Skip to Main Content

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge archival collections

This guide includes archival collections with content related to the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

 

Subject Guides

1930s collections

1964 Alaska earthquake 

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill

Advocacy

African American history in Alaska

Alaska before 1900

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood

Alaska Highway construction

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation 

Alaskan leadership 

Anchorage charter commissions

Anchorage history 

Anchorage Winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2

Anthropology

Archives in Alaska

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

Arctic research

Aviation

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline 

Capital move 

Christianity in Alaska

Cold War era (1945-1992) 

Communications systems

Cooking and nutrition

Creative writing

Education

Engineering

Fine arts

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries

Fur Rendezvous

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany

Geography and environmental studies

Geology related

Gold rush

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hatcher Pass area 

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska 

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race

International 

Jesse Lee Home

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor 

Law 

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying 

Matanuska Colony 

Medicine and health 

Miners and mining collections

Natural disasters

Non-English language collections

Nursing 

Performing arts

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas

Poetry

Railroads

Senior Citizen issues and advocacy

Seward, Alaska

Skiing and mountaineering

Steamships 

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

United States. Air Force

United States. Coast Guard 

Women’s organizations and women’s issues

World War II in Alaska 

Arctic National Wildlife Refuge

The National Arctic Wildlife Range, 8.9 million acres, was established by Public Land Order 2214 in December 1960. In 1980, with the passage of the Alaska National Interest Lands Conservation Act (ANILCA), the size was brought to over 19 million acres and it was renamed the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge (ANWR). This is a listing of archival collections with materials related to ANWR and the land encompassed within its boundaries in the holdings of Archives and Special Collections at the UAA/APU Consortium Library. It may not be a complete list of all the related materials in the holdings of the Archives. Researchers may wish to search the Archives site for a more comprehensive look at our collection guides. Each page of the Archives website has a keyword search box. 

Archival collections related to ANWR

 

The collections listed below have content related to ANWR. Some of the inventories are lengthy. As many of the folder or box descriptions were transcribed directly off of the original labels, you may find it easiest to keyword search within the document by ANWR or individual words within Arctic National Wildlife Refuge or Range to find the relevant content.

Other related subject guides

The following are additional subject guides to Archives collections that may include collections with content relevant to ANWR.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website