This is the "Home" page of the "World War II in Alaska" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World War II in Alaska   Tags: archives, history, military, primary_sources, war, world war ii, world_war_ii, wwii  

Collections in Archives and Special Collection that contain materials related to World War II in Alaska.
Last Updated: May 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.consortiumlibrary.org/ASCWorldWarIIcollections Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

World War II in Alaska collections

Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

Albert S. and Patricia Aiken World War II papers; 1940-1945, 1991. hmc-0700. Scrapbook, letters and other papers of a U.S. Army Air Corps fighter pilot and his wife.

Alaska's Japanese Pioneers Research Project records; 1900-1991, 1994.  Inventory. hmc-0374.

C. Earl Albrecht papers; 1905-1996. hmc-0375. During World War II, C. Earl Albrecht was called into active duty and served at Fort Richardson’s 183rd Station Hospital.

John W. Albright. World War II Photograph Album; ca. 1942-1944. hmc-0542. Photograph album of soldier in the Eleventh Air Force U.S. Army Air Force during World  War II.

Anchorage Pioneers Oral History Project. Oral history transcripts; 1992-1995.  hmc-0466. Individuals interviewed for this project were people who either lived in the city before 1940 or came to Alaska during or directly after World War II.

Kenneth D. Andress reminiscenes; 1937-1943. hmc-0058. During his interview, Kenneth D. Andress describes his experiences while stationed at Cold Bay during World War II.

Russell Annabel papers. hmc-0516. United Press war correspondent in Alaska during World War II.

Anonymous 351st Quartermaster Company Soldier. World War II Photograph Album; 1942-1944. hmc-0828. Photograph album of soldier stationed at Fort Richardson and Fort Ray in Sitka.

Anonymous Coast Artillery Soldier. World War II Photographs; n.d., 1941. hmc-0578. Photos of a cook with the 75th Coast Artillery, stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II.

Anonymous Japanese Sailor. World War II Photographs and Cigarette Packet; ca. 1942-1945. hmc-0832. Personal snapshots of sailor who served in the Aleutians.

Anonymous Navy Seabee. World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1936, 1939, 1941-1944. hmc-0570. Sailor stationed on Kodiak Island in 1943.

Anonymous U. S. Coast Guard Women's Reservist. World War II Photographs; 1944-1945. hmc-0747. Reservist who served at Ketchikan.

Anonymous United States Navy Seaman. World War II Photograph Album; 1942-1944, 1950. hmc-0647. Seaman who served at Dutch Harbor.

Walter N. Argabright World War II photograph album; 1944-1954. hmc-0599.Employee with Alaska Air Depot at Fort Rchardson in 1944-1945.

Armed Forces Radio In Sitka And Kodiak. Oral History Project. Transcripts; 1981-1984. hmc-0062. Transcripts of oral history interviews with people involved in the Armed Forces Radio stations at Sitka and Kodiak during World War II.

Charles W. Arvidson (1898-1972). Canol Pipeline Construction Photograph Album and Additional Photographs; 1943-1947. hmc-0567. Carpentry foreman on the construction project.

John Carroll Benton. World War II Papers and Photograph Album; 1930-1949. hmc-0645. U.S. Army Coast Artillery officer who served in the Sitka area.

Herman August Frank Binschus (1896-1979). Application and Permit to Enter Alaska; 1943. hmc-0612. Application to the Western Defense Command Alaska Travel Control.

William K. Boardman (1915-1993). Papers; ca. 1940-1985. Inventory. hmc-0072. Personal and business papers of a former speaker of the house in the Alaska Legislature. During World War II, he joined the U.S. Coast guard.

Walter D. Bradshaw. World War II Aleutian Scrapbook; 1942-1943. hmc-0974. Scrap book of Army soldier stationed at Umnak and Attu.

Robert E. Brennan. World War II Letters; 1942. hmc-0962.  Letters of a U.S. Army Corps of Engineer soldier who worked on the Alaska Highway.

George K. "Steve" Brodie (b. 1907). Papers; 1934, 1938-1941. hmc-0378. Papers and photographs of an officer in the U. S. Navy in Kodiak in 1938 and was in Samoa in 1941.

David K. Brown. Photographs and Papers; 1942-1981, 2002. hmc-0658. Army and career federal government engineer who worked on the Whittier Tunnel.

William "Bill" Burnett. World War II Letter; 1941. hmc-0811. 73rd Bombardment Squadron soldier stationed at Elmendorf Field.

Louis A. Campi. World War II Photograph Album and Scrapbook; 1941-1945, 1951-1952. hmc-0545. Papers, service patches, and photographs of soldier who served in the Service Co., 53rd Infantry Reg., at Adak.

John J. Cape World War II papers; 1941-1942, 1944. hmc-0812. 11th Fighter Squadron pilot killed in action near Dutch Harbor.

Cesare Carlucci. World War II Papers; ca. 1943-1945. hmc-0083. Primarily photographs of soldier in the 18th Engineers, U. S. Army.

Kenneth T. Combs (1911-1991). World War II Letters; 1943. hmc-0815. U. S. Army soldier stationed at Shemya Island.

Levi Whitner Cook (1914-1996). World War II Photographs and Papers; n.d., 1938, 1942-1944, 1961. hmc-0767. Soldier of the 102nd Signal Radio Intelligence Co. stationed at Fort Richardson.

Louise Copeland. World War II Letters; 1943-1944. hmc-0765. Woman who worked for a U. S. Army engineering unit stationed at Ladd Field in Fairbanks.

Leon Crane. World War II Papers; 1943. hmc-0093. Papers concerning test pilot and the crash of his B-24 bomber.

Lucy Hon Cuddy papers; 1925-1946, 1979. hmc-0095. Alaskan school teacher and wife of a prominent banker who relates in her diary the experience of losing her son, David, in World War II.

Walter W. Cummings (1922-2000). World War II Papers; 1939-1945. hmc-0951. Army Air Forces soldier who served at Fort Mears in Dutch Harbor.

James W. Cunningham (1918-1989). World War II Scrapbook; 1942-1945. hmc-0911. 78th Coast Artillery (Anti-aircraft) soldier who served on Attu Island.

Lawrence M. Demers. Photograph Album; n.d., 1929, 1937, 1939-1944. hmc-0748. Civil Aeronautics Authority construction worker at Galena from 1939 to 1944.

James R. Denison (1906-1995). World War II Scrapbook; 1942-1944. hmc-0827.

Barth Dolezal (1916-1988). Northwest Service Command Photograph Album; 1943-1944. hmc-0940. Employee of the engineering section of the Northwest Division of the U.S.E.D. in Edmonton, Alberta, during World War II.

Bruce R. Douglas photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0756. 11th Air Force airplane mechanic stationed at Fort Richardson.

Benzie Ola "Rusty" Dow (1894-1989). Papers; ca. 1910-1989. hmc-0397. Papers and photographs of an Alaskan artist and drayage operator. During World War II, Rusty Dow was a driver for the Quartermaster Corps, Colonel Benjamin Talley of the Army Engineers Area Office, and General Simon Buckner, all at Fort Richardson.

Russell W. Dow (1915-1992). Papers; 1917-1992. hmc-0396. Papers and photographs of an Alaskan heavy equipment operator and photographer. He was also a ski instructor for the U.S. Army at Fort Richardson from 1940-1945.

Keith Egan photograph album; 1941-1943, 1954-1955, 1962. hmc-0605. Soldier in the 75th Coast Artillery, stationed at Fort Richardson.

Otto W. Eggerman scrapbook; circa 1943. hmc-0523. Soldier of  Company F, 2nd Battalion, 58th Infantry Regiment, stationed in Alaska.

Eleventh Air Force Association newsletter files; 1989-2001. hmc-0558. The Eleventh Air Force Association was created to perpetuate the history of the 11th Air Force in World War II. This collection contains newsletters and newsletter preparation files from a military veterans association.

Eleventh Air Force Reunion. World War Ii History Project. Records; 1940-1946, 1987-1990. hmc-0365. The collection contains oral history interviews and the project’s records.

Thelma Fetters. World War II Scrapbook; 1942-1943. hmc-0485. War related clippings and Anchorage photographs.

Howard R. Filer (d. 1987). Papers; 1937, 1940-1941, 1956. hmc-0476. Construction worker for the U.S. Army in Alaska during World War II.

Gerald T. Flynn (11th A. F. Assn. Col.). World War II Photographs; n.d., 1942-1944. hmc-0594. Soldier who served with the 54th Fighter Squadron, 11th Air Force, at Attu Island.

Harold G. Forster (1911-1998). World War II Photograph Album; 1942-1945. hmc-0864. Eleventh Air Force soldier who served in the Ordinance Department at Elmendorf Field.

Andy Fossum papers; 1941-1945. hmc-0521. Letters and photos of U. S. Army Corps of Engineers soldier stationed at Fort Raymond in Seward.

Henry K. "Hank" Frese (1922-2004). World War II Veterans' Papers and Photographs; 1942-2003. hmc-0862. Photographic technician and aerial photographer who served at Shemya Air Base.

George Gelbish. World War II Photographs; ca. 1943. hmc-0715. Navy athletic competition at Kodiak and fire damage to Holy Resurrection Church.

Ralph H. Gilmore (1920-2000). World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1941-1945, 1961. hmc-0739. Soldier in the 1st Battalion, 4th Infantry Regiment, who served in Alaska.

Charles A. Goodspeed (1908-2004). World War II Scrapbook; 1922, 1930, 1933, 1941-1945. hmc-0817. U.S. Navy intelligence officer in the 7th Fleet who was stationed in Juneau and Sitka.

Arnold E. Grahl (1912-1982). World War II Letter; Feb. 9, 1945. hmc-0755. Letter written by a serviceman at Ft. Richardson to his wife in New Jersey.

Otto K. Gralert. World War II Scrapbook; 1942-1945. hmc-0550. Papers, artifacts, and photographs of a clerk with the 179th Station Hospital on Adak.

Deloise W. Graves. World War II Photographs and Papers; 1942-1945, 1963. hmc-0543. U.S. Army soldier in a quartermaster unit stationed at Adak.

Hans And Margaret Hafemeister. Papers; 1943-1995. hmc-0126. Hans Hafemeister's diaries chronicle his experiences on the Aleutian Island of Kiska during World War II, his life in Seward, and his travels.

Vincent E. Hagen photograph album. hmc-1067-AHS. Photographs taken by a U.S. Army Signal Corps corporal who served in Alaska during World War II.

J. D. Hanson. World War II Photograph Album; 1941-1943. hmc-0866. Seaman on the U.S. Coast Guard Cutter Aurora in Alaska waters during the war.

J. B. "Georgia" Harper. Photograph Album and Papers; n.d., 1944-1945. hmc-0592. The collection consists of J. B. "Georgia" Harper's photograph album and related papers concerning the construction of an aircraft runway at Galena Army Airbase during World War II.

Richard Holmes Hazard. World War II Papers; 1943-1944. hmc-0544. Papers and photos relating to his service in the United State Navy during the war.

John Andrew Higgins. World War II Scrapbook; 1914, 1926-27, 1942-1946, 1950. hmc-0538. Scrapbook with photos of a U.S. Navy Seabee who worked in Whitehorse in 1945.

Herb Hilscher papers; 1905-1996. hmc-1001. During World War II, he served in the Office of Strategic Services in the Aleutians.

Elmer H. Hoode. World War II Scrapbook; n.d., 1943. hmc-0568. U.S. Marine stationed at Dutch Harbor.

Arthur W. Hope (1915-2004). World War II Photographs and Papers; n.d., 1944. hmc-0790. Allison Engines employee who visited Alaska concerning Lend-Lease aircraft for Russia.

Lois A. Hornberger. World War II Photograph Album; 1943. hmc-0730. Album of apparent nurse who worked in Nome.

Wesley Housman; Photographs; n.d., 1937-1945. hmc-0533. Personal photograph albums of soldier who served on Adak Island during World War II.

William R. Howerton World War II photographs. hmc-1097. Photographs taken by a soldier during his time in Seward.

James B. Hoxie (1908-1971). World War II Photograph Album; 1944-1945. hmc-0713. U. S. Army Signal Corps soldier who served in Seward and Fairbanks.

George E. Jackson. World War II Photographs and Identification Card; 1943-1945. hmc-0949. 205th Engineers soldier who served on Attu Island.

Harold H. Jackson. World War II Scrapbook; 1940-1945. hmc-0652. Seabee who served in the 85th U.S. Navy Construction Battalion.

Lawrence J. Juipe (1919-2001). World War II Letters; 1942. hmc-0889. Letters from U. S. Army soldier in transport to Alaska by steamship.

Dick H. Kastrup. World War II Photograph Album; 1941-1945. hmc-0585. Attu, Kiska, and Kwajalein photos of U.S. Army infantry sergeant, 17th Infantry Regiment, 7th Infantry Division.

Lawrence Knight. World War II Photograph Album; 1943-1945. hmc-0674. Soldier in a weather forecasting unit at Fort Glenn and Yakutat.

Kodiak Community Oral History Project. Transcripts; 1971-1983. hmc-0155. Transcripts of oral history interviews with long-time Kodiak residents. Interviews cover multiple topics, one of which is life in Kodiak during World War II. 

Rosalind Endter Koesting. Correspondence and Contracts; n.d., 1943-1946. hmc-0630. Schoolteacher who taught in the Anchorage Public Schools in the 1944-1945 school year who participated in various USO dances in Anchorages.

Olavi V. Kukkola papers; 1941-1964. hmc-1084. Papers and photographs of a Finnish-American engineer who worked on the Whittier tunnel during World War II.

Charles David Lee. World War II Photographs and Papers; n.d., 1940, 1944, 1945. hmc-0577. Soldier with the Eleventh Air Force who served at Adak.

John F. Lhotka, Jr. (1921-1993). World War II Papers and Photographs; 1942-1946. hmc-0928. Chemical Warfare Service officer who served at Fort Richardson and Adak Army Air Field.

Earl J. Lucier. World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1944. hmc-0621.

William E. Maas photograph album; 1943. hmc-0966. Photograph album from a seaman in the 51st U. S. Naval Construction Battalion stationed at Dutch Harbor

Fred and Sara Machetanz oral history interviews; 1988-1994. hmc-0440. Oral history interviews with an Alaskan illustrator and author. In tape three, Fred Machetanz speaks about his experiences during World War II.

John Macomber photographs; circa 1943-1996. hmc-0602. Photographs and papers of an Eleventh Air Force serviceman in Alaska during World War II.

Nicandro Mancha photograph album; 1942-1943. hmc-0855. Photograph album of a Mexican-American serviceman who was stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II.

Lawrence E. Marx photographs; 1942-1943. hmc-0581. World War II-era photographs taken at the Nome Air Base.

Fred Matthieu letters; 1943-1944. hmc-0560. Letters written by a U. S. Army soldier to his mother while he was stationed in Alaska during World War II

James H. McCarmack letters; 1944-1945. hmc-0919. Letters written by a soldier stationed at Attu, Alaska.

Henry W. McQuie World War II photograph album; 1942-1944. hmc-0899. U.S. Army soldier who was stationed at Cordova.

Clyde Medlin World War II photograph albums; undated, 1945. hmc-0907. U. S. Coast Guard seaman who served in Southeast Alaska.

E. J. Megonigal World War II letter; 1943. hmc-0898. Letter to friends from Seabee serving in the Aleutians with the 32nd Naval Construction Battalion.

Sterling L. Merryman World War II photographs and publications; 1943-1944. hmc-0688. Seabee with the Second Detachment, 85th Naval Construction Battalion.

Joseph Roger Mondor papers and photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0734. Personal papers and photographs of a soldier who served in the 324th Port Battalion in Seward during World War II.

Joseph G. Moretti World War II letters; 1943. hmc-0897. Letters to friends from Seabee serving in the Aleutians with the 32nd Naval Construction Battalion.

JOHN J. OVERMEYER, JR. (1920-1994). World War II Letter; 1944. hmc-0961. 11th Airborne Air Control Squadron soldier stationed at Fort Glenn.

Peter R. and Beulah Marrs Parisi papers; 1938-1995.  hmc-0445. Papers, scrapbooks, and photographs of a USO worker in Anchorage during World War II.

Miriam E. Patty World War II scrapbook; 1943-1944. HMC-0759.Civilian war worker stationed with the Army Air Corps in Alaska.

Leo Pegloski.  World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1944-1945. hmc-0952. 1416th Army Air Force Base Unit soldier who served at Nome Air Base.

"Mill" Plum. World War II Photograph Album; 1942-1944. hmc-0629. Technical sergeant stationed in the Aleutians.

John Potter (d. 1984). World War II Papers; 1942-1943, 1945. hmc-0203.Bomber pilot in Alaska.

Francis E. Queever (1912-1991). World War II Photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0878. Soldier in the Headquarters Company of the Alaska Defense Command at Fort Richardson.

Allen D. Raney. World War II Letters; 1944. hmc-0646. Company I, 364th Infantry Regiment soldier stationed at Adak Army Airfield.

Otto P. Rice (1917-2003). World War II Letters; 1942. hmc-0942. Soldier of the 420th Coast Artillery who served at Fort Raymond and Fort Richardson.

Matthew M. Rigley, Jr. (1905-1977). World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1942-1945, 1948, 1957, 1969. hmc-0863. U. S. Army Reserve Corps field artillery soldier stationed at Fort Greely on Kodiak Island.

Richard Rissman photographs; 1942-1944. hmc-0534. Images from a Chemical Warfare Service soldier and amateur photographer stationed at Fort Richardson during World War II.

Thomas Sampson. World War II Photograph Album; 1942-1945. hmc-0509. U.S. Naval Reserve sailor in the 41st Construction Battallion who served in Alaska.

Harry C. Schiller. World War II Papers; 1941-1945. hmc-0597. Member of 7th Infantry Division Band that played for soldiers in the Aleutians.

Polly Petty Sharp. Papers; 1944-1945, 1966. hmc-0441. USO worker in Anchorage during World War II.

Tony Simola. World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1934, 1942-1943, 1949. hmc-0525. Soldier in the Army Engineers Area Office at Fort Richardson in Anchorage.

Hugh Enyeart Smith. World War II Letters; 1942-1943, 1946. hmc-0633. Letters of Seabee member to his girlfriend in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Gordon R. Sterud. World War II Photograph Album; 1941-1942. hmc-0656. Soldier in the 201st Infantry Regiment, who served at Fort Greely in Kodiak.

Allison E. Stoars (1918-1988). World War II Photograph Album and Papers; 1937-1944, 1949-1963. hmc-0757. 807th Engineer Aviation Battalion soldier who served at Yakutat Landing Field.

Sergeant Stokes. World War II Photograph Album; 1943-1945. hmc-0950. Soldier in the Post Signal Staff stationed at Fort Richardson.

Eugene W. Stolz (1923-1999). Papers and Photographs; n.d., 1942-1947, 1953-1954, 1977-1996. hmc-0741. Eugene W. Stolz was from Illinois. During World War II, he enlisted in the U. S. Navy, and later became a naval pilot and officer.

Louis C. Stromp (1909-2001). World War II Papers; 1942-1946. hmc-0941. U. S. Army Transportation Corps officer on the USAT William L. Thompson during voyages to Alaskan ports.

George R. Szanik slides; 1941-1943. hmc-0722. Scenic slides of soldier who served at Fort Richardson.

Benjamin B. Talley (1903-1998). Papers; 1925-2002. hmc-0241. U. S. Army Corps of Engineers officer in Alaska and elsewhere.

Arthur B. Thomason (1912-1997). World War II Photographs and Papers; n.d., 1935-1979. hmc-0707. Army soldier who served on Amchitka.

Arthur O. Trosvik. World War II Papers; 1939-1946, 1953. hmc-0503. Papers and photographs of Army Signal Corps and ACS member in Alaska during World War II.

Bert E. Tylen. World War II Letters; 1943-1944. hmc-0816. Company E, 18th Engineers (Combat) soldier who served at Shemya.

United States. Army. Eighteenth Engineers Regiment. Regimental Diary; 1942-1944. hmc-0260. The collection consists of a copy of the regimental diary kept by Fred Rust.

United States. Army. Fort Richardson. History; 1944. hmc-0261.

United States. Army. 770th Railway Operating Battalion. Records; n.d., 1942-1944. hmc-0265.

United States. Army. "Story Of The Alaska Communications System 1900-1943." History; 1900-1943. hmc-0266.

United States. Department Of The Interior. Alaska Railroad. War Record; 1943-1945. hmc-0275.

United States. Department Of The Interior. National Park Service. Alaska Highway Planning Survey. Photographs; 1943. hmc-0285.

United States. Eleventh Air Force. Eleventh Fighter Squadron. Photograph Album Contact Sheets; 1945. hmc-0793. Contact sheets of photo album pages of World War II fighter squadron.

Charles F. Unrath World War II Diary; 1941-1944. hmc-0541.

A. J. Vance. World War II Scrapbook; 1943-1944. hmc-0532. U. S. Naval Reserve officer who served on the USS Mississippi.

Al Verbauen. World War II Photograph Album; n.d., 1936, 1942-1944. hmc-0559. 138th Infantry soldier stationed at Adak Army Airfield.

Alfred Virag. World War II Papers; 1941-1943. hmc-0338. Commander of Battery D, 250th Coast Artillery Battalion, which served at Fort Greely on Kodiak Island.

Uvelta C. "Bill" Weaver (1914-1975). World War II Photographs; 1942-1943. hmc-0873.
Company L, 153rd Infantry Regiment soldier stationed at Fort Raymond in Seward.

Robert Wickman. World War II Scrapbook; 1944-1945. hmc-0498. B-24 pilot in the 404th Bombardment Group, 11th Air Force, who served in the Aleutians.

George W. Wilson. World War II Aleutian Memorabilia; n.d., 1944. hmc-0978.
Photographs, certificate and Battle of the Aleutians historical booklet.

Alfred L. Winterton (1912-2003). Photographs; 1939, 1941. hmc-0716. Photos of Alaska mapping crew, 2nd Photographic Mapping Squadron, U. S. Army Air Corps.

World War II letter from Bill; 1944 October 12. hmc-0814. U. S. Army soldier's letter to family with location codes for future letters from Alaska.

Master Sergeant Wright. World War II Photograph Albums; 1938, 1942-1945. hmc-0905. Noncommissioned officer in the Supply Squadron of the 39th Air Depot Group, stationed at Elmendorf Army Air Field.

James A. Yost (1920-1985) World War II photograph album; circa 1943-1944. hmc-0703. Album from a sailor who served at Attu Island.

Walter H. Ziegler. World War II Letters and Photographs; 1943-1946.

Wayne C. Zimmerman World War II papers; 1942-1944. hmc-0970. 17th Infantry Regiment commander during the Battle of Attu.

      

    Archives & Special Collections

    Profile Image
    Archives and Special Collections
    Contact Info
    907-786-1849
    3211 Providence Drive
    Anchorage AK 99508
    Send Email
     
    Loading
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip