Skip to main content

Alaska Highway construction collections

Archives & Special Collections has many archival collections that relate to the construction of the Alaska Highway and Canol Pipeline. In alphabetical order by creator. Follow the links to a more complete listing of the collection contents.

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

 

Man with bulldozer

Little Brother (Bob Engles), brokendown. Image of man standing beside a bulldozer, during the construction of the Alaska Highway. Lyle Sherman Leseberg photograph albums, Alaska Historical Society collections, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

A construction worker poses next to a cable excavator and a dump truck with driver

A construction worker poses next to a cable excavator and a dump truck with driver. Thomas Saplak photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

View of buildings in Alaska Highway Camp 9

View of buildings in Alaska Highway Camp 9 in 1943, during the highway's construction. Millard Preston photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Heavy Duty Grader on Section of ALCAN Highway

Heavy Duty Grader on Section of ALCAN Highway Skirting a Mountain Lake. Albert Weir photographs, Archives and Special Collections, Consortium Library, University of Alaska Anchorage.

Subject Guides

1964 Alaska earthquake collections

1989 Exxon Valdez oil spill collections

Advocacy collections

African American history in Alaska collections

Alaska Constitutional Convention and statehood collections

Alaska Highway construction collections

Alaska Native collections

Alaska state legislators and legislation collections

Anchorage charter commissions collections

Anchorage history collections

Anchorage winter Olympics bids

ANCSA, ANILCA, and D-2 collections

Anthropology collections

Archives in Alaska

Arctic research collections

Aviation collections

Businesses, clubs, and organizations

Canol Pipeline collections

Cold War era (1945-1992) collections

Communications systems

Creative writing collections

Education collections

Engineering collections

Fine arts collections

Fishing, fisheries, and canneries collections

Fur Rendezvous related collections

Fur trading, trapping, and farming

Gardening and botany collections

Geography and environmental studies collections

Geology related collections

Gold rush collections

Governors of Alaska

Greenspace collections

Hope and Sunrise, Alaska related collections

Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race related collections

International collections

Journalism and broadcasting 

Labor collections

Law related collections

LGBT related collections

Mapping and surveying collections

Matanuska Colony collections

Medicine and health collections

Miners and mining collections

Non-English language collections

Nursing collections

Performing arts collections

Permanent Fund Dividend

Petroleum and natural gas related collections

Poetry collections

Railroads

Senior Citizen Issues and Advocacy

Seward, Alaska related collections

Skiing and mountaineering collections

Steamship related collections

Student newspapers, Anchorage Community College and University of Alaska Anchorage

Tourism in Alaska

Women’s organizations and women’s issues collections

World War II in Alaska collections

The 1930s collections

 

Alaska Highway construction collections

The Alaska Highway runs from Dawson Creek, British Columbia, to Delta Junction, Alaska, where it joins the Richardson Highway before reaching Fairbanks. The original military highway was built by the U. S. Army and civilian contractors in 1942 to 1943.The following collections deal primarily with the early construction of both the Alaska Highway. The archives also holds collections related to early travelers and tourists on the Alaska Highway, which was opened to civilian traffic in 1947. Follow the links to collection descriptions and inventories. You can keyword search all of our collection descriptions and inventories by using the search box available on each of the pages below.

For collections at archives, libraries, and museums across Alaska related to construction of the Alaska Highway, please visit the guide to Alaska Highway construction primary sources on Alaska's Statewide Library Electronic Doorway (SLED)

Please note: if you're seeking information about an individual who worked on the Alaska Highway construction, you might want to read our blog entry about that topic before planning a visit. If you're in search of military records about the construction--personnel or otherwise--you'll probably want to start your research with the National Archives. Many of the other Alaska archives also hold records from individuals involved in the construction, so please be sure to search those as well.

Subject Guide

Staff Archives and Special Collections's picture
Staff Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage AK 99508
907-786-1849
https://archives.consortiumlibrary.org/
Website