African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
Women’s organizations and women’s issues
Follow the links to guides to archival collections at Archives & Special Collections that relate to labor relations. This is not a complete list. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Note: many legislator's papers have materials about Alaska laws regarding labor issues. Collections related to legislators and politiciansare listed in the research guide to Alaska State Legislators and legislation.
Alaska Health Project records; 1979-1994. HMC-0419. Records of a private, non-profit organization founded to address issues of hazardous materials in the workplace and in the community.
Alaska Public Interest Research Group records; 1962-2008. HMC-0027. The Alaska Public Interest Research Group is a non-profit citizens group formed by Alaskans in order to meet the need for consumer representation The collection several files on labor relations, including labor issues voting records of the Alaska Legislature, canneries in Kodiak, and a file regarding Laborers Local 942.
Alaska State AFL-CIO records; 1943-1989. HMC-0029. Included are the constitution, annual and biennial meeting records, executive council minutes, papers and correspondence files, subject files, and historical files.
Ferrall W. Campbell papers; 1953-1963. HMC-0364. Papers relating to labor organizations in Alaska.
Russell Dow papers; 1917-1992. HMC-0396. Series six includes labor union documents and employment records.
Walter J. Hickel papers; 1950-2010. HMC-0660. Walter Hickel served as U.S. Secretary of the Interior, was a two-time Alaska Governor, and businessman who was very involved in northern regions public policy development. The collection consists of records documenting Wally Hickel’s career. The collection also includes files relating to Coal mine health and safety hearings before the Subcommittee on Labor, as well Hickel's speeches on the subject of labor.
Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees Union. Local 878 records; 1942-1997. HMC-1335. Records of a labor union in Anchorage, Alaska.
Joe Josephson papers; 1983-1988. HMC-0409. Papers of an Alaska Senate member which include materials related to labor matters.
Lorena Showers papers; 1939-2000. HMC-0221. Papers of HERE union and senior citizen issues activist.
Lowell Thomas Jr. papers; 1953-1990. HMC-1258. Lowell Thomas Jr. was an Alaska State Senator and Lieutenant Governor of Alaska. This collection includes a subject file Thomas kept on labor unions, as well as Labor Committee files, which include the Plumbers Code bill, Operating Engineers Local 302 discrimination, petitions, grievances, and information, and Special Senate Labor Committee.
Alaska "Cope" Reporter; 1963-1969. EPH-0442
Alaska Federationist; 1947-1948, 1953-1954. EPH-0443
Alaska Labor Log newletters; 1970-1971. EPH-0438
Alaska Labor News; 1956-1961. EPH-0441
Laundry and dry cleaning union documents; 1958-1969. EPH-0091
Local 878 Review newsletter; 1964-1983. EPH-0439
Views and News, Up to Date with 878 newsletter; 1977, 1979. EPH-0440