You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.
Little Brother (Bob Engles), brokendown. Image of man standing beside a bulldozer, during the construction of the Alaska Highway. Lyle Sherman Leseberg photograph albums, Alaska Historical Society collections, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
A construction worker poses next to a cable excavator and a dump truck with driver. Thomas Saplak photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
View of buildings in Alaska Highway Camp 9 in 1943, during the highway's construction. Millard Preston photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
Heavy Duty Grader on Section of ALCAN Highway Skirting a Mountain Lake. Albert Weir photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.
African American history in Alaska
Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood
Alaska state legislators and legislation
Anchorage Winter Olympics bids
Arctic National Wildlife Refuge
Businesses, clubs, and organizations
Fishing, fisheries, and canneries
Fur trading, trapping, and farming
Geography and environmental studies
Non-English language collections
Senior Citizen issues and advocacy
Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage
The Alaska Highway runs from Dawson Creek, British Columbia, to Delta Junction, Alaska, where it joins the Richardson Highway before reaching Fairbanks. The original military highway was built by the U. S. Army and civilian contractors in 1942 to 1943.The following collections deal primarily with the early construction of both the Alaska Highway. The archives also holds collections related to early travelers and tourists on the Alaska Highway, which was opened to civilian traffic in 1947. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.
For collections at archives, libraries, and museums across Alaska related to construction of the Alaska Highway, please visit the guide to Alaska Highway construction primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED)
Please note: if you're seeking information about an individual who worked on the Alaska Highway construction, you might want to read our blog entry about that topic before planning a visit. If you're in search of military records about the construction--personnel or otherwise--you'll probably want to start your research with the National Archives. Many of the other Alaska archives also hold records from individuals involved in the construction, so please be sure to search those as well.
About the Library | Contact Us | FAQ | Giving to the Library | Site Search
UA is committed to providing accessible websites.
UA is an affirmative action/equal opportunity employer, educational institution, and provider and prohibits illegal discrimination against any individual. Learn more about UA's notice of nondiscrimination.
