This is the "Home" page of the "Mapping and surveying collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mapping and surveying collections  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCmappingandsurveying Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

This topic guide is not a complete list of mapping and surveying collections in Archives and Special Collections. This list also does not include Anthropological or Archaeological collections in our holdings. To view the Anthropology collections topic guide, please click here.  

Follow the links below to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the page.

American Museum of Natural History. Alaska-Yukon Expedition photograph album; 1936.  HMC-0600.  The American Museum of Natural History sponsored an expedition to Alaska and the Yukon Territory to search for pre-Pleistocene vertebrate fossils. This collection consists of the photograph album from that expedition.

Francis and Grace Cogswell papers; 1920-1957.  HMC-0744.  Francis Cogswell was a captain in the Navy. In 1935, Captain Cogswell commanded the U.S.S. Oglala, which assisted the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey in charting the Aleutian Islands. The collection contains the photograph album of Captain Cogswell, which documents his service during the Aleutian Islands Survey Expedition of 1935.

Russ Dow papers; 1917-1992.  HMC-0396.  Russ Dow was an Alaskan heavy equipment operator and photographer. He first came to Alaska in 1933 as a member of the Harvard-Dartmouth expedition led by Henry Bradford Washburn, Jr. to map the mount Crillon area. While the majority collection contains records and photographs of Dow’s later life in Alaska, the collection does contain some photographs and materials relating to Bradford Washburn’s glacial and mountain climbing expeditions in the 1930s.

Fred Wildon Fickett papers; 1858-1989.  HMC-0108.  Fred Fickett was a soldier and member of the army exploratory expedition to the Alaska interior in 1885. While the collection consists primarily to Fickett’s life and activities from 1876-1890, the collection does contain records pertaining to his stay in Alaska and his participation in the exploratory expedition under Henry Allen in 1885.

Edwin F. Glenn papers; 1889-1917.  HMC-0116.  Edwin Glenn was a U.S. Army officer in charge of explorations in southcentral Alaska from 1898-1899. The collection contains Glenn’s journal, reports, and photographs of his Cook Inlet expedition.

Grace and John Vincent Hoeman papers; 1953-1971.  HMC-0887.  Grace and Vin Hoeman were Alaska mountaineers. Vin served as chairman of the Committee on Geographic Names for the Mountaineering Club of Alaska and did extensive research on climbing in Alaska and the Yukon Territory, as well as naming Alaska geography and submitted these names to the USGS.

A.G. Maddren photograph albums; 1906-1914.  HMC-0166-APU.  A. G. Maddren was a geologist and photographer with the United States Geological Survery (USGS), Maddren worked in Alaska for numerous USGS expeditions. The collection consists of photographs taken by Maddren during his expedition in Alaska.

George C. Martin diaries; 1904-1933.  HMC-1110.  George C. Martin was a petroleum geologist who worked for the United States Geological Survey (USGS). The collection contains Martin’s traveling diaries. Three of the diaries recount his prospecting trips to Homer, Seldovia, the Alaska peninsula, and Ugashik area.

National Geographic Society Katmai expeditions photographs; 1913-1919.  HMC-0186.  The National Geographic Society launched several scientific expeditions to Katmai to investigate Katmai and surrounding areas after Mt. Katmai erupted in 1912. The collection includes photographs taken by staff members of the expedition.

George R. Putnam papers; circa 1896-1898.  HMC-1126.  George Putnam worked for the U.S. Coast and Geodetic Survey. He served on Yukon Delta surveying expeditions in 1898-1899. The collection contains digitized photographs of Putnam’s surveying expeditions in Alaska.

 

 

 

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip