMC-0936. Scrapbook created by a woman who took a 13-day tour of Alaska and Canada.

D.S. Clark photograph album; 1927. HMC-0614. Photograph album of a tourist who traveled by boat and train through Canada and Alaska.

Ila Copley papers; 1942, 1948-1950. HMC-1005-AHS. Photographs and memorabilia from a woman who lived in Alaska between 1948 and 1950.

Howard Culbertson family scrapbook; 1967.  HMC-0923. Scrapbook of postcards and tourism flyers from a family who traveled across Canada and Alaska.

Homer E. Dalrymple photograph album; circa 1917-1925. HMC-0662. Photographs of Douglas, Alaska, and tourists.

Eby, Shelland, and Stark tourist papers; 1939-1940. HMC-1183-AHS. Tourist papers of three women who travelled to Alaska in 1940

Adrian Edison Erickson photograph album; 1924. HMC-0537. Album of a trip through Alaska and Canada.

English sport fishing party photographs; 1912. HMC-0698. Photographs of a sport fishing party in Southeast Alaska.

Herman Erickson Family tourist color slides; 1951-1969. HMC-0883. Fresno, California family who took a cruise to Southeast Alaska in 1969.

Cathy Evans photograph album; circa 1960s. HMC-0893. Photographs and postcards collected by a young girl who visited Alaska and the Yukon Territory with her family.

Tom Faraday tourist photograph album; 1939-1940. HMC-0611. Photographs, clippings, and memorabilia of junior ambassador to Alaska.

Lake Clark area visitor photographs; circa 1911-1914. HMC-0636. Photographs of a visitor to Lake Clark and nearby Portage Creek and Bonanza Creek placer mining areas.

Marie "Sue" Feinler tourist scrapbook; July 1931.  HMC-0508. Scrapbook with photographs depicting a cruise to Alaska aboard the S. S. Northwestern.

James Ferguson photograph negatives; undated, 1948, 1950. HMC-1007-AHS. Reporter who visited Alaska.

Peter L. Ferry family photographs; 1929. HMC-1021-AHS. Family that visited Alaska and the Yukon Territory.

Mildred Fisher tourist photograph album; 1939. HMC-0661. Trip album of an Oklahoma schoolteacher who toured the Western U.S. and Alaska.

William Asberry "Berry" Gilcrease slides; 1966. HMC-0655. Images of a tour of Alaska and western Canada.

Goldie and Bob tourist photograph album; 1953 July-August. HMC-0768. Couple who visited Central California and Southcentral Alaska.

Josephine M. Gordon journals; 1964-1985. HMC-0407. Journals of a family's annual trips through Alaska, Yukon Territory, and British Columbia.

Ruth Gordon tourist photograph album; circa 1938. HMC-0732. Album of woman who took steamship cruise to Alaska.

Evelyn and Frelin Grimes scrapbook; 1969.  HMC-0918. Fresno, California couple who visited Southeast Alaska aboard the S.S. Prince George.

John Kay and Lee Hardcastle letter; 1947. HMC-0933. Letter describing a trip to Alaska via the Alaska Highway.

Anna and Eric Harding tourist scrapbook; 1969. HMC-0749. Elmhurst, Illinois couple who took and bus and ship tour of Alaska.

William L. Horton postcards; 1988, 1990, 1997-1998. HMC-1178-AHS. Postcards from tourists who travelled throughout Alaska.

Hotel Anchorage publicity stickers; undated. EPH-0053

Grace P. Hurst photograph album; 1957. HMC-0914. Photograph album of an Indiana woman who visited her U. S. Army officer son and his family at Ladd Air Force Base in Fairbanks.

Ruth Huseman tourist photograph album; 1937. HMC-0623. Album of a woman who toured Western Canada and Southeast Alaska.

Iva and Louie guest book; 1946-1948. HMC-0060. Guest book of a couple signed by visitors to their home.

Pat Jackson album; 1934. HMC-1029-AHS. Travel album of a Portland, Oregon tourist aboard the S. S. Aleutian.

Cornelia and Renier Kessels scrapbook; undated, 1937. HMC-1265-AHS. Travel scrapbook from a couple’s trip on the SS Prince Rupert to Alaska and Canada.

Gene and Phyllis Krisher papers; undated, 2001. HMC-1266. Photographs and memorabilia of a couple who took an Alaskan cruise.

Ashley and  Ruth Larkin tourist scrapbooks; 1968, 1973. HMC-0820. Scrapbooks of trips to Alaska, Canada, and the Caribbean.

Myrtle Lenager tourist scrapbook; 1951. HMC-0574. Travel scrapbook of a woman’s road trip from Greensburg, Kansas through the U.S., Western

Lois Little papers; 1931, 1935. HMC-0575. Scrapbook and travel diary of a schoolteacher from Iowa who took a trip to Alaska and Canada.

Loman and Hanford photograph album; undated.  EPH-0144. Photograph album produced by a noted Alaskan photography firm plus additional photographs.

Loman and Hanford photograph album; circa 1910-1920.  EPH-0075-AHS. Photograph album produced by a noted Alaskan photography firm plus additional photographs.

Lorrie and Sarge color slides; 1948. HMC-0750. Primarily travel slides of couple who stayed at Fort Richardson and toured Alaska.

Louise letters; 1928-1929. HMC-0851. Letters written by a woman who toured Alaska in the late 1920s.

Dorothy McCurrach Alaska trip scrapbook; 1942 June. HMC-0557. A scrapbook commemorating a 1942 round trip cruise from Seattle to southeastern Alaska.

Agnes M. McQuarrie and Ruth E. Warnke tourist color slides; 1966. HMC-0847. Photographic slides from a tour of Alaska and the Yukon Territory.

Anne Moses tourist scrapbook; 1936, 1942. HMC-0659. Scrapbook of a woman who toured Alaska on the S.S. Yukon.

Mildred and Robert Mowrer photograph album; 1941. HMC-0935. Scrapbook made by a couple who toured the western U.S., Alaska, and the Yukon Territory.

Myers family slides; 1980. HMC-1066-AHS. Images of a trip to British Columbia and Alaska.

Alfred Henry Nelson papers; circa 1950-1958, 1980. HMC-1213. While Nelson lived in Alaska from around 1950 to the late 1950s or early 1960s, he did drive back to Alaska from Florida as a tourist in 1980.

New York tourist travel diary; 1931, 1935.  HMC-0591. Daily account of a sightseeing trip to Alaska in 1931.

Mary A. Offley papers; 1954.  HMC-0856. Scrapbook documenting trip on the Union Steamships Limited, S.S. Chilcotin from Vancouver, British Columbia to Skagway, Alaska; travels on the Southern Pacific Railroad and the White Pass & Yukon Route Railway.

Ohio family tourist album; 1914 June-July. HMC-0553. Photograph album of an unidentified Ohio family from a trip to Alaska, British Columbia, and Glacier National Park in Montana.

Calvin and Doris Orr papers; 1988, 1989.  HMC-0938. Tourist papers of a Kansas couple who took a travel trailer caravan tour to Alaska.

Pacific Coast Steamship Company tourist diary; 1908. HMC-0721. Souvenir diary of a tourist who visited Southeast Alaska and British Columbia on the S.S. Spokane.

Perkins family scrapbook; 1947-1948. Mostly photographs and travel information of siblings who traveled to Nome and Marks Field.

Postcard collection; undated. EPH-0087

Edna and Martha Preuss photograph album; 1940. HMC-0746. Tourist photograph album of two women who traveled to Alaska.

Kenneth Quade color slides; circa 1960-1970. HMC-0606. Published travel slides of a trip on the Alaska Highway.

Reminiscence of a 1918 Trip to Alaska; 1972. HMC-1003-AHS. A recollection of an early Alaskan traveler.

William Vance Rinehart Jr. journal; 1886-1900.  HMC-0987-APU. Journal of a Seattle attorney who visited Nome in 1900.

Helen F. Rogers photograph album; 1947.  HMC-0872. A scrapbook from a tourist to Alaska.

Ethel M. Shaw tourist scrapbook; 1937. HMC-0514. Scrapbook documenting a tour of the Western United States, Alaska, and Canada.

Robert Sawicki scrapbook; undated, 1949. HMC-1241-AHS. Scrapbook of a trip to Alaska.

Simpson family photograph album; 1994. HMC-0563. Photograph album of a family who took a cruise to Southeast Alaska.

Mr. and Mrs William P. Smith tourist photograph album tourist photograph album; 1891. HMC-0518.  Photograph album of a couple who traveled to Southeast Alaska.

Southeast Alaska tourist photograph album; circa 1935. HMC-0635. Photograph album of an unidentified tourist who traveled to Southeast Alaska, British Columbia, and Oregon.

S.S. North Sea photograph album; 1939. HMC-0800. Photograph album of an unidentified passenger on a cruise to Southeast Alaska aboard the S.S. North Sea.

Geneva Starrett papers; 1938, 1955-1962. HMC-0711. Massachusetts tourist photograph album and papers of trip to Western US and Alaska in 1938.

Steven and Leslie motion picture film; 1960. HMC-0341. Home movie footage of tourists who visited Anchorage.

John E. Sunder slides; 1969. HMC-1041-AHS. Photographic slides from a trip to Alaska, British Columbia, and Yukon Territory.

Arabella and Raymond H. Taylor tourist scrapbook; 1956. HMC-0650. Scrapbook of a New York couple who went on the American Agriculturist Alaska tour in 1956.

Ethel Terry souvenir cruise diary; 1912. HMC-0638. Pacific Coast Steamship Company souvenir diary written in by Ethel Terry during a cruise to Alaska.

Philip and Marta Theriault tourist scrapbook; 1984. HMC-0675. Scrapbook of a couple who took a cruise to Alaska.

Unidentified Alaska tourist slides; circa 1967. HMC-0604. Color slides taken by an unknown individual while on a trip to Alaska.

Unidentified Kenai Peninsula tourist photograph album; 1948. HMC-0908. Album of a tourist and sportsman who traveled to the Kenai Peninsula.

Unidentified photographer Alaska photograph album; 1958-1958, 1963. HMC-0929. Photograph album of an unidentified photographer, who took photographs of various locations in Alaska.

Unknown Alaska Highway tourist photographs; circa 1948. HMC-0637. Photographs taken by an unidentified person who came to Alaska via the Alaska Highway.

Alvin and Betty Verser tourist photograph album; 1966, 1978. HMC-0766. Photographs and memorabilia of a couple who traveled Alaska and Canada.

Emma and William Vogelin scrapbooks; 1955-1958. HMC-1166-AHS. Scrapbooks of a couple’s road trip on the Alaska Highway in the summer of 1955.

Jesse and John Warner tourist slides; 1974. HMC-0984. Photographs taken by a couple who toured Alaska and Western Canada.

 

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website