All Guides: Alaskan leadership collections: Civic life

Quick tip!

Search our collections

You may be able to find additional resources on this topic by searching the guides to all of our collections on our website, or using the search box below.

Civic life, activists, and activism in Alaska

Many of the collections held by Archives and Special Collections at the UAA/APU Consortium Library reflect civic leadership, activism, and leadership in activism in a variety of ways. Below are links to some guides to collections related to activism and advocacy. If you don't see a topic here, be sure to search the Archives website--we may not have created one of these subject guides to that topic yet.

The guides listed below are not meant to be comprehensive listings of the materials related to these topics at the Archives. Be sure to use the search mechanism on the Archives site to search other topics if you are not seeing them reflected in this guide.

Advocacy collections
Advocacy takes many different forms. The following list is only a partial listing of materials in the Archives that relate to a few specific advocacy topics.
African American history
A list of collections related to African American community and state leaders and organizations.
Records of businesses, clubs, and organizations
This research guide contains lists of collections of businesses, clubs, and organizations held at the Archives and Special Collections.
Green spaces and parks collections
A listing of materials in the Archives that relate to parks, trails, and other greenspaces in Alaska.
Labor collections
Archival collections from union activists and labor organizations.
LGBT related collections
This is a listing of some of the collections which relate to the LGBT community, as well as LGBT advocacy, in Alaska.
Senior Citizens issues and advocacy
Collection with records related to senior citizen issues, advocacy, and gerontology.
Women's organizations and women's issues
A guide to collections of women’s only organizations or organizations that are not solely for women, but raise awareness for women’s issues.