This is the "Home" page of the "Medicine and Health related collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medicine and Health related collections   Tags: health, health_services, medicine, nurses, nursing, public_health  

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to medicine and health topics. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASChealthcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Health Education Consortium records; 1979-2007. Records of a professional organization dedicated to health education.

Alaska Health Project records; 1979-1994. HMC-0419. The Alaska Health Project is a private non-profit organization founded in 1980 to address issues of hazardous materials in the workplace and in the community. Their mission is to provide information, training, research, and related services to Alaskan organizations and individuals.  Collection size: 14 cubic feet.

Alaska Historical Commission Studies in History 212: Science series radio program recordings; 1986. HMC-0012. The recordings include interviews with Alaskan doctors and health researchers such as Earl Albrecht and Bill Mills. Collection size: 2 audiocassettes.

Alaska Nurse Practitioner Association records; circa 1976-2011. HMC-1091. These are the records of a professional organization for nurse practitioners. Collection size: 1.0 cubic feet.

Alaska Nurses' Association collection; 1887-1995. HMC-1107. This is a collection of materials related to the history of nursing in Alaska.

Alaska online: conversations with Red Boucher videocassettes; 1994-2003. HMC-0510. Alaska health-related topics occur occasionally in these recorded panel discussions and interviews. Collection size: 71 videotapes.

Alaska Public Health Association membership applications; 1969-1970. HMC-1051. This collection consists of two years of application forms to the Alaska Public Health Association.  The application forms include name of applicant, address, employment, educational background, other professional memberships, a date and signature. Collection size: 1 folder.

Alaska Women’s Oral History Collection oral history tapes and papers; 1965-1982. HMC-0037. The collection includes an interview with Della Keats and several of the interviews touch on health care topics. Collection size: 72 transcripts and 93 audiocassettes.

C. Earl Albrecht papers; 1931-1993. HMC-0375. Professional and personal papers of a doctor who served the Matanuska Colony and Fort Richardson, was the territorial Commissioner of Health, as well as other Alaskan and international roles. Collection size: 11 cubic feet.

Helen Dittman Beirne papers; 1956-1994. HMC-0535. Papers of the administrator and clinical director for the Alaska Crippled Children's Association, chairman of the House Health, Education and Social Services Committee, and  Commissioner of the Alaska Dept. of Health and Social Services. Collection size: 13 cubic feet.

Bristol Bay Native Association records; 1969-2004. HMC-0075.  Among other topics, these records include information on rural health programs. Collection size: 25 cubic feet.

Kay Brown papers; 1983-1996. HMC-0457. Papers of an Alaskan legislator.  Some bill and subject files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 64 cubic feet.

Genie Chance papers; 1964-1977. HMC-0084. Papers of an Alaskan journalist and legislator.  Some legislative subject files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 23.65 cubic feet.

Commonwealth North records; 1979-2007. HMC-0992. Records of a public policy institute. Some study files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 64.8 cubic feet.

Robert Fortuine papers; 1957-2005. HMC-0455. The personal and professional papers of a U. S. Public Health Service physician and medical historian.  Collection size: 26 cubic feet.

Betzi and Milo Fritz papers; circa 1930-2009. HMC-1072. The personal and professional papers of a long-time Alaskan doctor and his wife, a nurse.

Marie and Ralph George papers; 1916-2004. HMC-0763. Includes a small amount of papers related to Marie Brown’s involvement with the Providence Hospital Auxiliary from 1988-2004. Collection size: 2.25 cubic feet.

Henry Gilbertson papers; 1960-1975. HMC-0115. Includes rural school inspection reports and photographic slides of rural villages focusing on living and educational conditions, potentially useful for public health research. Collection size: 4 cubic feet.

Effie Anderson Graham papers; 1918-2002. HMC-0683. Professional papers of a nursing educator and menstrual cycle researcher. Collection size: 0.7 cubic feet.

Greater Anchorage Area Borough. Comprehensive Health Planning Council records; 1973-1974. HMC-0118. The administrative records of an organization charged with developing health services and facilities plans. Collection size: .3 cubic feet.

Elinor Delight Gregg video; 1939. HMC-0424. Video copy of a film of this public health nurse’s trip to various locations in Alaska. Collection size: 1 videotape.

Merrill E. Grube photographs; 1965-1978. HMC-0124. This collection from a UAA/ACC photographer includes photographs related to medical technology, dental, and nursing programs taught at UAA and ACC.  Collection size: 9.6 cubic feet.

Walter Eugene Guess papers; 1960-1975. HMC-0366. Papers of an Alaskan legislator.  Some bill and subject files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 15 cubic feet.

Jay S. Hammond papers; 1946-1993. HMC-0442. Papers of an Alaskan governor. Some subject files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 10 cubic feet.

Christine Heller papers; 1895-1982. HMC-0367. Papers of an Alaskan botanist and nutritionist.  Includes her research materials related to the Alaska Dietary Survey conducted in 1956-1961. Collection size: 26.7 cubic feet.

Hickel Administration Exit Interviews Project records; 1994-1995. HMC-0435. Includes an interview with Dr. Ted Mala, Commissioner of Health and Social Services. Collection size: 0.35 cubic feet.

International Union for Circumpolar Health. Tenth International Congress on Circumpolar Health. Proceedings Editorial Committee records; 1996-1998. HMC-0526. The administrative records of the committee charged with publishing the proceedings of this conference.  The collection also includes manuscripts of papers submitted for publication in the proceedings. Collection size: 2 cubic feet.

M. Walter Johnson papers; 1902-1989. HMC-0932. Collected research materials, paper, and lecture drafts, and other writings relating to tuberculosis issues, particularly among Alaska Native children. 

Alice “Dove” Montgomery Kull papers; 1915-1991. HMC-0385. Personal papers of a social worker employed by state and federal health and social services agencies. Primarily focused on social work issues, the collection contains materials related to health matters as well.  Collection size: 13.25 cubic feet.

William S. Laughlin papers; 1931-1998. HMC-0360. Personal and professional papers of a physical anthropologist who, among other topics, studied human biology.  Collection size: approximately 80 cubic feet.

Christine M. McClain papers; 1907-1992. HMC-0370. The papers of a journalist who regularly wrote on health-related topics.  Collection size: 21.45 cubic feet.

Frederick A. Milan papers.  HMC-0687.  Papers of an anthropolgist, linguist, and human physiologist who worked in Alaska and other Arctic regions.  Collection size: 9.5 cubic feet. 

Medicine in Alaska oral history project transcripts; 1982-1983. HMC-0175. Transcripts of oral history interviews conducted with Alaskan physicians on the history of medicine and health care in Alaska. Collection size: 14 transcripts.

M/V Hygiene logbooks; 1947, 1956-1958. HMC-1109. Logbooks for the ship providing health care to coastal western Alaska residents during the 1940s and 1950s.

Albert W. Newhall letters; 1915-1928. HMC-0188. Doctor and medical missionary at the Jesse Lee Home in Unalaska and later in Barrow. Collection size: 0.02 cubic feet.

Eugenia Wassell Ohls papers; 1944-1991. HMC-0371. Professional papers of an Alaskan public health nurse.  Collection size: 0.25 cubic feet.

Older Persons Action Group (OPAG) records; 1968-2006. HMC-0193. Records created and collected by the senior citizens advocacy group include health topics.  Collection size: 25.6 cubic feet.

Frank Pauls papers; 1909-1998. HMC-0489. The professional papers (including research data) of a public health biologist and administrator in Alaska.  Collection size: 5.5 cubic feet.

Philip and Retta Reed papers; 1915-1981. HMC-0401. Retta Reed was a nurse and while most of the collection consists of Philip’s papers, the photographs include a few images of the Noorvik hospital and medical personnel from the early 1920s. Collection size: 1.5 cubic feet.

Bill Richards papers; 1976-2004. HMC-0693.  The professional papers of Dr. Bill Richards, primarily relating to the Social Transitions in the North research project. Collection size: 10 cubic feet.

Norm Rokeburg legislative papers; 1995-2006. HMC-0945. Papers of an Alaskan legislator.  Some legislative bill files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 10 cubic feet.

Joseph and Lisa Rudd papers; 1933-1985. HMC-0212. Lisa Rudd served as an Alaskan legislator.  Some of her legislative files concern health-related issues. Collection size: 24.8 cubic feet.

Rural Alaska Community Action Program (RuralCAP) records; 1965-1981. HMC-0213. Records regarding rural health issues comprise a portion of the records in this collection.  Collection size: 100 cubic feet.

Elaine A. Schwinge journals; 1946-1950. HMC-0484. Journals of a field physician working for the Alaska Territorial Dept. of Health. Collection size: 0.2 cubic feet.

Jerome F. Sheldon papers; 1885-1994. HMC-0220. Research files from an Alaskan free-lance writer. Some subject files are on health-related topics. Collection size: 9.75 cubic feet.

Social Transitions in the North project administrative records; 1989-2004. HMC-0692. The collection consists of the unrestricted project records including subject and administrative files. Collection size: 9 cubic feet.

Virginia Terrill papers; 1940-1992. HMC-0432. Primarily the personal papers of a public health nurse and medical transcriptionist. Collection size: 1.7 cubic feet.

UAA. Alaska Native Health Career Program records; 1971-1985. UAA-0094. The Alaska Native Health Career Program was created in 1974 to promote the health and well-being of Native people by establishing the Native operation and management of the health care system which services them. Collection size: 2.7 cubic feet.

UAA. Center for Alcohol and Addiction Studies tri-discipline conferences records; 1979-1991. UAA-0037. Conference preparation files as well as audio-cassettes of conference proceedings. Collection size: 5.3 cubic feet.

UAA. Institute for Circumpolar Health Studies records; 1979-1993. UAA-0086. The Institute’s administrative and operating files also include materials on research projects and publications. Collection size: 9 cubic feet.

UAA/APU Consortium Library. Alaska Medical Library newsletters; 2000-2009. UAA-0022. Newsletters on the health topics and the activities of the AML. Collection size: 0.2 cubic feet.

Dixie West photograph album; 1942-1945. HMC-0127. Personal photograph album of a nurse in Ketchikan, the album includes photographs of the hospital personnel and building as well as of the Alaska Dept. of Health’s vessel, the MS Hygiene. Collection size: 0.25 cubic feet.

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip