This is the "Home" page of the "Alaska State Legislators and legislation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Alaska legislators and legislation. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Last Updated: Nov 5, 2013 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASClegislativecollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Also see our listing of Alaska Constitutional Convention and Statehood related papers.

Alaska Criminal Code Revision Commission. Project Director records; 1971-1978. HMC-0329. Drafts and background materials on a major rewrite of the Alaskan Criminal Code.

Ramona Barnes papers; circa 1980-2000. HMC-0502. Legislative papers of a former Speaker of the House. She served as  representative to the House (1979-1984, 1987-2000), Speaker of the House (1993-1994), House Minority Leader (1992), House Majority Leader/Speaker Pro-Tem (1983), and Minority Whip (1991-1992.) She served as the Chair of the Legislative ethics and Judiciary committees (1981-1982) and as a member of the Judiciary (1987-1988), Rules (1993-1994), Resources (19821-1982), and Finance (1989-1990, 1991-1992) Committees.

William K. Boardman (1915-1993) papers; circa 1940-1985. HMC-0072. Personal and business papers of a former Speaker of the House in the Alaska Legislature. He served in the territorial and state legislatures (1953-1955, 1961-1971) and was Speaker of the House (1968-1969).

H. A. "Red" Boucher papers; 1980-1991. HMC-0420. Government service related committee and public policy files of Alaskan public figure. He later unsuccessfully ran for mayor of Anchorage and was elected to the Alaska House of Representatives where he served from 1984 to 1990.

Willard L. Bowman papers; 1952-1979. HMC-0073. Political campaign papers and human rights related materials of African-American legislator. He was elected to the House in three consecutive elections (1970, 1972, and 1974).

Margaret Branson papers; 1967-2005. hmc-1131. Papers of a woman who was a Kenai Borough Assembly member, Alaska State House Representative, writer, photographer, and art gallery owner.

Kay Brown papers; 1983-1996. HMC-0457. These papers are primarily related to Kay Brown’s work as a manager of non-profit and government agencies, as an elected public official, author, and journalist. Kay Brown served in the House for five consecutive terms: 1986-1996.

Genie Chance (1927-1998) papers; 1964-1977. HMC-0084. Broadcast journalist and a member of the Alaska State Legislature. She served as a State Representative (1969-1975) and a State Senator (1975-1979).

Essie Rock Dale papers; 1954-1962. HMC-0098. Primarily miscellaneous photographs of a Democratic political figure. She was active in politics and served as a Democratic National Committeewoman from 1948 to 1952, and as a member of the Alaska Territorial Legislature (House) in 1949.

Bettye Davis papers; 1976-2012. hmc-1127. Records of a female African American Alaska senator, representative, Anchorage Schoolboard member, and community advocate.

Victor Fischer (b. 1924) papers; circa 1967-1990. HMC-0109. Member of Alaska Legislature and UAA faculty member. He was a delegate to the Alaska Constitution Convention (1955-1956) after which he served in the territorial House of Representatives (1957-1959) and the Alaska State Senate.

Benjamin A. Grier scrapbook and photograph album; 1911-1952. HMC-1036-AHS. Alaskan miner, businessman and territorial legislator. Grier was elected to the House of Representatives for the Territory of Alaska in 1924 and served two terms from 1925 to 1927.

Walter Eugene Guess papers; 1960-1975. HMC-0366. Alaskan legislator. In 1964, he was elected to the first of four successive terms in the state House of Representatives. While in the House he served as chairman of the House Judiciary Committee (1965-1966), as vice-chairman of the House Commerce Committee (1965-1966), as House minority whip (1967-1968), as chairman of the House Minority Caucus (1967-1968), as chairman of the Alaska State Legislative Council (1969-1971), as Majority Floor Leader (1969-1970), as chairman of the House Local Government Committee (1969-1970), as chairman of the Special House Committee on Monetary Policy (1969-1970), and as Speaker of the House (1970-1972).

Jay S. Hammond papers; 1946-1993. HMC-0442. Alaskan political figure, legislator, and governor. He entered politics in 1959, serving as a representative in the Alaska State Legislature from Bristol Bay (1959-1965), and later as State Senator (1967-1972) and President of the Senate (1971-1972).

John S. Hellenthal papers; 1907-1988. HMC-0447. Alaskan legislator. After statehood was announced he was elected to the State House of Representatives and served from 1959-1962. While a member of the legislature he served as chairman of the House Judiciary Committee, and in 1960-1961 he chaired the state Democratic Party.

Terry Martin (b. 1936) legislative papers; 1978-1998. HMC-0169. Legislator from Anchorage. He was elected to the Alaska House of Representatives from 1978 through 1998.

James J. Mulally (1879-1933) papers; 1913. HMC-0520. This collection consists of three documents relating to James Mullally's election to, and resignation from, the first Alaska Territorial Legislature, 1912 and 1913.

Joseph H. Murray papers; 1907-1933. HMC-0183. Papers of an Alaskan miner, attorney and member of the Alaska Territorial House of Representatives. He served as a city magistrate in Valdez; was involved in a private law practice in Cordova, 1926 to 1944; and served in the Territorial House of Representatives 1917-1919, 1921-1923.

Randy Phillips papers; 1977-2003. HMC-0603. Papers of a member of the Alaska Legislature. He served in the House from 1977-1992, and in the Senate from 1992-2003 representing the Chugiak-Eagle River area.

Victor C. Rivers and Ralph Rivers papers; 1869-1977. HMC-0209. Papers and photographs of a civil engineer (U. S. Army Corps of Engineers) and politician. Victor Rivers became a civil engineer and later a member of the Territorial Senate from Fairbanks and from Anchorage, a delegate to the Alaska Constitutional Convention, and a candidate for governor of the state. Ralph Rivers became a miner, lawyer, district attorney, territorial attorney general, legislator, delegate to the Alaska Constitutional Convention, and U.S. Congressman (1959-1966).

Norman Rokeburg legislative papers; 1995-2006. HMC-0945. In 1994, he was elected to the Alaska State House of Representatives from Anchorage, and was reelected five times. During his legislative career, he chaired the following committees: Special Committee on Oil and Gas (1995-1996), Labor and Commerce (1997-2000), Judiciary (2001-2002), and Rules (2003-2006).

Lisa Rudd papers; 1933-1985. HMC-0212. Personal and business papers of Joseph Rudd; personal and political papers of Lisa Rudd. In 1976, she was elected to the State House of Representatives, and in 1980 she ran unsuccessfully for State Senate.

Harold Strandberg (1909-1995) papers; 1923-1985. HMC-0237. In 1955, Harold Strandberg was named Anchorage Port Commissioner, and served in that capacity until 1964, when he was elected to the Alaska State House of Representatives.

Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1954-1997. HMC-0467. Arliss Sturgulewski served in the Alaskan Senate from 1978-1992 and was the Republican gubernatorial candidate in 1986 and 1990.

Richard N. Sundquist (1896-1967) letter; 1923. HMC-0915. Miner in Candle who later served in the Alaska Territorial Legislature. Sundquist was a Republican member of the Alaska Territorial House of Representatives (1925-1929) and Senate (1929-1933), representing Candle.

 

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage, AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip