Skip to main content

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Collection with records related to senior citizen issues, advocacy, and gerontology.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women in Alaska collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

 

 

Genie Chance papers; 1964-1977. hmc-0084. The papers of a broadcast journalist and Alaska state legislator. Contains legislation files related to the Older Persons Action Group, the longevity bill for state employees, old age pensions, nursing homes, proposed legislation addressing senior citizens’ needs, and retired citizens mailing list.

Walter Eugene Guess; 1960-1975. hmc-0366. Alaskan legislator. Contains legislation files related to city and borough property tax exemption for senior citizens legislation in 1971 and a U.S. Senate campaign file titled, “Older Americans” from 1972.

Robert and Wilma Knox papers; 1949-2001. hmc-0461. Writings, clippings, photos, negatives, and other papers of two Alaskan journalists. Robert Knox was the managing editor for Senior Voice, the publication of Anchorage’s non-profit Older Persons Action Group from 1981-1984. The Collection contains article clippings from the Senior Voice.

Dove Kull papers; 1915-1991. hmc-0385. Social worker and activist on behalf of child welfare and senior citizens' issues. Contains correspondence regarding senior citizens related issues, and subject files related to senior housing, such as the Senior Citizens’ Advisory Committee, Senior housing Catered Living, Inc, Gerontological Planning Associates, Mountain View Apartments in Juneau, residential care, and pioneer homes.

Older Persons Action Group records; 1968-2006. hmc-0193. The Older Persons Action Group (OPAG) was funded in 1968 by the Office of Economic Opportunity as a delegate agency of the Greater Anchorage Area Community Action Agency in response to the Older Americans Act of 1965. OPAG serves as an advocate for senior citizens in Anchorage and in Alaska in matters relating to housing, health and welfare, legislation affecting the elderly, and others. The collection consists of records concerning the administration, finances, programs, and services of the Older Persons Action Group.

W. Jack Peterson papers; circa 1970-1996. hmc-0462. Professional papers of a UAA sociology professor. Jack Peterson began teaching at UAA in 1971, specializing in social issues related to aging and dying. The research project and organizational files relate to sociological studies gerontology-affiliated groups to which he belonged.

Frank Reed Sr. papers. hmc-0206. Anchorage businessman and civic leader.  Contains an Older Persons Action Group Directory for Older Alaskan Consumers from 1982-1983 and Anchorage Senior Center Endowment Trustees records from 1993-1996.

Rural Alaska Community Action Program (RURALCAP) records; 1965-1981. hmc-0213. RurAL CAP, founded in 1965, is a private, statewide, nonprofit organization working to improve the quality of life for low-income Alaskans. The collection contains correspondence and subject files related to the Older Persons Action Group.

Lorena Showers papers; 1945-1997. hmc-0221. Lorena Showers  served on the Employment Security Commission Advisory Council and was an advocate for senior citizen issues and rights. She served on committees and boards of Older Persons Action Group (OPAG), Anchorage Senior Center; Anchorage Pioneer Home; the Senior Citizen Project Council; Governor’s Advisory Committee on Aging; Anchorage Municipal Senior Citizen’s Advisory Commission; the 1981 White House Conference on Aging; the Borough Advisory on aging; and the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), Sourdough chapter 533.

Joanne Townsend papers; 1962-2004. hmc-0246. Joanne Townsend is a former Poet Laureate for Alaska. Her collection contains life stories from a creative writing class at the Anchorage Senior Center in 1991 and 1993. The publications of the creative writing class at the Anchorage Senior Center include: I Have Saved Some Memories: A Journal of Life Stories and Poems (edited by Joanne Townsend), and the article with writing examples, "Laureates of the Later Years: Anchorage seniors try their hand at writing" (Senior Voice, Apr. 1993).

Social Transitions in the North Project Administrative Records; 1989-2004. hmc-0692. Contains an article about Elders.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page