Skip to main content

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

Collections relating to the Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives that include Iditarod race related records.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women in Alaska collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links below to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of the Archives’ holdings by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of the Iditarod, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below. For further information and collections which contain dog mushing material specifically, please see Dog Mushing: The Official Alaska State Sport topic guide also available through the Consortium Library. 

Alaska On Line, conversations with Red Boucher videocassettes; 1994-2003. HMC-0510. This collection consists of recordings of Alaska On Line, a weekly public affairs television program. The collection includes an interview with Joe Redington about the Iditarod and dog mushing in Alaska (dated 1995 April 1) and an interview with Dee Dee Jonrowe about scratching from an Iditarod race (dated 1999 April 14). 

Bill Bacon photograph files; 1945-2004. HMC-0991. The collection contains the photographs, color slides, and subject files of Bill Bacon, who was an Alaskan photographer and filmmaker. Included in the subject files, are information relating to Iditarod publications and dog sledding. 

Greg Gibbs memorabilia; 1967-2001. HMC-0701. The collection contains memorabilia from various Alaskan organizations and events. The collections include Iditarod wood buttons and iron-on patches. 

Marion and Thomas Gregory photographs and sound recording; 1932-2002. HMC-0809. The collection contains slides, photographs, and other records of long-time Anchorage residents. Among the photographs and slides are images of the Iditarod, mainly the Anchorage ceremonial start during Fur Rendezvous. 

Iditarod Trail Centennial Sled Dog Rage program; 1967. EPH-0280.

Susan Ruddy papers; 1911-1988. HMC-0710. A majority of the collection relates to the Iditarod, including photographs, news clippings used for research, and a short history, “The Iditarod,” written by Ruddy and Neil Menschel.

Ruth A.M. Schmidt papers; 1912-2014. HMC-0792. The collection contains the papers of Ruth Schmidt, the majority of which pertain to her career as a geologist. However the collection does include some photographs of the Iditarod start, both the ceremonial start in Anchorage during Fur Rendezvous and the restart. 

Arliss Sturgulewski papers; 1974-2014. HMC-0467. While the collection contains materials primarily related to Sturgulewski’s political career, the collection does contain some records related to the Iditarod Trail Committee Advisory Council.

Loren Taft papers; circa 1950-2004. HMC-1117. The collection contains photographs and papers of an Alaskan wildlife photographer. While the collection mainly contains photographs related to Alaskan wildlife, there are some of the Iditarod. 

UAA. University Relations photographs; 1967-2000. HMC-0043. Photographs created or collected by the University Relations office. The collection contains photographs of Joe Garnie presenting a copy of the U.S. Constitution to Nome after he'd carried it through the race and Susan Butcher in Nome at the Iditarod finish.

Susan Winton photographs; 1989-2000. HMC-1176. Susan Winton was an Alaska resident and professional photographer. While the collection contains photographs relating to many subjects, animals, and scenic views, the collection does include a folder with images of the 1992 Iditarod. 

Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1989-1999. HMC-0353. The collection includes a folder containing a containing photographs of Iditarod dog teams, as well as Iditarod related subject files. 

 

 

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page