Skip to Main Content

Poetry archival collections

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Birding and bird conservation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fairbanks, Alaska

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Homer, Alaska

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Poetry collections

The collections listed in this guide are the papers of poets or literary organizations that supported the work of poets. Many other collections in the Archives have poetry content. You can use the search box on each page linked below to keyword search through all the collection descriptions.

Ann Chandonnet papers; 1942-2007. HMC-0085. Personal papers, writings, and research files of an Alaskan poet, author, and journalist.

Ruben Gaines papers; 1952-1983. HMC-0110. Papers and recordings of an Alaskan poet and storyteller.

Harpoon records; 1978-1982. HMC-0130. Documents related to an Alaskan literary journal.

Literary Artists Guild of Alaska records; 1981-1982. HMC-0164. Records of an organization that arranged workshops and conferences for Alaskan writers and promoted and publicized the works and products of Alaskan writers

Margaret G. Mielke papers; 1942-1980. HMC-0176. Papers of the first Alaskan Poet Laureate.

Dale A. Stirling papers; 1980-1986. HMC-0235. Records of the editor and publisher of an informal literary journal, Poetry North Review.

Joanne Townsend papers; 1962-2015. HMC-0246. Papers of a former Poet Laureate for Alaska.

Thomas William papers; 1972-1994. HMC-0129. Literary papers of an Alaskan author and poet.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website