This is the "Home" page of the "Matanuska Colony" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Matanuska Colony  

Collections with archival materials that relate to the Matanuska Colony, a New Deal project in which families from Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Chicago settled in Matanuska and Palmer.
Last Updated: May 10, 2012 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/MatanuskaColony Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Matanuska Colony related collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

C. Earl Albrecht papers; 1905-1996. HMC-0375. Personal and professional papers of a doctor who came to work in Palmer colony in 1935.

Glenn H. Bowersox photographs and papers; 1937-2005. HMC-0731. Between 1931 and 1939, Bowersox served as the radio operator and purser aboard the USMS Boxer and the USMS North Star that bought and shipped supplies to government agencies such as the Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation (Matanuska Colony). Collection includes photographs of Matanuska Colonists traveling to and arriving in Alaska.

Ruby I. Cashen papers papers; 1935-1937. HMC-0421. The collection consists of an article and photographs relating to the Matanuska Colony.

"Rusty" Dow papers; 1910-1989. HMC-0397. Papers of a woman who moved to Palmer in 1934 and opened her own trucking firm.

Almer Peterson papers; 1935-1948. HMC-0413. Primarily photographs related to an attorney’s residence in Palmer colony.

Maxine Reed papers; 1900-1994, undated. HMC-0443. Contains one aerial photograph of Tent City, Palmer Colony. 

Jerome F. Sheldon papers; 1886-1994, undated. HMC-0220. Series 5, folder 8 contains Matanuska Valley Colony stories appearing in The Frontiersman in 1985 (50th Anniversary), a facsimile copy of the Matanuska Valley Pioneer, Vol. 1, No. 1 of Aug. 22, 1935, and copy of article by Ruth C. Allman sent to The Frontiersman in 1955 on the history of the Matanuska Valley Pioneer.

Frances and Harry Walton correspondence; 1923-1952. hmc-0342. Primarily letters relating to their life in Alaska, including their stay in the Matanuska Colony.

David Williams Matanuska Project papers; 1935-1939. HMC-0350. 3 reels, microfilm. Government archictect assigned to the position of Chief Engineer for the Federal Engineer for the Federal Settlement Project (the Matanuska Colony Project) in Palmer, Alaska, in 1936.

For government records regarding the Matanuska Colony, contact NARA (National Archives Records Administration). NARA holds the Alaska Rural Rehabilitation Corporation records.  

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip