Skip to main content

History

The History guide provides links to reliable database and web resources.

Reference Books

A good place to start gathering information about the American Civil War

The Confederacy: A Guide to the Archives of the Government of the Confederate States of America   REF CD 3047.B4 1986

The Union: A Guide to Federal Archives Relating to the Civil War   REF CD 3047.M8 1986

Encyclopedia of the American Civil War - A Political, Social, and Military History (5 vol.)   REF E 468.E53 2000

Historical Dictionary of the Civil War & Reconstruction   REF E 468.R53 2004

Civil War Almanac   REF E 468.F85 2007

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy (4 vol.)   REF E 487.E55 1993

Smithsonian's Great Battles & Battlefields of the Civil War   REF E 641.W48 1997

RefWorks / Manage Your Research

RefWorks  

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Set up an account using your UAA/APU user ID and Password, and start organizing and sharing your research.

Starting Points

American Civil War Web Resources

Overview of Post-War Reconstruction  http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/era.cfm?eraid=8&smtid=1 

About the Ken Burns Series, The Civil War  http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/civil-war/

Regimental Histories in the Library of Congress  http://www.loc.gov/rr/main/uscivilwar/

Confederate States of America Documents at Yale  https://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/csapage.asp

American Civil War Virtual Library  http://www.vlib.us/eras/civil_war.html 

Find Books

Library Catalog

more options

Find material in the Consortium Library and other libraries in Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska.

Subject Guide

Ralph Courtney's picture
Ralph Courtney
Contact:
recourtney@alaska.edu
907.786.1911

Need More Help?