This is the "Home" page of the "Anthropology collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anthropology collections   Tags: alaska_natives, anthropology, archaeology  

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to Anthropology, listed below in alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Last Updated: May 19, 2014 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCanthrocollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the page.

Theodore Paul Bank II papers; 1901-1980HMC-0068.  Papers of an anthropologist and explorer who led expeditions to the Aleutian Islands from 1948-1979 and served as the executive director of the American Institute for Exploration from 1954-1981.  The collection includes records of Banks's expeditions, organizational papers of the American Institute for Exploration, drafts and publications by Ted Bank, motion picture film taken in the Aleutian Islands, and almost 10,000 photographs and negatives relating to Alaskan expeditions, the Ainu people, and other subjects.

Paul Guggenheim papers; 1937-2006. HMC-1095. The materials in the collection primarily pertain to the 1937 Smithsonian expedition to the Aleutians headed by Ales Hrdlicka and to archaeological work done on Amchitka during World War II.

Robert F. Heizer papers; 1949-1956HMC-0136.  Papers of a California anthropologist that include correspondence, notes, photographs, drafts of manuscripts, and a published article from his study of Koniag Eskimo artifacts of Kodiak Island. 

Dorothy M. Jones papers; 1878-1991HMC-0458.  Papers of a sociologist whose work focused on the lives of Alaska Natives and their communities, especially the Aleut peoples.

Charles V. Lucier papers; 1903-2009.  HMC-0165.  Papers of a biologist who studied the culture, technology, and artifacts of the Inupiat peoples of the Kotzebue Sound and the Seward Peninsula areas from 1949 to 1953.  The collection includes Lucier's photographs, travel journals, field notebooks, culture trait and word lists, reports on marine mammal hunting, articles on Inupiat archaeology and anthropology, and the autobiography of Inupiat nurse and midwife, Della Keats.

William S. Laughlin papers; 1931-1998.  HMC-0360.  The papers of a physical anthropologist who worked in the Aleutian Islands. 

Alan G. May papers; 1902-1990HMC-0690.  Papers of an amateur archaeologist who participated in the Smithsonian Institution's Archaeological Expeditions to the Aleutian Islands from 1936 to 1938 that were led by Dr. Aleš Hrdlicka. The collection includes May's journals, publications, correspondence, and photographs relating to these expeditions. 

Frederick A. Milan papers; circa 1943-1995.  HMC-0687.  Papers of an anthropolgist, linguist, and human physiologist who worked in Alaska and other Arctic regions. 

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip