Skip to main content

Greenspace collections

This topic guide contains collections related to greenspace in Alaska.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women in Alaska collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Greenspace collections

The following list is a listing of materials in the Archives that relate to greenspace in Alaska.  Be sure to use the search mechanism on the Archives website to search more specific topics.

Alaska Center for the Environment records; 1909-1992.  HMC-0005.  Alaska Center for the Environment (ACE) is a non-profit organization that lobbies for environmental issues, such as public lands conservation, clean air and water, subsistence, and land use. The collection consists of records relating to the operation, management, and activities of ACE.

Alaska-Pacific Consolidated Mining Company records; 1885-1989.  HMC-0023.  This company ran the Independence Mine at Hatcher Pass, among others, in the Willow Creek Mining District. In 982, the Independence Mine State Park officially opened. The collection primarily consists of the mining company records, as well as operational records. However, Part III of the collection does contain research files, oral histories, and photographs collected by the Alaska Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation in preparation for the opening of the Independence Mine State Historical Park.

Anchorage Waterways Council records; 1979-1991.  HMC-0393.  A nonprofit organization created to protect, restore, and enhance wetlands, and associated uplands of Anchorage. The organization advocated for water quality and runs the volunteer Citizens Environment Program, Creeks as Classrooms, and Adopt a Stream programs. The collection consists of their organizational records, as well as other related materials concerning waterways in Anchorage.

Arctic Institute of North America, Alaska Chapter records; 1973-1979.  HMC-0061.  Records of the Alaska branch of a joint American-Canadian organization dedicated to developing northern lands with concern for the environment and the quality of life of northern people.

Brooks Range Trust records; 1969-1984.  HMC-0076.  Brooks Range Trust was an organization dedicated to the conservation of the Brooks Range. The trust worked towards establishing a national park in the Brooks Range. This collection consists of the organization’s records.

Home And Landowners Organization, Inc. (HALO) records; 1973-2012. HMC-1125.  This collection consists of documents relating to HALO, a non-profit organization focused on land use issues in Southeast Anchorage. Records include HALO’s articles of incorporation, bylaws, candidate forums records, correspondence, land use planning issues records (ex. Hillside District Plan), lawsuits, minutes, digital photographs, and newsletters.

Neil C. Johannsen  Alaska State Parks history collection; 1970-1995. HMC-1046.  This collection primarily contains materials related to the development of the Alaska state park system and preserves much of the first 25 years of history of the Alaska State Park System. Many of the records detail the establishment of nearly 50 state parks, marine parks, recreation areas and historical sites established during the nearly 13 years Mr. Johannsen was director of the State Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreation.

Charles Konigsberg papers; circa 1947-1995.  HMC-0794.  Charles Konigsberg taught political science at Alaska Methodist University (now Alaska Pacific University). He later worked as a research analyst for the Arctic Environmental Information and Data Center (AEIDC). He was also an advocate for environmental issues in Alaska, especially the D-2 clause of the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act, and he founded the Alaska Center for the Environment in 1971. This collection does include his work for AEIDC. as well as related papers regarding environment issues in Alaska.

People’s Vote Must Count Committee records; 1981.  HMC-0198.  The committee was organized in 1981 to oppose the construction of a Convention Center on Block 42 in downtown Anchorage and to uphold the 1965 Anchorage initiative which dedicated that block to becoming a park. The collection consists of correspondence, legal documents, speech notes, petitions, meeting notices, newspaper ads and clippings concerning Proposition 10, the Anchorage Assembly, and Block 42.

Ruth Arcand Park Project papers; 1968-1985.  HMC-0217.  Ruth Arcand served for four years on the first borough parks and recreation board, and has also served as a board member to the Anchorage Ski Club, Hilltop Youth Inc., and the Huffman-O'Malley Community Council. The collection consists of correspondence, letters of testimony, legal documents, newspaper clippings, newsletters, and other materials concerning Section 16, Ruth Arcand, and her efforts to get Section 16 declared park land.

Jim Wanamaker papers; 1969-2009.  HMC-1108.  Jim Wanamaker served as an assistant District Attorney and District Attorney for the 3rd District Court in Anchorage in the 1960s. The majority of the collection consists of records relating to the Citizen's Committee to Save Chester Creek Greenbelt Park and other transportation issues. It includes court pleadings, correspondence, clippings, and position papers.

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page