Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click on the collection names to be taken to longer descriptions of the collections.
Below are some of the collections held at Archives & Special collections that have Alaska Native-related content. This may include correspondence from Alaska Native individuals, scientific data, anthropological studies, and other sources of information about Alaska Native history and culture.
Alaska Humanities Forum grant products; 1973-2006.
HMC-1256. The Forum supports humanities-related projects in education, leadership, and many types of public programming. The collection includes products of grants obtained by Alaska Native organizations and individuals.
Ted Bank papers; 1882-1980.
HMC-0068. Papers of an anthropologist who conducted research in the Aleutian Islands from 1948-1979.
Community Health Aide Program records; circa 1960-2000.
HMC-1087. The Community Health Aide (CHA) Program was developed in the 1950s in response to a number of health concerns including the tuberculosis epidemic, high infant mortality, and high rate of injuries in rural Alaska. By 2011, the CHA Program consisted of a network of approximately 550 Community Health Aides/Practitioners (CHA/Ps) in over 170 rural Alaskan villages. CHA/Ps work with mid-level providers, physicians, regional hospitals, the Alaska Native Medical Center, and the Alaska Area Native Health Service to provide health-care for communities in Alaska.
Kerry Feldman papers; 1968-2010.
HMC-1112. Papers of an anthropologist who conducted research in many locations in Alaska.
Robert Fortuine papers; 1934-2008.
HMC-0455. Papers of a doctor who worked at US Public Health Service hospitals in Kanakanak, Bethel, and Anchorage, and who researched the history of tuberculosis in Alaska.
Paul Guggenheim papers; 1937-2006.
HMC-1095. Papers of an archeologist who participated in archeological digs in the Aleutians in 1937 and on Amchitka during WWII.
Robert F. Heizer papers; 1949-1956.
HMC-0136. Papers of an archeologist who studied Koniag Alutiiq artifacts from Kodiak.
Christine A. Heller papers; 1895-1982.
HMC-0367. This collection from a botanist and nutritionist contains materials gathered for the Alaska Dietary Survey of 1956-1961.
Gordon H. Hills papers; 1949-1998.
HMC-0475. Papers of a librarian who did research on library services in rural Alaska communities.
Walter Johnson papers; 1902-2016.
HMC-0932. Papers of a doctor who served in Bethel, at the Alaska Native Medical Center in Anchorage, and who directed the Community Health Aide Program.
Dorothy M. Jones papers; 1878, 1970-1977.
HMC-0458. Population data from the Aleutian Islands collected by a sociologist.
William S. Laughlin papers; 1931-1998.
HMC-0360. The papers of a physical anthropologist who worked in the Aleutian Islands.
Charles V. Lucier papers; 1890-2009.
HMC-0165. apers of a biologist who studied the culture, technology, and artifacts of the Inupiat peoples of the Kotzebue Sound and the Seward Peninsula areas from 1949 to 1953.
Alan G. May papers; 1902-1990.
HMC-0690. Papers of an anthropologist who participated in Smithsonian research expeditions to the Aleutian Islands.
Frederick A. Milan papers; circa 1943-1995.
HMC-0687. Papers of an anthropologist, linguist, and human physiologist who worked in Alaska and other Arctic regions.
Craig Mishler papers; 1943-2018.
HMC-1300. Papers of a cultural anthropologist and folklorist who conducted research in Kodiak, Tanacross, and Upper Tanana.
RurAL CAP records; 1965-1985.
HMC-0213. Records of an Alaskan community action program.
UAA. Alaska Native Health Career Program records. 1971-1985.
UAA-0094. Records of program that provided support and outreach to Alaska Native high school and college students interested in the health field.
UAA. Native Student Services records. 1979-2017.
UAA-0132. Records relating to the creation and operations of an educational support office for Native students.
Related archives subject guides