This is the "Home" page of the "Nursing collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to nursing in Alaska. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCNursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Alaska Health Education Consortium records; 1979-2007. Records of a professional organization dedicated to health education.

Alaska Nurse Practitioner Association records; circa 1976-2011. HMC-1091. These are the records of a professional organization for nurse practitioners. Collection size: 1.0 cubic feet.

Alaska Nurses' Association collection; 1887-1995. HMC-1107. This is a collection of materials related to the history of nursing in Alaska.

Alaska Women’s Oral History Collection oral history tapes and papers; 1965-1982. HMC-0037. The collection includes an interview with Della Keats and several of the interviews touch on health care topics. Collection size: 72 transcripts and 93 audiocassettes.

Betzi and Milo Fritz papers; circa 1930-2009. HMC-1072. The personal and professional papers of a long-time Alaskan doctor and his wife, a nurse.

Marie and Ralph George papers; 1916-2004. HMC-0763. Includes a small amount of papers related to Marie Brown’s involvement with the Providence Hospital Auxiliary from 1988-2004. Collection size: 2.25 cubic feet.

Effie Anderson Graham papers; 1918-2002. HMC-0683. Professional papers of a nursing educator and menstrual cycle researcher. Collection size: 0.7 cubic feet.

Elinor Delight Gregg video; 1939. HMC-0424. Video copy of a film of this public health nurse’s trip to various locations in Alaska. Collection size: 1 videotape.

Merrill E. Grube photographs; 1965-1978. HMC-0124. This collection from a UAA/ACC photographer includes photographs related to medical technology, dental, and nursing programs taught at UAA and ACC.  Collection size: 9.6 cubic feet.

Lois A. Hornberger photograph album; 1943. HMC-0730. Album of a nurse who worked in Nome.

Eugenia Wassell Ohls papers; 1944-1991. HMC-0371. Professional papers of an Alaskan public health nurse.  Collection size: 0.25 cubic feet.

Norma M. Purdy papers; 1951-1962. HMC-1028-AHS. Correspondence, color slides and memorabilia of nurse stationed at Elmendorf Air Force Base.

Philip and Retta Reed papers; 1915-1981. HMC-0401. Retta Reed was a nurse and while most of the collection consists of Philip’s papers, the photographs include a few images of the Noorvik hospital and medical personnel from the early 1920s. Collection size: 1.5 cubic feet.

Virginia Terrill papers; 1940-1992. HMC-0432. Primarily the personal papers of a public health nurse and medical transcriptionist. Collection size: 1.7 cubic feet.

Dixie West photograph album; 1942-1945. HMC-0127. Personal photograph album of a nurse in Ketchikan, the album includes photographs of the hospital personnel and building as well as of the Alaska Dept. of Health’s vessel, the MS Hygiene. Collection size: 0.25 cubic feet.

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip