Skip to main content

Governors of Alaska, archival collections

Collections held by Archives & Special Collections from Governors of Alaska.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native and foreign language collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Tourism in Alaska

Women in Alaska collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Advocacy collections

These are collections of papers created by former Governors of Alaska held by Archives and Special Collections. These individuals may be reflected in archival collections created by other individuals or organizations that are not listed here. For a more comprehensive search of ASC's archival materials relating to a specific person, please keyword search that individual's name from the main Archives webpage.

These collections may have only limited amounts of official gubernatorial records as the official papers of the Office of the Governor are typically transferred to the Alaska State Archives.

Alfred P. Swineford, Governor of the Territory of Alaska, 1885-1889.

George A. Parks, Governor of the Territory of Alaska, 1925-1933.

George A. Parks photographs, 1925-1931. HMC-0892. Six press photographs of the Alaska territorial governor.

Walter J. Hickel, Governor of Alaska, 1966-1969, 1990-1994.

  • Walter J. Hickel papers; 1950-2010. HMC-0660. Papers of a former U.S. Secretary of the Interior, two-time Alaska Governor, and businessman who was very involved in northern regions public policy development.

Jay S. Hammond, Governor of Alaska, 1974-1982.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
http://consortiumlibrary.org/archives
Website / Blog Page