This is the "Home" page of the "Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline construction collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline construction collections  

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the construction of the Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Last Updated: May 13, 2014 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASChighwayconstructioncollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

The Alaska Highway runs from Dawson Creek, British Columbia, to Delta Junction, Alaska, where it joins the Richardson Highway before reaching Fairbanks. The original military highway was built by the U. S. Army and civilian contractors in 1942 to 1943. The Canol Pipeline, also built during World War II, runs from the Norman Wells oil fields in the Northwest Territories to Whitehorse on the Alaska Highway. The Canol Road, and a corresponding telegraph line running north of Johnson's Crossing, were also constructed at this time to service the oil pipeline. The following collections deal primarily with the early construction of both the Alaska Highway and the Canol Pipeline. The archives also holds collections related to early travelers and tourists on the Alaska Highway, which was opened to civilian traffic in 1947. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Please note: if you're seeking information about an individual who worked on the Alaska Highway construction, you might want to read our blog entry about that topic before planning a visit. If you're in search of military records about the construction--personnel or otherwise--you'll probably want to start your research with the National Archives. Many of the other Alaska archives also hold records from individuals involved in the construction, so please be sure to search those as well.

Charles W. Arvidson photographs; 1943-1947.  HMC-0567.  Photographs taken during the construction of the Canol Pipeline. Subjects include work crews, construction, camps, and area scenery. 

Charles V. Baxter papers; undated, 1943-1945.  HMC-1033-AHS.  Photographs and post cards of an engineer during the construction of the Canol Pipeline, as well as reports and charts of pumping, tanks, gas, and water flow kept by Baxter  Subjects of the photographs include winter and summer conditions, construction camps, equipment, and work crews. 

Omer D. Clark Canol Pipeline construction photographs; 1943-1944.  HMC-0642.  Photographs of the construction of the Canol Pipeline. 

John Andrew Higgins papers; 1914-1950, bulk 1942-1946.  HMC-0538.  Scrapbook of a  U.S. Navy Seabee stationed in Alaska during WWII and who worked on construction of the Alaska Highway. Some photographs depict Alaska Highway construction, workers, and supply facilities, as well as the CANOL oil refinery in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

Bud Krier papers; 1943-1944, 1975.  HMC-0709.  Photographs and papers of construction on the telephone line along the Alaska Highway in 1943.

Lyle Sherman Leseberg photograph albums; 1943. HMC-1151-AHS. Photographs of construction of the Alcan Highway and postcards of the Yukon.

William Herbert Newlove (1898-1969) photographs and postcards; 1942-1944. HMC-0608. Alaska Highway construction worker.

Charles H. Palda Alaska Highway construction photograph album and home movies; 1942-1944. HMC-1040-AHS. Senior partner of Okes Construction Company, managing contractor for work done on part of the Alaska Highway.

T. Saplak Alaska Highway construction photographs; 1942-1943.  HMC-0540.  Photographs of the area between Dawson Creek and the Sikanni Chief River in British Columbia during the construction of the Alaska Highway.

Jerome F. Sheldon papers; 1885-1994. HMC-0220. Subject files, research materials, and articles of a newspaperman and free-lance writer. Member of the U. S. Army's 18th Engineer Regiment constructing the Alaska Highway during World War II.

Florentine A. Traxler Alaska Highway construction papers; 1943-1944.  HMC-0912.  Memorabilia, photographs, and newspapers of a woman who worked for Dowell Construction Co. during the construction of the Alaska Highway. 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Soldier’s Alaska Highway Construction photographs; 1942-1945.  HMC-0501.  This collection includes photographs taken during construction of the Alaska Highway in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

C. Wilbert Alaska Highway construction photographs; circa 1943-1945.  HMC-0494.  The collection contains photographs and postcards of the Alaska Highway construction. Subjects include work crews, construction equipment, building materials, and scenes along the HIghway, such as hospitals, hospital staff, and wildlife. 

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip