This is the "Home" page of the "Alaska Constitutional Convention and Statehood collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alaska Constitutional Convention and Statehood collections  

Last Updated: May 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCstatehoodcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Alaska Constitutional Convention and Statehood Collections

Archives and Special Collections holds a number of collections relating to the Alaska Constitutional Convention and Alaska statehood matters, including the personal papers of some Constitutional Convention delegates.  Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Statehood Commission Alaska statehood movement oral history records; 1981. HMC-0030.  An oral history project documenting Alaska’s progress to statehood.  The interviews were conducted with members of the Constitutional Convention, prominent individuals who promoted statehood, and participants in the government pro-statehood activities.

James Patrick Doogan papers; 1948-1975. HMC-0101. Papers of a Fairbanks businessman who was a delegate to the Alaska Constitutional Convention.  The papers include convention journals, committee proposals and records, and a number of books and pamphlets relative to the work of the convention.

John S. Hellenthal papers; 1907-1988. HMC-0447.  Papers of an Anchorage lawyer who was a delegate to the Alaska Constitutional Convention and served as a legislator after statehood.  The collection contains papers relating to Hellenthal's work at the convention and the transition into statehood, including a published set of studies on the constitutions of other states and copies of speeches and brochures promoting statehood.

John E. Manders sound recordings; 1951-1959. HMC-0386.  John E. Manders served as mayor of Anchorage from 1945-1946.  His collection contains audio recordings of interviews conducted with him and Bob Atwood regarding Alaska statehood. 

Muktuk Marston scrapbook; 1955-1956. HMC-0781-APU. Muktuk Marston served as a delegate to the Alaska Constitutional Convention from Anchorage and later served as "Alaska's Goodwill Ambassador" in Governor Egan's administration.  The scrapbook documents his participation in the convention and contains newspaper clippings, Marston's certificate of election as a delegate, itineraries,  correspondence, programs, invitations to convention events, and ephemera.

Warren J. and Marguerite K. Nystrom papers; 1757-1971. HMC-0191. The Nystrom's collection of documents relating to Alaska history includes newspaper clippings and magazine articles concerning the Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood.

Victor C. Rivers family papers; 1869-1977. HMC-0209. Victor C. Rivers and his brother, Ralph J. Rivers, both served as delegates to the Alaska Constitutional Convention.  The collection contains Victor's papers relating to the convention and statehood, including correspondence and official convention documents, programs, and certificates.

Joseph and Lisa Rudd papers; 1933-1985.  HMC-0212.  Joseph Rudd was a lawyer who also worked as an assistant in the State Attorney General's Office from 1959 to 1961.  His portion of the collection contains, among many other papers, correspondence, minutes, reports, and proceedings of the Committee on Local Government of the Alaska Constitutional Convention and an index to the daily journal of the Constitutional Convention. 

Warren A. Taylor scrapbook; 1955-1956. HMC-0702. Warren A. Taylor served on the Alaska Statehood Commission (1949-1959), was a delegate from Fairbanks to the Alaska Constitutional Convention (1955-1956), and ran for governor in 1962.  The collection consists of a photocopy of the scrapbook Taylor kept about the convention and includes copies ofnewspaper clippings, letters, programs, and Taylor's name badge.

Barrie M. White, Jr. papers; 1953-1956.  HMC-0598.  Barrie M. White, Jr. was an Anchorage businessman who served as a delegate to the Alaska Consitutional Convention and was also president of the grassrots organization Operation Statehood.  His papers consist of a transcript of proceedings of the convention, official covnetion journals, convention committee reports and proposals, and many papers relating to Operation Statehood's involvement in advocating for Alaska statehood, including ephemera.   


      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip