This is the "Home" page of the "Anchorage winter Olympics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anchorage winter Olympics  

A guide to collections with materials relating to attempts to bring the winter Olympics to Anchorage.
Last Updated: May 31, 2013 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCOlympics Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

Follow the links to full collection descriptions and inventories. This list is not a comprehensive list of all collections with materials related to the Anchorage Organizing Committees and the Olympics in Alaska.

Anchorage Olympic Organizing Committee Olympics records; 1976-1990, bulk 1984-1990. 47 cubic feet. HMC-1002. Records of Anchorage’s bids to host the Winter Olympics in 1992, 1994, and 1998. The Anchorage Organizing Committee (AOC) was founded in 1984 by Rick Mystrom, then the owner of Mystrom/Beck Advertising who also served as Anchorage assemblyman (1979-1985) and mayor of Anchorage (1994-2000), and Chris von Imhof, manager of Alyeska ski resort.  The AOC was dedicated to bringing the Winter Olympics to Anchorage, and Rick Mystrom served as the committee’s chairman.  In 1985, the AOC presented a winning bid for the 1992 Winter Olympics to the U.S. Olympic Committee, but the International Olympic Committee ultimately awarded the host site to Albertville, France in 1986.  Anchorage was again selected as a contender for the 1994 Winter Olympics but lost out to Lillehammer, Norway.  The Anchorage Olympic Organizing Committee later also explored the option of submitting a bid for Anchorage for the 1998 Winter Olympics. The collection contains the records of the Anchorage Organizing Committee’s bids for Anchorage to be the host site of the 1992, 1994, and 1998 Winter Olympics, including reports, correspondence, reference files, videos, audiotapes, photographs, artwork, publications, and other committee records.  The collection also contains Rick Mystrom’s personal records from his service on the committee.

Alaska Public Interest Research Group (AKPIRG) records; 1962-1981. 65 cubic feet. HMC-0027. The Alaska Public Interest Research Group is a non-profit citizens group formed by Alaskans in order to meet the need for consumer representation. Box 54 has some materials related to the 1992 bid.

Anchorage Chamber of Commerce records; 1946-2013. 47 cubic feet. HMC-0048. The Anchorage Chamber of Commerce's purpose is to promote and enhance business and community services in the Anchorage community. Boxes 14, 15, 16, and 32 contain materials relating to various bids.

Edwin Crittenden papers; 1941-1988. 21 cubic feet. HMC-0094. Edwin Crittenden's papers include many of his professional records relating to his career as an architect in Anchorage. Box 33 holds proposals and publications related to Anchorage's bid for the 1992 Olympic Winter Games. CCC Architects was involved in the planning.

Karl Eid papers; 1937-2003. 2 cubic feet. HMC-0423. Karl Eid was an Olympic class ski jumper in Germany prior to World War II. In Anchorage, he was active in teaching ski jumping and developing new ski jump facilities in Anchorage. The Karl Eid Ski Jumping Complex at Hilltop Ski Area was named in his honor. Box 3 contains a folder with materials related to Anchorage Organizing Committee activities.

Sharon Gagnon papers; 1973-2004. 4.4 cubic feet. HMC-0446. Sharon Gagnon served on the Anchorage Organizing Committee for the Winter Olympics from 1987-1993. Box 4 contains her papers related to the Olympics.

Charles Konigsberg papers; 1947-1995. 23 cubic feet. HMC-0794 Box 22 contains papers relating to the Anchorage Organizing committee and date from 1987 to 1995.

John and Linda Nelson papers; 1969-1987. 3.7 cubic feet. HMC-0387. John and Linda Nelson ran Alaska Stagecraft, Inc. Box 8 includes one folder relating to the 1992 bid.

Dave Rose papers; 1960-2006. 63 cubic feet. HMC-0977. Box 53 contains materials relating to the 1994 bid.

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip