Skip to main content

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

A guide to collections of women’s only organizations or organizations that are not solely for women, but raise awareness for women’s issues.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

The following list contains collections of women’s only organizations or organizations and events that are not solely for women, but raise awareness for women’s issues. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. This list not comprehensive, and does not include the records of individuals who fought for women’s rights, or who may have belonged to the organizations listed below. Please keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

 

The 15%, INC. event flyers; undated, 1989-1992. EPH-0256. Event flyers for a non-profit feminist and lesbian arts organization. 

Alaska Professional Communicators records; 1961-2013. HMC-0026. Alaska Professional Communicators began in 1961 as the Alaska Press Women. While the organization began as women only, in 1996 the membership voted to change the organization’s name to Alaska Professional Communicators and now includes men and women. The collection consists of records concerning the administration, membership, and activities of the organization.

Alaska Women's Bookstore Board of Directors work session notes and event flyers; 1986-1995. EPH-0261. Flyers and information regarding a feminist bookstore which provided books by, for, and about women. 

American Association of University Women. Anchorage (Alaska) branch records; 1955-2004. HMC-0997. The mission of the American Association of University Women (AAUW), founded in 1881, has been to promote education and equity for women and girls.  The Anchorage Branch of the AAUW received its charter in 1955. The collection consists of records of the Anchorage Branch of the American Association of University Women, including by-laws, founding documents, membership directories, and newsletters.

Anchorage Woman’s Club records; 1915-2014. HMC-1200. The Anchorage Woman’s Club (AWC) is a member of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs (GFWC). The collection contains the Club’s records and scrapbooks.

Anchorage Women's Community Chorus papers; undated, 1991-1992. EPH-0264. Membership information, music, and event flyers for an inclusive, all-women choir in Anchorage. 

British Women’s Club of Anchorage records; 1965-1983. HMC-1093. The British Women’s Club of Anchorage was open to women from Commonwealth countries or of Commonwealth descent. The Club sponsored regular social activities and engaged in civic fundraising events as well. The collection consists of several scrapbooks and a guest book.

General Federation of Women’s Clubs of Alaska records; 1934-2001. HMC-0680. The General Federation of Women’s Clubs of Alaska (GFWC of AK) is a state club affiliated with the General Federation of Women’s Clubs (GFWC), a national volunteer service organization. The collection primarily contains administrative records documenting the work of the Alaska affiliate of the General Federation of Women’s Clubs.

League of Women Voters of Anchorage records; circa 1950-2011. HMC-1268. The League of Women Voters of Anchorage is a civic organization that works to ensure voters have easy access to participate in political elections at every level.

Muddy Acres Homemakers’ Club records; 1953-1962. HMC-0985. The Muddy Acres Homemakers’ Club was formed by a group of women in the Sand Lake and Jewel Lake areas of Anchorage, Alaska. The collection contains the club’s constitution and by-laws, yearly reports of activities, a scrapbook, loose photographs, and a “Club of the Year” gavel award for 1959.

OPAL newsletters and event flyers; 1989-2001. EPH-0262. OPAL was a social organization for lesbians to interact in a confidential and safe place. 

Women's Coffeehouse event flyers; undated, 1996-1999. EPH-0265. 

Women's March documents; 2017. HMC-1270. Those who participated in the Women’s March marched to protect legislation regarding immigration reform, women’s rights and human rights, healthcare reform, racial equality, freedom of religion, the environment, and LGBTQ rights.This collection contains signs, photographs, and video created by various people who attended marches in Anchorage and Palmer.

Women's Music Festival flyers; 1990, 1999. EPH-0259. 

 

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website