All Guides: ANTH A464 & A664 Culture and Globalization: Useful Titles and Databases

Useful Titles

Cultures and Globalization is a five-volume series from the academic publisher Sage. We have four in print and one as an ebook:

1 REF HM1211.C659 2007 Conflicts and Tensions (2007)

2 REF HM548.C83 2008 The Cultural Economy (2008)

3 REF HM621.C85 2010 Cultural Expression, Creativity, and Innovation (2010)

4 REF HM621.H475 2011 Heritage, Memory, and Identity (2011)

5 eBook Cities, Cultural Policy and Governance (2012)

Subscription access for UAA/APU faculty, students, and on-campus users

Encyclopedia of Global Studies
This title provides good background and references for many aspects of globalization.
Student Resources in Context
This resource provides full-text articles and sound and image files for a broad range of subjects, including Anthropology.

Annual Reviews
Good research overviews. You can limit your searches to subjects like Anthropology and Sociology.

Sage Reference Online
This resource contains hundreds of social science reference works, including titles related to globalization.

Useful Databases

JSTOR
JSTOR (Journal STORage) provides full-text for journals in the arts, history, and sciences, including a large number of Anthropology titles. JSTOR does not offer the most recent several years of a title due to publisher agreements, but it does have full text for all issues prior to that rolling cutoff, in some cases going back to the 1800's.

Academic Search Premier
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, it provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Business Source Premier
Provides access to business articles from financial, banking, and industry publications worldwide.

Research Resources

Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science)
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
more...less...
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes more than 1,725 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, and it indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1981 - present.
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)
A research methods tool to help researchers, faculty, and students design research projects and understand the methods behind them.
more...less...
•Over 100,000 pages of book, journal and reference content from leading SAGE authors are easily accessible online

•Sophisticated search and discovery tools support browsing and discovery of material

•The ``methods map`` visualizes relationships between methods terms, concepts, people and literature, supported by a newly developed taxonomy for social science research methods

•Ability to create playlists that include selected book chapters and journal articles to share through the site with students, co-authors, and colleagues

•Over 600 books, 4 encyclopedias, 6 dictionaries and a major work containing journal articles

•Complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences (the “Little Green Books”)
Dissertations & Theses
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses, now with many provided in full text.
more...less...
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present, together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for immediate download in PDF format. In addition, over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

More than 70,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations through UMI's Digital Archiving and Access Program. Full text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.

Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDT - Full Text provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.

Contact Me

Ralph Courtney

Email Me

Contact:

recourtney@alaska.edu

907.786.1911

Subjects: Anthropology / Sociology, Arts / Music / Theater & Dance, History, Psychology, Social Work / Human Services