All Guides: Fur Rendezvous related archival collections: Home

Subject Guides

Hot air balloons during Fur Rendezvous. Randy Brandon photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Anchorage Fur Rendezvous sled dog race. Thomas and Marion Gregory photographs and sound recording, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Donald Post and Carrie at Miners and Trappers Ball during Fur Rendezvous. Donald Arthur Post, photographer, Donald Arthur Post slides, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Somersaulting in blanket toss, Anchorage Fur Rendezvous, 1940. Russ Dow papers, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Fur Rendezvous related collections

This list is not comprehensive. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below. Alaska's Digital Archives also contains select photographs of Fur Rendezvous, including some photographs digitized from the collections listed below.

ACF. Alaska Culinary Association records; 1965-2015.
HMC-1222. The papers of a culinary association in Alaska. The collection includes information regarding the Fur Rendezvous Food Show, including entry applications. The collection also includes a program for the 1988 Fur Rendezvous.
Anchorage Chamber of Commerce records; 1946-2016.
HMC-0048. Records of a non- profit business organization whose purpose is to promote and enhance business and community services in the Anchorage community. The collection includes files relating to Fur Rendezvous, mainly the costume contest.
Alice and Bob Arwezon photographs; 1949-1973.
HMC-1140. The collection contains the photographs of long-time Anchorage residents involved in dogsled racing, including photographs of various Fur Rendezvous events.
Bill Bacon photograph files; 1941-2004.
HMC-0991. Bill Bacon was an Alaskan photographer, and while the collection contains files relating to various subjects, it also includes some photographs of Fur Rondy.
Alfred and Mae Bakken slides and memorabilia; 1964-1977.
HMC-0589. The collection includes slides taken during the 1968 Fur Rendezvous in Anchorage.
Randy Brandon photographs; 1976-2004.
Photographs in this collection include various Anchorage Fur Rendezvous events.
John James Brennan papers; 1906-1987.
HMC-0596. The collection consists of the papers of Alaskan geologist John James Brennan. It includes color slides of the 1950 Fur Rendezvous races.
Charles Cassata photographs; 1956-1966.
HMC-1177-AHS. The collection contains photographs taken by a former Alaska resident, including some of Fur Rondy.
William O.L. Chinn photographs; 1951-1973.
HMC-0620. Work and travel photographs of an architect with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Alaska District. The photographs document Chinn’s travel for recreation and work in Alaska and Canada, including Fur Rondy.
Culhane family photographs; 1935-1939.
HMC-0096. The collection contains the family photographs of the Culhane family. The collection does contain photographs of Fur Rendezvous (Fur Rondy) events such as parades and dog sled races.
Lawrence and Olga Doheny family papers; 1910-1980.
HMC-0355. While the collection contains the papers of the Doheny family, included are photographs of family outings to various Fur Rendezvous events.
Russ Dow papers; 1917-1992.
HMC-0396. The collection contains the papers and photographs of Russ Dow. While the collection has photographs relating to various subjects, it also includes photographs of Fur Rendezvous.
Greg Gibbs memorabilia; 1967-2001.
HMC-0701. The collection contains memorabilia which Greg Gibbs collected from various activities and events. It includes Fur Rendezvous pins, tie tacks, charms, buttons, and ornaments.
John A. Gibbons papers; 1962, 1974.
HMC-0113. The collection consists of a letter by John Gibbons concerning his idea for a Seppala Trophy for the Fur Rendezvous Sled Dog Race to honor Musher Leonard Seppala. There are also clippings and photographs concerning 1962 Fur Rendezvous activities, and an artist's sketch of the Seppala Trophy.
Greater Anchorage, Inc. Fur Rendezvous records; 1938-2005.
HMC-0121. Archives and Special Collections acts as the archives for the Fur Rendezvous organization. The collection consists of the operational and administrative records and also includes photographs, publications, and memorabilia. The bulk of the materials date from the 1950s to the 1980s.
Marion and Thomas Gregory photographs and sound recording; 1932-2002.
HMC-0809. The collection consists of the slides, photographs, and sound recordings of Anchorage residents Thomas and Marion Gregory. The collection includes photographs taken during Fur Rondy.
Donald T. Griffith family films; 1948-1969.
HMC-1058. The collection contains the Griffith family films. While a majority of the films consist of footage from family vacations and trips around Alaska, it does include the Fur Rondy dog sled races. (Note: Viewing film footage may require conversion fees to create DVD or digital access copies).
Harry and Norma Hoyt family papers; 1908-1989.
HMC-0988. The collection contains papers and photographs relating to the Hoyt family. Photographs in the collection relate to many subjects, however there are some of Fur Rendezvous.
Howard and Mabel Jonish papers; 1910-1989.
HMC-0428. The collection contains papers and photographs relating to various aspects of the Jonishes’ lives. It also includes photographs of the 1958 Fur Rendezvous parade.
Mel Kalkowski papers; 1976-1990.
HMC-0147. Papers of a board member for the Anchorage Fur Rendezvous festival.
Christine M. McClain papers; 1907-1992.
HMC-0370. McClain was a freelance journalist. The collection contains some drafts of her articles on Fur Rondy and photographs.
Judith and Malcolm McDonald papers 1960-1997.
HMC-0619. The collection mainly contains the McDonald’s papers relating to their time in Alaska, however there are photographs of the Fur Rendezvous parade, sled-dog race, and blanket-toss.
Donald Arthur Post slides; 1953-1959.
HMC-0917. The collection contains photographic slides from a CAA and FAA employee in Alaska. While a majority of the slides were taken by Post as he traveled around Alaska, the collection contains slides of Fur Rondy.
Philip and Retta Reed papers; 1907-1981.
HMC-0401. The collection includes photographs of the 1938 Fur Rendezvous.
Ruth A.M. Schmidt papers; 1912-2015.
HMC-0792. This collection contains the papers of an Alaska geologist, including photographs of Fur Rondy.
Thomas Shemwell slides; 1953.
HMC-1065-AHS. The collection includes photographs taken during Fur Rondy.
Marie Silverman papers; 1906-1966.
HMC-0778-APU. The collection consists of photographs and clippings on a variety of subjects, including Fur Rendezvous events.
Vern Tejas papers; 1971-2003.
HMC-0657. Papers and photographs of an Alaska mountaineer. While a majority of the collection pertains to mountain climbing, the collection includes slides taken during the 1989 Anchorage Fur Rendezvous.
Susan Winton photographs; 1989-2000.
HMC-1176. The collection contains photographs taken by an Alaska resident and professional photographer. The photographs consist of a variety of subjects, however there are some taken of Fur Rendezvous.
Betzi and Lyman Woodman papers; 1898-1999.
HMC-0353. The collection contains the papers of two Alaskan journalists and free-lance writers. These include photographs of Fur Rondy and an audiocassette recording of George Attla and Dr. Lombard at the finish of a sled dog race in 1974.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections

Email Me

Contact:

3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/

Subjects: Alaska / Arctic, History